We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yup! Perfect for a meal in Walterboro!!”

Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Exit 53 off hwy I-95 SC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Yup! Perfect for a meal in Walterboro!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Hubby and I stopped tonight at Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant based entirely on Trip Advisor reviews. THANKS everyone!!!
You were right and Los Abuelitos deserved their high ratings! It was a Tuesday night, and there were only 5 other tables occupied, and we had immediate and great service! Thanks, Elena! We had the 27 oz Texas Margaritas...which were awesome! Not too much ice, and we totally "felt" them...something not often done with margaritas. I think they were $8? I had the shrimp/scallop fajita - YUM! I opted OUT of the refried beans, and instead substituted guacamole. All was delicious. Hubby went for the beef taco salad and two tacos on the side. He loved everything.
We won't hesitating visiting Los Abuelitos again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janconover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A great Mexican meal once again...”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stopped in Walterboro on our way to Florida, as usual, and revisited Los Abuelitos...
excellent Mexican food and the best Margaritas that taste like a Margarita should!!
Wish we lived closer...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bluemountain66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Enchiladas and Burrito”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This restaurant is a small-town gem. It truly delivered on its claim of Authentic Mexican Cuisine. The sauce for the enchilada special and burrito is outstanding. The enchilada special features five different ones, with each one standing out as wonderful. The beer selection also is impressive. Pricing is sensible, and the ambience is laid-back and casual.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RWhitworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You'll be served if waitresses aren't talking or snacking”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Wish I could comment on the food, but couldn't get service. I was welcomed by a very nice Mexican lady and I sat while I watched two ladies talk and one of them snack on something. They saw me but continued to talk. Only when a group of four came in did they even come to the table - after they took menus to the group. No greeting, nothing after ignoring me for about five minutes. Also, my table as well as others were dirty and had not been wiped down. Very disappointing! If the owner/manager had been there maybe it would be different. 9/1/13 6:40pm

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HiShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tucked away but very good”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Service is fair just a little slow but the food is surprisingly good.........and fresh ......margarita was awesome

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizchaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing