We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Surprise!”
Review of The Hotel Hammock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walterboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hotel Hammock
Ranked #1 of 7 Walterboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stumbled onto this little jewel on our way to Florida. We were tired and just looking for a place to spend the night, but were turned off by what we found off the Interstate. We decided to drive for a couple more miles and Hotel Hammock caught our eye. Instead of just a place to sleep we scored a beautiful evening--drinks our our "back porch" and a great dinner a short walk away in beautiful downtown Walterboro. The suites are more like home than a hotel, and hostess/owner Sandy, was delightful. They do not have a kitchen, but she brings in freshly-baked sweets in addition to offering an array of Continental breakfast items. We knew we would be back . . .just didn't realize it would be just 8 days later on our return trip. Same wonderful experience!

John & Jenny (AKA "April Fools"

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Hammock
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Due to a change in plans, my colleague and I found ourselves unexpectedly needing to stay overnight in Walterboro. Our last-minute search for rooms was yielding no results until a "local" suggested The Hotel Hammock. What a great suggestion! Conveniently located to downtown, we arrived shortly thereafter. Upon arrival, we were promptly greeted by Sandy, one of the owners. Her infectious friendliness and cheeriness had us all soon talking as if we were long-lost friends (which helped melt away the frustrations of the day!). Our accommodations were well-secured, very clean and quiet, and I found my bed to be extremely comfortable. The next morning, Sandy went over-and-beyond to provide us with additional assistance which pleased an exhausted overnight traveler.
Given the opportunity to stay overnight in Walterboro again, I will definitely keep The Hotel Hammock at the top of my list!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We loved out stay at Hotel Hammock. We had a very spacious, clean suite and the owners made us feel like family and went out of their way to help us with anything we needed. The price was also very reasonable. We would deflnately stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank EVQ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

What a great hotel! Actually more like a cozy cottage with everything you could possibly need from beautiful suites, private deck, warm atmosphere to gracious hosts. I plan to stay there again later this month. The hotel has been lovingly restored to reflect a charming era gone by.

D.M. Orangeburg, S.C.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were in town for a family wedding, family recommended The Hammock Hotel and we are so glad they did. We found the hotel to be all we could have asked for. We enjoyed the roomy suite. It was beautifully decorated, clean and quiet. The owners Sandy and Mike were so friendly. We arrived as strangers and when we checked out we felt we had made new friends. As we have family in Walterboro we will make reservations to return. Thanks again Sandy for the hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, was able to see all as other family members were in other rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

spacious,clean, comfortable with very gracious hosts wanting to please...and they more than did...would definitely return...this is suc h a better experience for everybody compared to a chain and breakfast not too much and not too little..also very much enjoyed s.c. artisans gallery very close by.

Room Tip: they all looked fine to me
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pineycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

After staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Walterboro on our way to NC from Florida, we discovered there was another option there, The Hotel Hammock. We went to check it out before we headed to NC because we needed to stay in Walterboro on our way back in a few weeks. What a darling place! Sandy, the owner, was a dear of a woman. We quickly booked a room and are so glad we did. She was gushing with sweetness and hospitality. The room was spacious, huge bathroom, quaint decor and comfy beds. She treated us like family. We will definitely return on our next trip to NC.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Walterboro
306 reviews
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 17 in Walterboro
552 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western of Walterboro
Best Western of Walterboro
#6 of 17 in Walterboro
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#4 of 17 in Walterboro
341 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walterboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hammock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hammock

Address: 214 S Jefferies Blvd, Walterboro, SC 29488-3934
Region: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Walterboro
Price Range: £63 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hammock is a unique, fully restored 1930's Guest House with the charm and nostalgia of the 30's and modern conveniences. Our suites are tastefully decorated and have en suite bathrooms. Stay with us and experience the comfort and Southern charm of historic Walterboro. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay! Owned and operated by Michael and Sandy Katchuk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing