We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Excllent Staff, Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Sumter
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Excllent Staff, Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our stay was from December 25 to January 2nd, 2014. Two adults, one 11 year old, and 2 10 month old German Shepherd Dogs, First, let me say how much I appreciated a hotel that accepts larger pets, The pet deposit for our entire stay was only $75 which is much less than paying kennel fees. The hotel has a large outside pet walking area which we used every day. The dogs really enjoyed their stay!!!

Our room accommodations were excellent. We had two double beds. There was plenty of space even with the dogs. Large refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, plates, utensils, etc., were all provided. We had a slight problem the first night with a clogged drain, we reported it, and it was fixed promptly,

The hotel has 3 washers and 4 dryers, all free of charge, in a common area. We used them without any problems. They also have a convenience area stocked with soda, food items, etc. While the selections are somewhat limited, there are plenty of larger convenience stores (Walmart, K-Mart, 7-11) nearby. As far as eating establishments, Logan's Roadhouse is right next door to the hotel. Chili's, Applebees, IHOP, Quiznos and Dunkin Donuts are all within easy walking distance.

During our stay, we found the staff to be excellent and accommodating to our needs. While I failed to get his name, the person working the day shift reservations desk was very easy to work with and constantly inquired as to how our stay was going. While the hotel may only be rated 2.5 stars, we received 5 star service.

The hotel has a fitness area with a universal weight machine, two treadmills, and an elliptical machine. While I didn't use them, the area is clean and well kept up. My son used the pool on several occasions and the pool area was clean and well kept up. The hotel also has movie dvd's at no charge which you can sign out from the front desk.

All in all, we had an excellent family (and pet) experience and look forward to future stays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BRIAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    23
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
4
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

my wife, 4 month old son and i along with our dog stayed here during a trip. The hotel was very clean you would never know it was pet friendly. Room was good size with full kitchen. Great staff and location. Lots of restaurants to choose from, Very quite, also had a little shop in the lobby with drinks and foods for good price. Seemed like the only pet friendly hotel in the area. Would defiantly staff here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We only stayed for one night but had a great experience. Our king suite was spacious, and our room was extremely clean. Our dog was able to stay with us, and there were none of the usual signs (stains on floors, etc) that we were in pet room. The dog walk area is much larger than other places that we've stayed.

We were also able to walk to Chili's and IHOP for meals. Sumter isn't a very walkable town, and this was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missym44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest City
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had an extended stay at the Candlewood Suites in Sumter SC. The hotel is close to numerous national chain restaurants (Logan's Outback, IHOP, etc) which was a plus. The staff was extremely friendly (Amanda in particular) and provided solid tips for the local area. The hotel also provides a "social" event with food, drinks, and games for those staying in the hotel Washers and dryers are on site and the wi-fi had great connectivity. Recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodSuitesSC, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Sumter, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Mr. Dash ,

Thank you for such a positive review of our staff and facility. We work hard to make our guests more comfortable, especially those with extended stay. It makes us happy to read we were able to meet that with your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you are in the area. Once again, thank you for your wonderful compliments.

Sincerely,

Amanda Forke
Guest Services Manager
Candlewood Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I spent 6 months in this hotel. The staff is fantastic, willing to help out in any way. Front desk personnel, especially Amanda, are vital to the success of this hotel. The owner is also very accommodating with many people's needs. The rooms are not insulated from sound too well, so I recommend a third floor room. If you have children, be prepared to have people calling your room to keep the noise level down because walking on the floor sounds as if you are jumping from your bed.

Room Tip: third floor rooms will provide you with quieter nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodSuitesSC, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Sumter, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Mr. Richard L ,

It is wonderful to hear that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay accommodating. We value your positive comments because it tells us our staff is moving in the right direction.Thank you for your feedback on the issues with noise. Thanks to your review, we can make improvements to make future stays excellent. We anticipate your return the next time you visit our area. Once again, thank you for your review of our establishment.

Sincerely,

Amanda Forke
Guest Services Manager
Candlewood Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I am just finishing up my second 6 month stay at the candlewood. The staff (particularly Amanda) is very accommodating. It is the best extended stay hotel in Sumter. Pet friendly, so you don't have to be apart from your four legged family members. A nice outdoor space with a grill. The indoor pool area for relaxing and complimentary washers and dryers.I recommend it!

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom suites are great for the extended stay. spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I had an extended stay at this location (5+ mos). The rooms were always freshly made up when id come home from work. The staff couldn't be nicer. The owners were local and made sure guest were being taken care of. The hotel would have socials for the guest with free food and beverages. The gas grill out back was ready for use and a great place to socialize with other guest. If you didn't want to cook out, the room itself had a large fridge for groceries, as well as cooktop and microwave, and a dishwasher. There was free laundry facilities and a small gym at the hotel. The location couldn't be beat, right around the corner from Walmart and down the street from Shaw AFB. Definitely a good place to stay if you had to be away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sumter hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sumter
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sumter
Hampton Inn Sumter
#2 of 19 in Sumter
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sumter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 19 in Sumter
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 19 in Sumter
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Sumter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Sumter

Property: Candlewood Suites Sumter
Address: 2541 Broad St, Sumter, SC 29150-1849
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Sumter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Sumter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumter's Newest Extended Stay Hotel: Candlewood Suites Sumter, SC.Welcome to the BRAND NEW 100% Smoke Free Candlewood Suites Hotel in Sumter, SC and near SHAW AIR FORCE BASE and US AFCENT headquarters. Candlewood Suites Sumter is located off Hwy 378 and adjacent to Logan's Roadhouse, Chili's, Applebees, and IHOP. Also, our hotel is only a quarter mile from a Walmart Super-center.Consider us home! All suites include: full size refrigerator, stove-top, microwave, dishwasher, cooking utensils, toaster, and coffeemaker. Cook a meal in our fully equipped kitchens, grab a snack from the fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard, our onsite convenience store, or cook-out at our outdoor gazebo grill. We also offer free guest laundry facilities at our hotel just for your convenience.Work in the privacy of your living room! Each suite includes an executive desk with ergonomic chair. We also provide free hardwired and wireless high speed internet access. Enjoy our beautiful indoor heated pool and spa and work out in our Candlewood Gym state of the art fitness center. Relax and unwind after a hard day's work in our plush recliners while watching premium cable on our 32" LCD TV s with DVD player or grab a movie from our free movie library.We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Sumter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing