We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off Day?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of River City Cafe

River City Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Candler, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Off Day?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have visited River City in Surfside Beach numerous times and it became our favorite location. On our Vacation, we had to eat here--we planned things around eating at RCC. We didn't have to wait long and decided to sit outside--it wasn't as crowded as we have seen it in the past, but steady. It took forever for a waitress to come to our table--it appeared that only one waitress was taking care of ALL the tables outside! Our favorite fried mushrooms, weren't the same as we remembered and we didn't even get the avocado ranch to go with it. My Black and Blue Burger was still very yummy, but this time it was overloaded with the blue cheese spread. It's still my favorite burger though! Maybe it was just an off day because it certainly didn't reflect our wonderful visits of the past. We do love River City and dined at another location on our week long trip. We will visit here again, and hopefully we can rest assured that our visit in September was just an off day!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ErinBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    268
    84
    36
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UNIONTOWN, OH
Level Contributor
191 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good food and great service !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have been to several of the other River City restaurants at Myrtle Beach and this location is our favorite because of the excellent service and you can sit outisde overlooking the ocean at Surfside Beach. We always request Lacey for our server; she is very friendly and attentive. Lacey also impresses us in that she never writes down the orders but still gets the orders correct every time no matter how many our in our group. I love the burgers and fresh fries; the burgers are cooked to order. We were dissapointed with the onion rings this time since one of our group replaced the fries with onion rings and only received 2 onion rings with the order. They were large and did taste good. We vacation annually at Garden City and always look forward to eating at River City a couple of times during the week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FENTON64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Burgers, Right on the Beach--Sit Outside!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The decor is delightfully tacky beach shack, ideal for the location right on the sand at Surfside Beach. The burgers are to die for, and they have a veggie burger. Sit outside if you possibly can!!
Really, you can't go wrong here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoniBGoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great burgers, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

So once again, going on the reviews on tripadvisor, we decided on the River City Cafe. After entering the restaurant, we were not sure quite what to expect. The "decor" is different, to say the least! There is writing all over the walls from prior customers, peanut shells on the floor and the table covers were this brown paper material. After being seated and ordering, it all kind of made sense. They use the paper table coverings so they can just "bundle" up your mess when you are done; your are given peanuts as an "appetizer" when you are seated and allowed to throw the shells on the ground. When our meals arrived, we were pleasantly surprised at the portions and at how good they were!! We all had ordered burgers and they were delicious!!! We went back 3 days later and ended up with the same waitress who said "I remember y'all" and proceeded to tell us what each of us were having to drink! It was so awesome that with such a busy restaurant she was able to remember us and what we drink, to boot! Needless to say, we would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone in the Surfside Beach area - all based on food, atmosphere and most of all the awesome wait staff!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beckie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best service we have ever had!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

After an hour wait to eat and the kids getting restless we were seated. My husband and I were both a little agitated by the hostess at this point and were not really sure what to expect next. That's when our waiter came to the table with the friendliest welcome you could receive. After introducing himself he got our drink order and was back within 30 seconds. He dropped the drinks off and pointed some of his favorite items out on the menu which was awesome because there is so much to choose from. He took our order and went straight to the computer to put it in. We waited about 25 mins for our food but our drinks never went below half way and every time he came back he made the dining experience personal by finding out where we were from and telling us about himself all the while joking with the kids. We could have waited an hour and wouldn't have noticed. When the food arrived it was perfect and by far the best burgers we have ever had!! The Nacho burger is a must try. It was a great experience overall and out of the 6 restaurants we ate at while on vacation it's by far the only one we will remember. If u are in Surfside Beach this is one restaurant you should not pass up!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juleznf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River City Cafe also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to River City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing