We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay with truck parking”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Summerville
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The staff was friendly and made check in and check out easy. The rooms are old, a little worn but were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was basic continental. Just off I-26 with plenty of restaurant's within walking distance. Truck parking, but short spots so you have to un-hook from trailer and park alongside. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRigHauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Have stayed at this Econo Lodge once before about 4 years ago. Condition of the rooms doesn't seem to have changed much, but considering the cost of the room per night, I couldn't expect great quality. Room was mostly clean (carpet could use a thorough cleaning) and the furnishings were obviously used. Tub faucet leaks. Room cleaning crews need to be more diligent. While checking for bed bugs (new habit when entering any hotel/motel room) found a washcloth stashed between mattress and headboard. Wrapped up in the washcloth was a "crack" pipe or a pipe for smoking drugs. Turned this in at the office desk, the clerk was very apologetic, and stated that the manager would take action as was appropriate. Motel seems to accomodate a good number of trades people (those staying for more than just a few days). Continental breakfast was as expected: bagels, sweet rolls, muffins, apples, coffee, milk, orange and apple juices, instant oatmeal and grits, and cold cereal.
Okay to stay for just a night or two.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My friend was forced to find a motel due to a problem at home. She tried out this place as it was close to her home and the kids could still go to their schools with minimal delay. When she arrived, she paid cash ($75.00) before she saw the room. She had no prior reservation. Upon entering the room she noticed a torn curtain, and a large stain on the carpet. The room was musty, and overall not what she and the kids would stay in for a projected weeks' stay. She did not even take her luggage in to the room. When she returned to the front desk for a refund, she was told there was no refund possible. She asked to talk to the manager, and some woman named Kathy said she would not give a refund. Kathy said the room was just fine. When contacted later on that week, Kathy said she would not reconsider, and was quite unpleasant and defensive on the phone. She would not give up the owner's name so we could go any further. Also, when contacted, the corporation that Econo Lodge is a member of was not at all sympathetic, and said they could do nothing. We found out who the owner was through the city records. We have written a letter to the owner, but have not had any response. The lady involved certainly did not have $75.00 to throw away. I could never recommend this place due to the terrible customer service. The other motels in the area charged only $75.00 for the same room, so she finally found a replacement in a few hours.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place. There are comparable motels within a hundred yards of this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alocalSummervilleSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Staff was friendly & quick to respond when asked to have person in room next to me turn their tv down 2 nights in a row, walls are rather thin and he was apparently hard of hearing...LOL Room was clean, good size and bed was comfortable. I'd stay again but only at like title says, the coupon rate. Breakfast was limited but okay. Good location too, close to Interstate and plenty of stores and places to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

There is not a lot that I can say about this place. It was about $20 cheaper than the Sleep Inn across the street that we had stayed in the night before. The front desk was very cordial. The room was quiet, the bed comfy. It is right next door to a Cracker Barrel.. always a good thing for us. However, we were told it was a non smoking room. It smelled of smoke that had had an attempt to clean it, but it was still there. We kept our suitcases closed as much as possible, but our clothing still smelled of smoke for the next couple days. Too bad. I wanted to like this place

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pk1363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

Great location for motel; right off highway, near shopping, many restaurants and movie theater but motel really run down and dirty. Beds actually were comfortable but room needs good cleaning and repairs. Price was decent and we booked ahead from the road and had no-refund deal (big mistake) but would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LacyDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Hotel was clean, staff was very friendly. Location is excellent; Cracker Barrel within walking distance, lots of shopping within 1 block, Walmart across the street. Comfortable bed and reasonably quiet. I happened to stay on prom night, so there were a few late night arrivals.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Summerville, SC
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 11 in Summerville
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Summerville
Wyndham Garden Summerville
#6 of 11 in Summerville
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Summerville
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Summerville
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 11 in Summerville
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 110 Holiday Rd., Summerville, SC 29483-7312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Summerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Summerville
Price Range: £55 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Summerville
Summerville Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing