We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Some in the I-95 corridor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
232 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Better than Some in the I-95 corridor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Travelling north with a pet is not usually a problem when you know there is a Best Western nearby, unless you want to stay in Santee where they are not pet friendly.

Since we were unable to stay in Santee, we stayed at the Best Western in Walterboro. So far this is the nicest we have stayed in from Savannah GA to Florence SC.

The room was well maintained, the continental/hot breakfast buffet good and the staff friendly.

When we arrived around 10:30 p.m. check in was easy, unfortunately we were given a room on the inside of the rows (even numbered rooms) away from the parking area. Having just come off of foot surgery, this was not acceptable, so we went back to the desk and asked for a room change which was granted. We were now near the parking area and grassy area for our dog.

The room itself was very clean and looked like it had been painted recently, however the bathroom could have used a bit something more, like bleach on the shower surround; I'm guessing it was stained, but it looked moldy or mildewed around the bottom half. Actually getting into the bathroom and closing the door was also a challenge since the door practically opened into the toilet. Aside from this the room was well stocked with towels and washcloths. The mini fridge and microwave were an added bonus as we had soda, water and some food to keep cold; we figured we'd have to fill Ziplocs with ice. The A/C worked well and did not have a musty smell as some do, in fact, the room smelled fresh.

The hot options (eggs, sausage and 2 flavors of Belgian waffles) on the continental breakfast buffet were welcome items. The bread, biscuits, muffins and pastries were fresh. Since I don't drink hot beverages (coffee or tea) I went for the milk, which could have been colder. Even so, we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast.

We would definitely stay here again, it is very easy off and on I-95! If fact we will be travelling south in a few days and will do what we can to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were along the right outside around the odd 130's -140's
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western hotel in Walterboro, South Carolina during your trip. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean and comfortable rooms, great location and professional staff to fellow travelers. Thank you again for your business and hope to see you the next time your travel plans bring you to our area.

Sincerely,

Best Western Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    187
    84
    48
    36
See reviews for
193
190
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were traveling a long distance and needed to rest. I've had good experiences at Best Western so we pulled off when we saw the sign. We're glad we did. The reception was extremely helpful and quick. We got our room and we were not disappointed. The next morning we enjoyed the continental breakfast. Just what we needed to get on the road again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Best Western hotel in Walterboro, South Carolina. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean and comfortable rooms to fellow travelers. Thank you again for your business and hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,

Best Western Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is my 1st hotel review. I feel compelled to inform and warn other travelers. My 10-year old daughter and I heard panicked screams, then a single gunshot, followed by more frantic screaming as we were going up the stairs to our room. This took place within no more then 20-30 feet of us in the courtyard area of the hotel in daylight. We immediately left the premises of the hotel and the area, forgoing our reserved room. I contacted best western to report the incident as we were driving away along I-95. The representative was powerless to do anything but try to book another room for us, which we ended up not booking. I was told to call customer care the following day to report the incident. I did just that. The representative put me on hold for less then 5 min. to "investigate" what happened at the hotel. After he came back on the line, he said that he spoke with the hotel manager (not the same manager that was present the night before), he is now convinced that I heard fireworks going off at a nearby hotel. I told him that as a result of my professional career I am well aware of the difference between fireworks and gunshots. Despite that fact, he did not refund our $90+ room. It took several other phone calls to the Best Western management to get our money back. Needless to say, the management still attempted to discredit my statement siting the nearby fireworks. Please be warned!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations when you last stayed. The noise that was heard that night was fireworks and we are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and you can be assured that this will not occur again.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The place is not a terrible place to stay, but I will not give my money to people won't don't care one bit about their customers. I'm sure if you stay here when you have no customer-service related issues, you won't be disappointed. I was going to review this place at 4 stars when I first checked in.
Upon arrival, I was met by a very friendly woman who even wanted to make sure that my room choice would suit our party. Her title was "manager". Our room smelled clean (I will not sleep in a room that smells like mildew) and could have been just a little cleaner in certain spots that people don't usually look, but that's to be expected here. We had tons of towels and wash cloths. The pool was clean. The grounds were impressively maintained for this sort of establishment. We had really friendly neighbors all around us.That's about where the good stuff stops.
Around 10pm, a HUGE group of people showed up. They were of all age ranges, and were being very loud. That would have been fine, had they quieted down, but then some sort of party began. Not only that, but a group of them started shrieking and spraying bug spray all around outside because they saw some caterpillars (I'm imagining them coming on here complaining the hotel has a "bug problem"). The front desk night manager later confirmed that she gave the guests the bug spray. If a guest told me they had a bug problem, I'd go check it out, not hand them a can of poison to dispatch at will. Anyway, after almost an hour I called the front desk (there is no way they didn't hear it). The night manager said she'd see what she could do. I'm a pretty out-spoken person, but when I'm outnumbered by a rowdy group of people I'm not going to try to take matters into my own hands. She did not come out of the office for quite some time. So now it's been about an hour and a half of this block party going on. By that time they had sort of retired to their over-flowing rooms, but were still in and out and yelling from downstairs to upstairs. The manager came out like I said, looked around, and went back in. Since nothing was done, my husband offered to go to the office to get the owner's name and number since I was wearing my pajamas. The woman at the desk said that's "private". Really? Because I just checked into another one tonight (where I'm writing this review from), and the owner's cell, fax, and address are on business cards. I guess the difference is that he actually cares. The next morning, our neighbors with a dog actually apologized to me for their dog barking at the noise. Nice of them to do, but the dog was quiet until the party bus rolled in.
After that whole ordeal, we checked out the next morning to continue on our way. Another "manager" was at the front desk (how many managers are in this place??). She asked, like a drone, how my stay was. I started off with "fine", but she interrupted me and then picked up the phone. No, "Thanks for staying", no smile, not even any eye contact. I actually stood there for a few seconds because I wasn't sure whether or not she checked me out. There are plenty of other hotels in the area, and they are the ones that will be getting my money twice a year from now on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gma17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay and are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. Your satisfaction is important to us and you can always be assured that we strive to do the best service for all of our guests like you.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this Best Western on our annual trip to the Smoky Mountains. We chose it because of its great reviews, price and the fact that it was pet friendly. It also had great convenience to I95.

We were not disappointed by the experience. The rooms were very clean (we had the 2-room queen suite on the 2nd floor with a pool view). The extra room was welcome with 2 kids and a ridiculously large dog. The only problem we encountered was that our dog could not navigate the steps due to an inherent lack of intelligence and suspected inbreeding. (Obviously no fault of the hotel)

The kids used the pool, which was very clean and had a great seating area for the parents. It was also open until 10, which is great in the summer when it gets dark late. We got take-out from Ruby Tuesdays which was right next door. There is definitely a lack of dining options at this exit, so a good idea would be to eat before you arrive unless you also want to be subjected to the abhorrently average food of Ruby Tuesday.

Overall we were very happy with the staff, service, location and cleanliness of this hotel and will definitely be stopping here again on our way to the mountains next time.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western hotel in Walterboro, South Carolina during your trip to the mountains. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean and comfortable rooms, great location and professional staff to fellow travelers. Thank you again for your business and look forward to seeing you the next time your travel plans bring you to our area.

Sincerely,

Best Western Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, West Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

BW Walterboro is located close to the highway and a myriad of eating places. The hotel is spotless, well maintained, quiet, and the rooms comfortable, very clean, and without a hint of smoke smell. The Wifi is one of the fastest I've experienced. It boasts, in my opinion, the cleanest, most well stocked, seriously well looked after breakfast areas of all BWs. I recommend this BW location without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We appreciate your business and value your feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback like yours and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, VA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Otherwise had no complaints. Hotel more than met expectations, except that the mold/mildew smell in the room was overpowering. Also, using a handicapped room with a roll-in shower, we found that there was no soap dish at all---not even a place on the grab bar that the tiny soap bar and shampoo bottle could be propped.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations in the guestroom. Normally, rooms are assigned as reservations are made at the hotel and we are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced with the overpowering odor during your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and you can always make requests at the time of your reservation or check in at our hotel.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 16 in Walterboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#4 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Walterboro
Hampton Inn Walterboro
#7 of 16 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN of Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN of Walterboro

Property: BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
Address: 1428 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN of Walterboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Of Walterboro!Explore historic Walterboro and nearby Charleston with a stay at the pet-friendly BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, located near Tuskegee Airman Monument.A variety of key area attractions surround this superior Walterboro hotel located in the South Carolina low country, close to I-95 and halfway between South Florida and the Mid-Atlantic States. Browse the South Carolina Artisan Center, browse antique shops, visit the famous Great Swap Sanctuary, see historic sights at the Veteran's Memorial and the Tuskegee Airman Monument, get some sun on nearby Edisto Beach, or indulge in outdoor adventure with a variety of hunting, fishing and hiking opportunities nearby. In addition, Savannah, Charleston, Hilton Head and Beaufort are all just an hour drive away, making them great day-trip destinations for those staying at this Walterboro hotel. While in town, try to catch the annual Rice Festival in April and the Criterion Race and Rodeo in May - both local favorites!For those here on business, BEST WESTERN Of Walterboro is the perfect lodging choice because of our on-site business services and close proximity to local businesses, including Colleton County Industrial Park and the Boeing Manufacturing Plant. Charleston Air Force Base is also nearby for those visiting friends or family living on base.For the ultimate in comfort and convenience, each guest room at this hotel in Walterboro comes complete with cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this Walterboro hotel also include complimentary full breakfast each morning, an Olympic size outdoor swimming pool, state-of-the-art fitness center and easy access to the adjacent Ruby Tuesday's restaurant.BEST WESTERN of Walterboro's friendly staff is ready to welcome you here and make your nest Walterboro hotel stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN of Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Best Western Walterboro
Walterboro Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing