We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Walterboro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Walterboro
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
elliston, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Unlike most Hampton, this was exterior doors and an older building but we were pleasantly surprised by our warm welcome upon entering the lobby and the room was very clean, bed was comfortable and it was quiet. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dawn M,
Thank you very much for recommending our clean rooms, comfortable beds and quiet atmosphere to fellow travelers. The exterior entrances to our guest rooms allow travelers to park near their room. We hope that you were able to take advantage of this unique feature during your stay. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    162
    123
    83
    42
See reviews for
191
233
43
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Driving from Florida to Jacksonville, NC we stopped here for one night. The room was clean, large and bright. The bed was comfortable and the duvet appeared to be very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had asked for recommendation for dinner and they provided a list of restaurants in the area. We selected a small Italian restaurant in town which was excellent. The breakfast was fine. The young lady working in the restaurant was very nice and helpful. While checking out the gentleman at the desk offered us a few bottles of cold water. We were very pleased with our stay and would return. We had a very favorable experience and would return again. Thank you to all the fine people who work there. Keep up the great work!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
James M,

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel in Walterboro to fellow travelers. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed Carmine's authentic Italian restaurant in town. It is one of our team favorites! We truly appreciate the kind words about our clean rooms, comfortable beds and friendly team. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was one of the worst "Hampton Inns" that I have ever seen. Though the staff was very friendly, the rooms ( or at least mine) looked old, the linens didn't fit, and I began to itch within 10 minutes of sitting on the bed.
I checked out after only being in the room long enough to make a local phone call to book another hotel. Don't let the name fool you, all Hampton Inns are NOT equal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAMasterDiver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
VAMasterDiver2013,
Thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide comfortable accommodations to each and every hotel guest, so we are disappointed to hear that you feel we did not live up to those high standards on this particular visit. Our property is inspected on a regular basis to ensure that we are offering the excellent accommodations and amenities that Hampton Inn guests have come to know and love. We have shared this review with our General Manager so that he can further investigate the concerns mentioned in your review and make necessary changes to ensure we are still offering high quality accommodations to travelers. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback!
Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

First the good. Convenient to a restaurant ( just a Days Inn away from Cracker Barrel), sink outside the toilet/shower room, exceptionally friendly staff.

Now the bad. Exterior corridors, walls discolored near the ceiling (looked like mold), stained duvet, chipped furniture, too-small breakfast area.

Mentioned problems to staff at check-out. She offered the room to us for free according to company policy. That seemed excessive to us, so declined. Would have preferred a discount on the room or an upgrade on a future stay at a Hilton property.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the property to avoid noise from the road. If traveling in colder weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthasopoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
samanthasopoe,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the kind words about our convenient location and friendly team! However, we are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared this review with our General Manager for further consideration so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. We find that many of our guests enjoy the exterior entrances because they can park near their guest room. We hope that you were able to take advantage of this unique feature during your stay. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Forget about new v. old issues the real issue is how they work with what they have. The room is small as well as the bathroom but functional. Our issue was with the mattress and sheets. Being accustomed to HI new and comfortable beds I was pretty shocked with ours. The fitted bottom sheet would not stay on the mattress and kept exposing the old,dirty mattress to our skin, and the stench of very strong bleach was overpowering. We didn't sleep much and left after showering in the morning.

The people working there were very kind and the breakfast ladies were very accommodating and pleasant. The Manager was very understanding of our situation after we contacted him and he issues a refund - very nice but wish we had paid and had a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aging_nicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
aging_nicely,

Thank you very much for your review. We are truly sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. We are so glad that you reached out to our General Manager and would like to thank you for accepting our sincere apologies. It is feedback like yours that allows us to make necessary changes and improve the overall experience for hotel guests. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the comfortable accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have stayed at many Hampton Inns over the years and are generally happy with that choice.
This one is probably the worst of all. Should be rebranded as a Motel 6 or some other 3rd rate chain. Not the usual high quality beds.
Hampton Inns should decide if they are running a first class operation or a franchise without standards
Either that or indicate different levels of Inns so travellers will know what to expect.
We are now in a Hampton on Gregson St in Durham NC which is first rate in all respects.
Except for the sign out front, these properties have nothing in common

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Lloyd W,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. Our guest beds feature the world famous Cloud 9 Bedding Package that Hampton Inn guests have come to know and love. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us so that we can inspect the bed in this guest room to ensure that it lives up to Hampton Inn standards. Thanks in advance for your time as it is feedback like yours that allows us to improve the overall experience for hotel guests!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Not a fan of outside two story motels but went with the Hampton name and tried this location out on my way back to Florida on March 15th.
Greeted warmly and advised that the Inn was sold out so it was good that I had a reservation. Asked for some dinning suggestions and was informed that the few restaurants in the area were packed with a wait at 8:30PM. Given a suggestion for a neighborhood Italian Restaurant.
Perhaps my expectation was not high which would explain my surprise when I entered my room on the second floor. Spotless, inviting, secure, with all the necessary supplies and normal Hampton Inn quality furnishings and beds. Other than the door opening to the outside, it was certainly a pleasant, modern room that provided an excellent quiet nights rest.
Breakfast was more than ample and ready at 6:00AM for an early start.
Would certainly stay here again if in the area. Great front desk and dinning area staff.

Room Tip: There is an elevator to the second floor in the front of the building otherwise outside staircase is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Notanewbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Notanewbe,
Thank you very much for this kind review! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate the kind words about our updated guest rooms, friendly team and quiet atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#3 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
#5 of 16 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Walterboro

Property: Hampton Inn Walterboro
Address: 1835 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Walterboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel is located off I-95 with easy access to I-26 and I-16. Near historic downtown Walterboro, history buffs will also enjoy our convenient location to both Charleston and Savannah only 1 hour away. Relax with great amenities like free Wi-Fi and free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Walterboro Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing