We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in ”
Review of Hotel Domestique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Domestique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We did not stay overnight. Just stopped in to see how new owners transformed it from the ole la bastide.
Beautiful! Impressed with renovations including a pool and restaurant. Many outside sitting areas to enjoy mountain views.
Staff was excellent and helpful with our questions!
GM Ben, front desk gentlemen, and restaurant staff wonderful.
Had a glass of champagne in courtyard. We will be back for lunch or dinner and an overnight stay soon!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank travelwtot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

A week after our stay, and we're still talking about how amazing this place is. The staff could not be more competent or pleasant, and we'd be lying if we said we haven't been bragging for the past week that we got to ride with George. Executive Chef Adam Cooke and his team make memorable meals, and we ate all of our meals at Restaurant 17. The attention to detail in the food was incredible. I'll have to leave Restaurant 17 a review next... Back to the hotel, everything exceeded our expectations - especially the bed which felt great after hours of riding. The location is fantastic, seems strategic, and the amenities and routes accessible to cyclists are unrivaled. We seldom visit the same place twice, but we'll definitely be revisiting Hotel Domestique. One more thing, I travel for a living and this is my fourth review. Our stay was that memorable and noteworthy!

Room Tip: Vineyard View rooms get lots of great light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were looking for a nice place to escape for the weekend and I had heard about Hotel Domestique through the cycling community and decided to give it a try. The service in the hotel and restaurant was on par with any Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton ( even better than some )! We really liked the small size and personal attention that you get here. As others have mentioned, the rooms and hotel are furnished exquisitely, as one would except in this price range. The availability of snacks, soda, and bottled water are a nice touch as well. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding, and they made it available to us even though we arrived late!! The bar and restaurant were a nice treat and surprise. We were planning to go to Greenville for dinner, but decided to give 17 Restaurant a try. The bartender was friendly, with great cocktails and a good wine list, served in Reidel stemware. The food was priced accordingly for what you get and the service was outstanding as well. We had the rabbit wrapped in bacon and the veal pasta, something we have never had before, and I can say the chef is a culinary genius. Although there were only 3 couples spending the night at the hotel, the restaurant was full! It's easy to see how quickly the word of mouth has spread about this restaurant! When we checked out for the day, I left my car at the hotel as we left on our bikes to ride through the area on our road bikes for the day. We arrived back at the car 4 hours later and one of the note staff came out to the parking lot and brought us some fresh water and asked about our ride! We've stayed at SEVERAL very nice large as well as small boutique hotels, but none have left such a wonderful memorable impression as our stay at the Hotel Domestique! We will be back, even if it's the 40 minute drive just for dinner......yes, it was that good. The next time we're looking for a getaway a short drive from home, we will be back to the Hotel Domestique for sure. It provides an experience that you just can't get in Greenville or even from the Grove Park Inn or The Inn at the Biltmore Estate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XXLNevermiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

"After a miscommunication with another hotel, my mother and I were out of a place to stay. It was a Clemson football game and Furman football game, so almost every other hotel was booked in the area. We were very stressed out, but someone said Hotel Domestique looked nice. So, my mother and I drove to the hotel praying that they had availability. We drove into the driveway and we were pleasantly surprised; even though it was dark, the outside of Hotel Domestique looked very nice and welcoming. We walked in, and the staff, a man and a woman, were absolutely wonderful! They understood our situation perfectly and welcomed us with open arms. The lobby was inviting with a fire, and it was modern but cozy (reminding us of Santa Fe) furniture with bold colors and massive leather chairs that I could have slept in! Also, there was a quaint library that was simple but elegant. The view outside looked into the hills, and there were vineyards there, too. The staff said they were opening a restaurant in 1 week, so we didn't get to experience that. We went up to our room, and we were shocked. It was HUGE and so pretty. The queen bed frames were made out of wrought iron, and that theme continued. There was our very own fire place that could be turned on/off with a switch. Also, there were two sinks, a large walk-in shower, and a separate room for the toilet. There was also a balcony and an armoire, along with a sitting area and flat-screen. The room was beautiful, and the sheets were so soft and comfortable. Also, down the hall was a complimentary pantry that was stocked with Evian water, champagne, espresso, sparkling cider, Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite, homemade granola (yum), and nuts. The next morning, there was a complimentary breakfast that consisted of yoghurt, granola, fresh fruit, cinnamon bread, english muffins, apple butter, and poached eggs with mushroom/chive/bacon sauce. It was very good. Hotel Domestique was such a fun surprise, and I am so glad I stumbled upon it. It is French-themed, and simply perfect!!"

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

One more dining experience, one moe FANTASTIC dining experience!! Food....Service....Decor... ALL beyond excellent!! Chef Adam Cooke is phenomenal and the staff is impeccably terrific and extremely attentive. The restaurant is beautiful. We have been about a dozen times before and we will be back!!!
BRAVISSIMO!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank vino4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We spent 3 nights there while we looked at The Cliffs properties.
This is a beautiful part of the country. We loved the building, views,
service, food; all was fantastic. We enjoyed playing Petanque in the
garden. Oh, we had a beautiful suite with a fireplace and large
balcony with iron table and chairs. I could have stayed at La Bastide
for a month!! Well, maybe even forever!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bellakarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We spent Labor Day weekend at La Bastide at The Cliffs. It was just lovely. Craig the manager was delightful even offering the guests a wine and cheese surprise on our first night. The food is splendid. Can't wait to visit again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myopinion01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Travelers Rest
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenville / Travelers Rest
17.8 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
17.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Best Western Travelers Rest/Greenville
17.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
17.8 mi away
Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domestique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domestique

Address: 10 Road of Vines, Travelers Rest, SC 29690-7718
Region: United States > South Carolina > Travelers Rest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Travelers Rest
Price Range: £322 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Domestique 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek. Contemporary. Refined. And sumptuously inviting. Domestique is a new paradigm in sophistication and elegance-a dynamic expression of cultivated hospitality set against the canvas of the oldest mountains in North America. With clean lines, thoughtful architecture and European accents, Domestique elevates service to artistic levels, while beckoning guests to venture out and make new discoveries, both within and without. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Domestique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing