We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candlewood Suites = great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Sumter
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Carbon Hill, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Candlewood Suites = great place”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed at Candlewood Suites for over 4 months while deployed to Shaw AFB. The staff at Candlewood Suites were kind and helpful and very responsive. I didn't have any problems at all. Everything is new and in great condition. The owner, Raj, and the staff even held guest appreciation nights for everyone...free drinks and food! Great place, I would stay there again and have no problem recommending others stay at Candlewood Suites in Sumter, SC.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MitchM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    22
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
4
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This is by far the best Candelwood Suites I have stayed at in over 5 years. The hotel's location is better than perfect. The hotel has everything you need from great service, cleanliness, most comfortable beds, pool, gym, internet, FREE laundry etc. The staff were exceptional. In fact after 7 months in this hotel I decided to come back and bring the family for a family vacation. We are extending our stay as we are so welcomed and feel so comfortable here. My family and I have VERY high standards when it comes to hotels, and this by far has exceeding our expectations in every way. Thank you Miss Liz, Miss Amanda (Front desk staff) for making my stay here just a great way!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thepupis04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Thank you again for outstanding service and for your hospitality during my stay. Will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nat_hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, FL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Candlewood Suites in Sumter is an excellent place to stop going N. or S. off of I-95! It's a little off the path, but more than worth the ride.
The pet fee was a little high (nothing is too good for the cat), but we were very happy to be given a very clean and fresh room. It has been our experience that some hotels try to stick all pet people in one of about 5 stinky pet rooms! This was not the case here.
The gym is well equipped and there is an indoor pool that is great! On the side of the Inn there is a little patio with a big grill and a mounted television. The management has gone out of their way to think of their guests and make their stay VERY enjoyable!!!
Candlewood is also located right next door to a Logan's Road House, and Applebees, and a Quizno's. Getting a meal is quick and easy!
The manager and staff were helpful and very accommodating!
We are looking forward to staying here on way back home!

Room Tip: We traveled with a small cat, so we had to pay a pet deposit which was a little steep, We were actu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyCBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
297 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We were driving up the coast and Priority Club (Holiday Inn) made a mistake with our reservation that was supposed to be at the Holiday Inn Express across the street. They sent us to their other property and are we glad that they did. We had been traveling a while and this offered us a wonderful opportunity to stretch out in a lovely and comfortable suite. They also had a free laundromat. We did our laundry while we enjoyed the pool. We will definitely will stop here anytime we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed here for 4.5 months and have absolutely no complaints. The entire staff was friendly, accomodating, and attentive. The room was always clean and they always ensured everything worked and kept everything in stock. Beds were comfy and the free wireless worked great. You'll always get your mail if you send it here as well. The gym is a typical hotel gym, but you can get your work out on. There is free laundry and the machines usually work. There aren't many, but you can't complain since they are free. There is a grill outside on the patio with a tv. This is the newest hotel in the area and the best for long-term stays since it has a full size fridge/microwave/dishwasher, stove, plates, etc. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Desertdiva24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My stay at Candlewood was excellent. The staff was very courteous and would go the extra mile to ensure that my stay was a pleasant one. I recommend that Hotel for peasure or bussiness any time. I will definitely stay there again..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sumter hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sumter
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sumter
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sumter
Hampton Inn Sumter
#2 of 19 in Sumter
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 19 in Sumter
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 19 in Sumter
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Sumter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Sumter

Property: Candlewood Suites Sumter
Address: 2541 Broad St, Sumter, SC 29150-1849
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Sumter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Sumter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumter's Newest Extended Stay Hotel: Candlewood Suites Sumter, SC.Welcome to the BRAND NEW 100% Smoke Free Candlewood Suites Hotel in Sumter, SC and near SHAW AIR FORCE BASE and US AFCENT headquarters. Candlewood Suites Sumter is located off Hwy 378 and adjacent to Logan's Roadhouse, Chili's, Applebees, and IHOP. Also, our hotel is only a quarter mile from a Walmart Super-center.Consider us home! All suites include: full size refrigerator, stove-top, microwave, dishwasher, cooking utensils, toaster, and coffeemaker. Cook a meal in our fully equipped kitchens, grab a snack from the fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard, our onsite convenience store, or cook-out at our outdoor gazebo grill. We also offer free guest laundry facilities at our hotel just for your convenience.Work in the privacy of your living room! Each suite includes an executive desk with ergonomic chair. We also provide free hardwired and wireless high speed internet access. Enjoy our beautiful indoor heated pool and spa and work out in our Candlewood Gym state of the art fitness center. Relax and unwind after a hard day's work in our plush recliners while watching premium cable on our 32" LCD TV s with DVD player or grab a movie from our free movie library.We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Sumter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing