We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Walterboro
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
1 review
“Good Service”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is an older Hampton Inn but updated and was adequate for our stay on our way home from Orlando, FL. Support staff was very helpful and pleasant. Morning meal was very good and provided a large selection.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank roberthQ8628UX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
roberthQ8628UX,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for a quick stopover on your way home from Orlando. We appreciate the kind words about our friendly team and complimentary breakfast buffet. We hope that you had a wonderful time in Florida and that you will come back to see us again soon!
Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    165
    127
    84
    42
See reviews for
192
240
43
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This motel is a typical Hampton Inn, clean with very comfortable, inviting beds. My only criticism is the lack of interior halls. (There are catwalks outside the second floor rooms) This is an old-fashion design.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Barjay,
A special thanks to you and your family for joining us at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words about our clean rooms and comfortable beds. Our exterior entrances allow guests to park directly next to their room during their stay. We hope that you were able to take advantage of this unique feature! Thanks again for all of your time. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have not travelled on a regular basis for a long time. When I did travel regularly (over a decade ago) I always trusted Hampton Inns as the chain was relatively young at the time. There were a lot of hotel choices in Waltersboro, so I made a reservation with a familiar name - Hampton Inn. I was sure if I made the right choice until I checked in. Bingo! Same Hampton Inn I remembered. Clean rooms. Friendly efficient staff. Great breakfast. It was a nice surprise!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Patrick T,
A special thanks to you and your family for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel. We are so glad that you are part of the Hampton Inn family and truly appreciate the kind words about our clean rooms, friendly team and complimentary breakfast buffet. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Pool was green for Memorial Day and management did nothing to correct the problem. Said there were problems with chemicals...as one who works in the pool industry...he was right...there was no chemicals or maintenance provided for this pool on a busy travel weekend that many families wanted to use a clear and clean pool. Poor Poor effort and display

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Richard S,
Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. Our pool is tested and maintained on a regular basis to ensure a safe, refreshing experience for hotel guests. Unfortunately, we had a chemical imbalance over Memorial Day Weekend which required immediate attention from our maintenance team. We did everything we could to solve the problem right away, but it took a couple of days for the pool to return to its balanced state. We completely understand your frustrations and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we may provide the excellent pool service that you and all of our guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were in town for 3 days to attend an event. We usually like Hampton Inns and stay there often. This wasn't up to what we usually expect from that chain. When we booked the room we asked to be on the back side of the hotel, when we checked in they tried to give us the front side even though they had a room on the back available. They agreed to give us a back room. The next morning the maid said "you don't want your room cleaned do you?" We were puzzled (thought that was standard to clean the room), but the room was made up when we returned. The second day we left and were gone until late afternoon, when we returned the room had not been touched (yes we left a nice tip the first day and second). When we asked at the front desk about this they were rather condescending and asked if we had taken in the "do not disturb sign" - yes of course we had! By this time we said just skip it and give us a couple of clean towels and let us check out a little late the next day (they did agree to this). The bright spot in our stay was the breakfast lady - Darlene, she was the picture of efficiency and hospitality. By the way we didn't have time to swim, but noticed the pool looked kind of green and didn't appear to be open. There were several other choices on this same corner for about the same or lower price, we will probably try another next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ansley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Leo K,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate the compliments about Darlene and look forward to sharing this feedback with her. However, we are very disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared all of your comments with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made. Thanks again for all of your time as it is feedback like yours that allows us to improve the overall experience for hotel guests.
Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella, North Carolina
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This is a older, wayside property that shouldn't be part of the Hilton properties.

It is an exterior door, 2-story property that doesn't have enough parking. Definitely not enough lighted parking.

The desk clerk was polite, but not welcoming or friendly. I wasn't greeted or checked-in so much as "processed".

The room had several maintenance issues, i.e.-toilet running, light didn't work, ragged carpet and heavily patched walls. The furniture for the most part was in good condition, just that some of it (sofa, bureau) were dated. In an attempt to modernize, they shoehorned a couple of extra items in the room, that made the room tight.

Now the important items, the bed was clean and comfortable. It did smell and feel fresh and clean. The shower lacked water pressure and left a lot to be desired.

I gave this property a 3 because the bed was clean & comfortable and, if on 95, is okay if a place to stay for a quick nap or break is needed. But I would not recommend it if you are accustomed to an average Hampton Inn property.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank QuahogRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
QuahogRob,
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate the kind words about our comfortable beds and clean guest rooms. However, we are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. While many of our guests enjoy the exterior entrances because they can park right next to their room, we understand that everyone has different travel preferences. We have shared all of your comments with our General Manager for further review so that necessary changes can be made. Thanks again for all of your time as it is feedback like yours that allows us to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we may provide the excellent service and accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbiana, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

stayed here on the way back from florida $99 for the night. Friendly staff they were so nice free breakfast but the rooms were more like motel 6 dark small and a very small bathroom and one of the beds had a dead bug in it. It was only for a night left early next morning probably not stay here again they have many smoking rooms not all in the same part of the hotel you can smell the smoke in non smoking rooms

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank carri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
carri m,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. We appreciate the kind words about our friendly team, complimentary breakfast buffet and great value. However, we are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. We have shared your concerns with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. We hope that you will stay with us again soon. We want you and your family to enjoy the comfortable, clean accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Walterboro
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 16 in Walterboro
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#4 of 16 in Walterboro
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
#6 of 16 in Walterboro
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Walterboro

Property: Hampton Inn Walterboro
Address: 1835 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Walterboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel is located off I-95 with easy access to I-26 and I-16. Near historic downtown Walterboro, history buffs will also enjoy our convenient location to both Charleston and Savannah only 1 hour away. Relax with great amenities like free Wi-Fi and free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Walterboro Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing