We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but Loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean but Loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I loved the fact that my pets could come with us when we changed stations in August. Unfortunately we got a corner room and this hotel seems to be a place for bikers to hang out. So the motorcycles were loud, otherwise we were very pleased.

Room Tip: Be sure to visit Wikked Wings in the hotel. Great wings. Oh and avoid corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Ashley S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay, but regret to hear that you experienced noise issues. After looking into the matter, this is not a typical occurrence. We believe that Wikked Wings hosted a "biker" night that evening as we have not had any motorcycle groups stay at the hotel recently. We will make sure to communicate better with the restaurant in the future so that this is not a recurring issue. Thank you very much for bringing it to our attention. 100% guest satisfaction is our number one priority. We hope you enjoy your time in Sumter, SC! Thanks for choosing the Quality Inn!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    25
    17
    16
    6
See reviews for
23
13
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I'd have to say the place gets my good review. It's a well maintained BUDGET....BUDGET hotel. I stayed for a steal. Good rooms with the typical need for bathroom updates and maybe some carpet. Pool was closed but no big deal, it's October. Check in staff was waiting up for me..LOL!! If you're just passing through or visiting family like I was, check this place out...NO BEDBUGS BTW...Clean, fresh linen and great bleach smells.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plcarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My company doesn't reimburse, but for a certain amount when staying overnight so we typically go with those in the Choice Hotels Franchise. However, my stay here was nothing short of a nightmare. The first room I was placed in was BEDBUG CENTRAL! The mattress was covered in them. Once spotted, I immediately reported them and moved to another room. The next room was just as nasty and I'm pretty sure this room had them as well. Needless to say, I didn't sleep at all and I had meetings all day the next day. Basically, this was a trip from HELL. I tried not to judge upon arrival because I never would have voluntarily stayed at such a place where you enter from the outside and there's guys sitting outside smoking on coolers, but I definitely should have listened to my instincts. AND I still had to pay for my stay. Throughout college and high school I worked in the Vacation Rentals Industry in North Myrtle Beach and refunded tons of money due to a list of things, ESPECIALLY BED BUGS! Nonetheless, do yourself a favor and do not stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Alexis J,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. We appreciate all feedback as we constantly strive toward service excellence and complete guest satisfaction. Obviously, we would take a bed bug matter very seriously, and there is nothing in our past logs that suggest we have had any issue reported as you suggested. We have had an outside company come in and inspect all rooms after your complaint, and nothing was found. Again, we take the safety of our guests and the cleanliness of our rooms very seriously.

If you could please email me at Katie.Register@marriott.com providing further clarification and the details of your stay, I would truly appreciate it. We could not find anything on file in accordance with your screenname, so perhaps it is listed under a different name. Again, your help is appreciated.

Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sumter hotels

Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The room was old. The carpet was frayed. Guys sitting outside of their rooms in lounge chairs with their coolers. Not sure if this is redneck heaven or where homeless people live. Very nice staff members, but you enter your rooms from the parking lot/sidewalk, and i felt unsafe there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Melinda A,

It is with my sincerest apologies that we did not meet all of your expectations and it is with sadness and regret that our team was not able to sense your discontent and offer their personal service resolution. Furthermore, I do greatly appreciate your honesty and opinioned review. Unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here.

In regards to the hotel, we stay 100% committed to continually enhancing our facilities. We recognize that there are great properties in Sumter and we are completely dedicated to frequent improvements of our facilities and amenities so that we may strive to meet and exceed every guest’s expectations. In regards to the gentleman outside of their rooms, was there a noise issue? If not, we cannot demand that guests not sit outside of their rooms. They are paying guests as well, and perhaps just wanted to get a little fresh air. We would hope that if this made a guest uncomfortable or there was a noise issue, that the staff would be notified immediately so that proper action could be taken. Complete guest satisfaction is and always has been our number one priority. We want to make sure each and every guest feels safe, comfortable, and right at home.

I hope you are able to visit us again as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and to demonstrate our commitment to service excellence. Please contact me directly if you are planning a visit to the area again, and do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of any assistance to you.

With highest regards,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Nice friendly staff, reasonable breakfast, clean rooms and good beds. However this is a tired old-fashioned two story motel-type building with exterior corridors. The room I was in had a door through to the adjoining room. There must be little insulation in the door or walls as I could clearly hear the conversations in either of the two adjoining rooms.

The saving grace was the excellent free wireless Internet and its location on a major highway close to restaurants and stores.

Would I stay there again? Not if I had a choice of accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkonost45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel was a surprise since I didn't expect it to be so nice. I was traveling up to NJ from FL and it was my 1st nite stopover and so I arrived in the evening and left in the morning, but I would stay there again, as I was pleasantly surprised. It had a microwave and fridge and I needed that for my food I bought while traveling. This isn't the Taj Mahal, but if you are looking for something clean, comfortable and inexpensive - this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I thought this is a 3 star place, but it had Ann outside entrance? The room does not look clean, the door return is broken. There is a weird sound that make you think someone is trying your door from the outside (there isn't). But kind of creepy. Bath tub is old and slightly stained. If they say it's a 2 star hotel,I be ok with it, but not 3.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Ashley S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay, but regret to hear that you experienced noise issues. After looking into the matter, this is not a typical occurrence. We believe that Wikked Wings hosted a "biker" night that evening as we have not had any motorcycle groups stay at the hotel recently. We will make sure to communicate better with the restaurant in the future so that this is not a recurring issue. Thank you very much for bringing it to our attention. 100% guest satisfaction is our number one priority. We hope you enjoy your time in Sumter, SC! Thanks for choosing the Quality Inn!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sumter hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 19 in Sumter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sumter
Hampton Inn Sumter
#2 of 19 in Sumter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sumter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#15 of 19 in Sumter
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sumter
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 2390 Broad St, Sumter, SC 29150-1994 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Sumter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Sumter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Quality Inn hotel in Sumter, located near Shaw Air Force Base, comfort and price come together. Family reunions, weddings, corporate meetings and government retirement parties all enjoy our elegant ballroom space for 150 people. Government per diem rate is always honored. Business travelers from BD, Pilgrims Pride, Kaydon and others enjoy our upgraded amenities to meet their needs. Leisure guests enjoy Swan Lake Iris Gardens and historic downtown Sumter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sumter
Quality Inn Sumter
Sumter Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing