We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely go back!”
Review of Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at Plantation Resort in Surfside Beach from April 14- 21. I went with my pregnant wife and six year old daughter along with another couple with 3 kids ages 7, 22 months, and a baby. I traded 2 of my weeks through RCI. I gave the 3 bedroom to my friend because he needed the room more than I did. We both had a really good time there.

My 6 year old daughter was born as a mermaid so we spent a lot of time in the pools. There are 3 pools on site with one of them openning around the clock. There is a kiddie pools with bucket drops and a lazy river, the kids had lots of fun.

The resort also have 3 buses that make trips to one of the local beaches every hour. The resort also had Wi-Fi connection throughout the whole resort, even in the outside pools. I had my iPad and I was able to connect everywhere.

We will definitely return here again.

Room Tip: There were no room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have to say that as an owner of other beach rentals and a frequent traveler, I found Plantation Resort to be a great value, with clean, secure facilities, plenty of parking, and good access to other areas of the Grand Strand. We had our kids/grandchildren and the room we had was as comfortable as my three bedroom house on Tybee Island. LOTS of privacy, not bumping into one another! I am so sorry that other people have been disappointed, but I suppose if one is expecting PARADISE ISLAND-style, then they would not appreciate the family friendly atmosphere. Though, not on the beach, there is a reliable shuttle that everyone raved about, especially because they didn't have to move their cars. Another plus, you get to park in front of your unit, unlike many of the other Grand Strand condos, making the baggage issue a little easier! So, in closing this is a wonderful vacation value for a family getaway, which includes pools, lazy river and exercise room within a short walk from your unit! Have fun!

Room Tip: The second floor units with loft bedroom are great for the children! Two DOUBLE beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elleTybeeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here for a few days and was exaxtly what we expected. We had a studio which included fridge, microwave and hotplate. Room was not overly large but met our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skogeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We traveled cross-country to see the ocean & it's always a gamble to pick a resort based on their web page. Plantation Resort did not disappoint. Staff was friendly, grounds are beautifully maintained, unit was pleasant and comfortable. We had a 2BR upper in the Presidential Village (237-B). Only problem is the adjoining room that can either be a used as a 3rd BR or a hotel room is connected by a single door with a large gap at the bottom. So you can hear everything going on with your neighbors. We were able to retreat to the bedrooms in the evening to watch tv and avoid the next door noise. The amenities are many: indoor/outdoor pools, kiddie waterpark, rec center with planned activities, shuttle to/from nearby beach (which is also beautifully maintained).

Room Tip: Choose upper to minimize seeing a palmetto bug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank midwestmomtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our family of four spent the kids Easter break at Plantation Resort. We booked our stay only 2-3 months prior to our trip and this was the only timeshare available thru RCI at the time - boy are we glad that we didn't let all of the negative reviews scare us away.

In defense of those who state "it is not a 'Gold Crown' resort", this property does not compare to some of the modern, larger properties we have booked thru RCI - but, this property can boast about having very courteous & friendly staff and family-focused activities and facilities. These things are all part of the resort making the Gold Crown ranking.

The resort is located a few miles south of Myrtle Beach, which is great (in my opinion) so that you can avoid some of the traffic and chaos that exists in MB or around some of the more touristy areas. It is a short drive to the oceanfront of Surfside Beach, and the Resort provides shuttle buses to take guests to and from the beach. You could also use these shuttles to get around the property (such as to the pool or fitness center) if you are not able to walk around. The resort is a short distance from the Highway 17 Bypass, so you can easily head up to the popular attractions of MB from the Resort.

Room Tip: Most of the units are only 2 levels high, but a few are 3 levels. We recommend you book on top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CowboysFanInMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

on 12/24/11, we arrived at this resort. and it is above and beyond my expectations. the people were very professional and we were a party of 16 and we reserved (2) 3 bedroom condos with plenty of room to spare, duplex condos, this place is an excellent resort and I hope this review helps others to see that it is a 5 star resort. I will cherish the memories of staying in this resort forever.

Room Tip: a 3 bedroom condo has an upstairs with 3 full bathrooms, dishes, utensils, dish soap, laundry soap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 307shopgirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The reviews worried me at first but honestly I was shocked to find the place was nicer than expected. The employees were so nice and helpful. The villa was newly renovated. The security was a plus. Everything was clean. The pool and fitness area was nice and many activities for the kids. Don't listen to the bad ratings.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank kelly6726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
11.8 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,913 reviews
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 5 in Surfside Beach
113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#68 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Resort

Address: 1250 Highway 17 N, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-6006
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range: £74 - £567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Resort is a Myrtle Beach vacation resort that offers one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom villas for guests. Plantation Resort offers vacation rentals as well as vacation ownership. The amenities at this Myrtle Beach resort include a spa, an outdoor grill, a lazy river, an indoor pool, a fitness center, a beach shuttle and much more. Our resort is location in Surfside Beach which is just south of North Myrtle Beach and Myrtle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Surfside Beach
Plantation Surfside Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing