We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Property in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Surfside Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Property in Great Location”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hotel is clean, easy to access, good location on beach that is not overrun with people, easy and close-to-entrance parking, rooms good but nothing outstanding, bed was very good. Really like the location between the main drag of Myrtle and Murrells Inlet. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would consider it again, but it could use updating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSwampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Don C,
We appreciate your staying with us and reviewing the hotel. Staff prides themselves on not only providing clean, comfortable accommodations, but also being friendly and helpful to all of our guests. We're glad you found the property easy to access with parking close to the hotel. Our less crowded resort town of Surfside Beach offers easy access to both the busier Myrtle Beach and to the local's and visitor's favorite, Murrell's inlet. We look forward to your next visit.
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    340
    110
    45
    26
See reviews for
615
522
49
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My vacation was ruined by not having a parking place and no solution given by management other than parking in public lot at $9 per day and having to get up before 7AM every day to pay. One day I overslept and got a ticket at 7:30AM. I felt the manager should have provided a solution for me to park my car, but was unwilling. He didn't seem to care that we had these same dates last year and had no problem parking 2 cars. He blamed the new ownership on the change. There is nothing on the website advising limit 1 car, nor was there any parking info on the confirmation as he claimed. He said it was the cities' fault that multiple days could not be purchased when parking. When I complained that employees were parking at the hotel and I felt the guests should come 1st, he replied that we have to give our employees parking. What about us paying over $200 per night? They could pay the employees to park in public lot and let the guests sleep in. I advised the manager that I will give a bad review to anyone who will listen and the front desk and manger seemed to not care.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Deb H,
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing of the hotel. As we mentioned at the time, we apologize for the misunderstanding about the parking and understand that you had previously been allowed to bring multiple cars for one room. Parking is limited, especially during the busier summer season, and in order to allow everyone at the hotel to have at least the one parking spot they are permited, we are required to limit parking permits/spaces to one per paid room.
Thank you for your understanding,
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Surfside Beach Resort for the first time. One of the main reasons for choosing SBR was the location and convenience to dining, shopping and pier access. There were several dining choices within one hundred yards of the hotel and Surfside Pier along with their ice cream shop, tackle shop and diner is right next door as well. Bubba's Shrimp Shack, right across the road was great as well and staying at SBR gets you discounts at many of the local eateries. You don't have to get in your car and leave to eat and have a great time. The rooms were nice and we had a great view of the pier and ocean from our balcony. The staff, from booking (Sharon) to the lobby crew and the cleaning were very courteous and professional. The only negative, and a minor one, was the wait time on the elevators but should be expected on summer holiday weeks. We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Best views from the 3rd or 4th floors on up. Pier view on one side or pool, bar view from other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 42514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear 42514,
Thanks so much for reviewing the hotel after your 1st time visit. We're glad you didn't have to move your car once you got here and enjoyed restaurants (4), pier, ice cream shops (2), gift shops (2) and beach bar all within steps of the hotel. The view of the beach and the pier is one of the most commented things about us. We look forward to hosting your next visit.
Phil Vassar
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Its a hotel with small rooms, slow elevators, and needs a face lift bad. Rooms were clean, staff was nice, but nothing spectacular. You can see the ocean when you go out on the balcony. Good restaurants within walking distance, and a ok bar next door. Pool and hot tub way to small for a hotel of this size. We were just expecting a really nice romantic getaway and got the normal same old same old hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcsobull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear rcsobull,
We appreciate both your staying with us and reviewing the hotel. It is the comments of valued guests like you that helps us to continue to improve our product and service. We are glad the you not only had clean accommodations but that our staff also was nice and friendly.
Again, thanks,
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this resort/hotel after reading some reviews and friends recommendation. Best decision I made, no trouble parking, clean rooms and excellent and helpful staff, the view was amazing. We stated on the north side overlooking the pier. The surfside diner was the best food both me and my wife have had hands down. The bar is conveniently located to get a few drinks late at night the beach is not crowded at all. Yes the elevators were slow and couple of times we decided to just take te stairs to the 8th floor but that's just a minor thing in the bigger picture. And broadway and the boardwalk are only 15 min drive I would definitely return :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GT_TIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear GT_TIFF,
Thanks for both staying with us and reviewing the hotel. We are glad we met the expectations set by other reviewers and your friend recommendations, that your room was clean and comfortable, and there were no problems with parking. Surfside Beach does offer a less crowded alternative to the busier Myrtle Beach while being just minutes away from all it has.
Thanks again,
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family and I recently returned home from a wonderful vacation to Myrtle Beach. After going back and forth when selecting a place to stay I finally decided on Surfside Beach Resort and I'm glad I did! I knew the rooms were being remodeled and we were the first occupants of newly remodeled rooms....very clean and I was thankful that we were able to stay together as a family after booking 2 rooms to accomodate us all. The entire staff was delightful; from the front desk to the housekeeping crew, everyone went out of their way to make our family feel welcome. One of our roooms had a great ocean view and I was somewhat disappointed that the other room didn't. So if you are expecting an oceanview (and balcony) please request that when booking. Overall, my family and I experienced a great stay at Surfside Resort and would definitely stay there again! Great location!!!

Room Tip: If expecting an oceanview, please request ahead. Also, some rooms are without a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jeannie J,
We glad you and your family group enjoyed the hotel and that staff made you feel truely welcome. Also, we are proud you found the rooms not only newly renovated, but that they were clean and comfortable. We look forward to your next visit.
Thanks for staying with us,
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I usually vacation at north mrytle beach but just wanted a change. So glad we found Surfside Beach resort. Very clean rooms. Great location. We parked our car when we arrived and never had to leave the hotel. The proximity to the eating establishments were impeccable. You can get seafood, Hamburgers and there are 2 icecream shops within walking distance . Pier is right beside hotel .Surfside beach is a wonderful place to come and relax.We even stayed an extra night. Will be vacationing here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teryntjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Teryntjb,
Surfside's gain is N. Myrtle Beach's lose. We are happy you and your husband were pleased with both the town of Surfside Beach and our "very clean" hotel. In the hourseshoe around the hotel are 4 restauants, 2 gift shops, 2 ice cream shops, the pier, and Scotty's Beach Bar for beverages and entertainment. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
11.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Property: Surfside Beach Resort
Address: 15 S Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-3633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing