We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ohio traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderfully friendly staff.Room was small but very comfortable. Fridge, microwave, and coffee pot in room. Very comfortable beds and very clean. Only one elevator working entire 6 night stay. Made getting up to 6th floor with luggage difficult. Weather was nearly perfect all week, so spent all my time on beach or attractions. We will be back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Karl L,
Hip Hip Hurray, the elevator is fixed and both are operating. Thanks for your review of the hotel and for staying with us. Staff takes pride in providing not only clean comfortable rooms, but also friendly, helpful service. We look forward to your next visit.
Phil Vassar
Gemeral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,276 - 1,282 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Even though the elevator was broken down for a week, I loved staying here. Hotel is redone nicely, clean (CLEAN!!!), well located and many of the employees were interactive and positive. Our housekeeper, Bondeedra, was cleaning as we arrived. She was wiping down things that I'm sure NO ONE ELSE EVER CLEANS! She was extremely thorough as well as friendly. i hope she is appreciated by her employer, as she is doing the work of 5 good people. It's great to see people with such a strong work ethic, doing their best even when no one is looking.
It would have been appreciated if the management had been a bit more sympathetic about the elevators; it was stressful climbing 8 stories 3-4 times a day, especially since I have a bad knee replacement. They should have offered a "deal" in compensation. Instead it was, "So sorry, we can't help it."
We enjoyed our stay and will be back. If you are lucky enough to have Bondeedra as your housekeeper, leave her a big tip and say hello for us!

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view. We stayed on the 8th floor (top) and could see for miles. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Teri W,
Thank you for both staying with us and reviewing the hotel. It is great to hear our staff, especially your room attendant, we both friendly and helpful. You will be glad to hear the elevator that was being upgraded is up and operating, so we have both of them going. Wlook forward to your next Surfside visit.
Phil Vassar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

So we booked through a Groupon deal and was quite happy with our stay! We had a family getaway and everyone had nice, clean rooms each with mini fridge, microwave and small coffee makers in each room. We loved the Surfside Pier that we had simply had to go to front desk to request a pass each day we were there. All front desk ladies were youthful and pleasant. No complimentary breakfast and small kitchen but who cares? The Surfside Beach diner was excellent and soo convenient. I would definitely come again if we get in off season or an awesome deal again.

We totally enjoyed it. They are making renovations to the hotel adding new pools for 2015 which will be great. You need the rooms keys to access everything including stairs, pool and any fitness And of course your room so carry your keys everywhere. Otherwise. Loved it! Worth every penny!

Beds were super comfy but wish had more pillows. Only 2 pillows per bed and wish there were 4 per bed. Pillow poor but still comfy.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was great and any room looked great from what family had too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MylisaX_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Lisa X,
We're glad your group of family members enjoyed the hotel and the nice, clean, well accomodated rooms. Our location in the center of Surfside Beach is on the oceanfront, beside the pier, and steps away from not on the Surf diner, but 3 other restaurants, 2 gift shops, 2 ice cream parlors and Scotty's Beach Bar for beverages and entertainment. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to hosting your next visit.
Phil Vassar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We couldn't get into our other hotel for 2 days so we booked this resort for 2 days prior. Nice friendly staff, if you could get to them. One elevator was out still, which I read reviews prior and was surprised to see this still not addressed. Rooms were very clean, but small. Other than some annoying neighbors that tried to grill out in their room, it was a nice stay. They resturant next door was really nice, sitting out on the 3rd level on the patio overlooking the ocean. Nice beach. Rooms on booth sides face north and south, so to see the ocean-you have to look out the side of each balcony.There are eight floors, but we were on the 3rd, which I was glad because of the elevator situation, we took the stairs every time unless we wanted to wait for the elevator for 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear C K,
Thanks for reviewing the hotel, your comments help us to continue to improve. We are happy you enjoyed the view from your balcony as well as the clean room and nice staff. Good thing to report is the elevator that was being modernized is now in service and fully operational with the other one. We hope to see you again.
Phil Vassar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Family from Texas and SC gathered this week and thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations, staff, and caring professionalism of hospitality and always smiles great service. Shelby and all staff were helpful and knowledgeable from reservations through our entire stay. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean with wonderful amenities. Service, housekeeping, and friendliness during our stay and enjoyments at this beautiful beachfront hotel were the best. Meals at restaurants within a block were delicious. This resort and beautiful beach is the place for rest, relaxation, and fun. Thanks to all for a great time and your assistance in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WadeHFulmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Wade H. Fulmer,
We are really glad we were able to met the expectations of your families from both Texas and SC. Staff takes pride in not only providing comfortable, clean accommodations but also in their outstanding. friendly service. Hope to see you again when you're looking for the rest, relaxationa and fun that Surfside Beach offers.
Phil Vassar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

If it is about location this is it. On the beach with a balcony looking out on the beach and Atlantic Ocean. You can sit and feel the sea breeze. Walk from your room and stick your feet in the sand. The rooms are clean and nice size. Nice HD TV with good channel package .
The bed was was comfortable. It was quiet with no disturbances.
The only problem was just one running elevator. The is being repaired. I really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank davidh19566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear davidh 19566,
We really appreciate your staying with us and reviewing the hotel. Located in the center of the resort town of Surfside Beach, the hotel offers a quiet and comfortable alternative to the busier Myrtle Beach, while only being minutes away form all it has. Whether on your balcony or on the sand, you get all the beach and ocean have to offer just steps from the hotel.
We look forward to your return.
Phil Vassar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was our first stay and we were very satisfied with our stay. They are still making improvements to the hotel to include the elevators. Only one was working and wait times were sometimes a bit lengthy, but not that bad. Considering they are making the elevators better, this is not really a complaint. Also, our patio lock didn't work. These are the only negative things we found, which are not major at all. Lovely place and all staff were very pleasant when I dealt with them. The hotel is in a great location that was fairly queit... much better than the Myrtle Beach area in my opinion. Our daughter was in heaven with the ice cream shop next door that we had to visit daily! We will definately be staying here again and I would recommend anyone going to the Myrtle Beach area to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Robert B,
First impressions are so important and we're glad you were satisfied with the hotel and staff. Also glad our location met your needs, especially the ice cream shop right next door. The elevator is now completed and both are operating. We look forward to hosting you next visit.
Phil Vassar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
541 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
11.8 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,905 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in Surfside Beach
111 reviews
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 15 S Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-3633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range: £66 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing