We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous getaway in the mountains!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Domestique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Domestique
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous getaway in the mountains!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for four nights in April. The design of the hotel is fantastic--it is really gorgeous and luxe. This is truly a boutique experience. The desserts left bedside were delicious, and the wine (and snacks) in the pantry were appreciated.

We were looking for a spot that was a flight away (and a reasonable drive from CLT) where we could relax and do lots of outdoor activities. The cycling in the Greenville area is AMAZING. We opted to send our measurements in ahead of time and use the hotel's exemplary BMC bikes (which were a real upgrade from what we are use it). The staff was super accommodating in providing routes. The rides were stellar--but definitely not for a beginner. As avid yogis, we were psyched to have a yoga room to stretch and practice before and after rides.

Restaurant 17 was really memorable--the weather was fantastic during our stay and we enjoyed hanging out in the courtyard before meals. On Thursdays, there is a great bluegrass band that performs. The service was top notch!

This place feels very European and we felt worlds away from our city life.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLO32781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    10
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I just stayed here for two nights as part of a cycling group. As a hotel, the rooms were comfortable, large, and very well designed. Each one has a name of a French area (mine was Madeline), and was huge for me, a single traveler, and the bathroom was one of the most spacious i've ever stayed in (are you paying attention, Europe?). Restaurant 17 was very good, Robbie the bartender was creative and remarkably competent. George stopped in and said hello, which was appreciated and fun.
I know nearby Greenville is filled with places to stay and crammed with bar/pub/restaurants, but for a pretty place away from the bustle, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Madeline room. if it's open, it's huge with a marvelous bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cycle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hotel Domestique is a great new addition to the list of to-do destinations for any serious cyclist. The property and staff are very attentive, and the food is particularly outstanding under the guidance of Chef Adam. This hotel is intended to deliver a european feel and taste and does so in abundance. Our experience was beyond our expectations, especially as we wanted to get away from our usual life routine and stresses. Domestique purposely left phones out of the rooms, and there is a boutique hotel feel to the place. The decor and style is French Provence style adding to the european feel. Yes, this is a new facility so some inconveniences are to be expected, but give George Hincapie and his team a bit of time and this will become a very nice destination hotel. If you are looking for shopping, movies, bars etc. this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for a place to downshift, do some excellent cycling, and relax in the library or out on the patio, and to eat gourmet food with an excellent wine selection, this is a place to consider.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikedSMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The staff was extremely friendly and tried to accommodate requests however many were unmet. The building is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable, there are some very nice touches (e.g. complimentary espresso and wine in the pantry, amazing complementary breakfast). The location is perfect for cycling, great riding. The things we missed and were disappointed about: no hot tub on the property, "fitness studio" is simply an empty room with no classes offered, the gamins are not available, the pool is closed, the room with a "view" (and priced for it) looked out over lawn construction, there is no tub in the bathroom, closest place to purchase any toiletries you forgot is 10 miles away, closest shop to purchase any cycling gear you forgot (socks) is 20 miles away, there are no in room movie options, there is no way to get anything to eat or drink within 10 miles on a Sun or Mon evening - the kitchen and bar are closed, the iPad described online was not functional - only way to contact the front was to go find someone (no phone in the room), the rooms feel more like a B&B than a hotel - you can hear through the walls and feel close to the strangers next to you, no ride information beyond routes (e.g. info on road conditions, water stops, vistas... - we were actually sent out on a ride day one on a road under construction). The place obviously has not been up and running for very long. We liked so many things about this place, but not sure we can recommend it at this time. I would check back in a year or so and see how it has come together.

Room Tip: Make sure the lawn construction is complete before paying for a room with a view. Ask for an end uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Domestique is off to a great start. The building and rooms have a terrific design -- good common spaces, great views, hallway pantries with espresso machines etc, and functional and nicely appointed rooms. The restaurant is quite good. My visit was for a father-son spring break trip, so my teenage son and i were there mainly for the cycling. We decided to use the rental BMCs rather than bring our own bikes, and they turned out to be a treat. Jeremiah showed real dedication in partially neutralizing the aggressive geometry for mine. Some of the routes were quite memorable -- the ride up through the Greenville watershed to the Wildflower Bakery, the ride out to and around Lake Lanier, and the short, steep ascent up Mt Callahan. Some of the roads are scenic and quiet, while others have their share of traffic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell2915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I just returned from 4 days at Hotel Domestique. I am an avid cyclist and she gave me the trip for Christmas. The property and the rooms are outstanding as others have mentioned. The staff in both the hotel and the restaurant were also some of the best that we have encountered and their friendliness really were one of the strong points of our stay. The hotel does still seem to be going through some growing pains and we experienced a few missteps on our stay. The first night we experience a bad wine and an undercooked fish and we were overly impressed with how quick the restaurant staff corrected the issues. Some of the things that gave us a bit of a negative impression were: 1) my wife does not ride and while the web page stated yoga and Pilates, yet no classes were held during our 4 days. 2) I was also frustrated on one of my longer rides when the cue sheets were simply missing turns which were later verified with the staff 3) with the cycling focus of the hotel I was surprised that there were no organized or guided rides on the weekend. 4) Another guest and I had the same frustration when we could not get the ride data on our Garmins since the hotel did not have a data cable. 5) On Sunday pantry items ran out and 6) at dinner Sunday night when staff is low, they could not find the keys to the wine closet, so we were left to drink the wine out of the pantry.

These were all things that can be easily fixed and I really hope the property succeeds, but for rates were were paying I would have expected a bit more attention to detail and a few more planned activities at the resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st croix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a beautiful and relaxing place to spend a few days getting away from the daily grind. Enjoyed challenging but beautiful riding. The hotel provides a perfect place to relax before and after the rides. Jeremiah will provide you with a great bike, advice and maintenance. Caitlin, Daniele and Brianna will look after everything else. Daniele waited up for our very late weather-delayed arrival. Caitlin was there with breakfast every morning. Brianna took time to map out a ride for us. We unfortunately strayed off the course and got lost. Jeremiah was coming to look for us when we were late returning. I have never felt so well taken care of.
Restaurant 17 is also an amazing experience. The wait staff is friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Thomas was great as was Sunny. Sunny had some great suggestions for nightlife in town as well. Of course meeting George Hincapie in the bar and his brother Rich earlier in the day were highlights of the visit. Both offered suggestions on rides and activities in the area. I'll be back - for the riding and the first-class hotel experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_harperstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Travelers Rest
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Travelers Rest / Greenville
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenville / Travelers Rest
17.8 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
17.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
18.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Greenville Haywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domestique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domestique

Property: Hotel Domestique
Address: 10 Road of Vines, Travelers Rest, SC 29690-7718
Region: United States > South Carolina > Travelers Rest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Travelers Rest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Domestique 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek. Contemporary. Refined. And sumptuously inviting. Domestique is a new paradigm in sophistication and elegance-a dynamic expression of cultivated hospitality set against the canvas of the oldest mountains in North America. With clean lines, thoughtful architecture and European accents, Domestique elevates service to artistic levels, while beckoning guests to venture out and make new discoveries, both within and without. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Domestique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing