We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western of Walterboro
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Walterboro
Reviewed 31 July 2014

clean comfortable location nice pool good breakfast nice professional staff. stayed over another night on business.highly recommend to all travelers family students business best bang for your buck..right off highway ruby Tuesdays on property.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at Best Western of Walterboro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback to fellow travelers regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We appreciate and value your feedback on our service and comfort and will share it with our team. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback like yours.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stopped on the way to Charlotte NC. The hotel was great and on trip advisor we saw some interesting things to do in Walterboro. Only able to do one of them, and thought we would like to do the other. But they closed at 5 pm so we went swimming in the hotel swimming pool instead. Great pool and great way to end the day. Ruby Tuesday was next door and we walked there to eat, then changed into our bathing suits and had a great evening.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cruise-visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at Best Western of Walterboro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western hotel in Walterboro, South Carolina. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a great evening at the pool. We appreciate your business and hope to see you the next time your travel plans bring you to our area.

Sincerely,

Best Western Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

No elevator and we were not advised at the time of check in. The first room had issues with the ceiling popcorn finish falling and the front desk seemed to not know about the problem, which would impossible for at least the cleaners not to notice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at Best Western of Walterboro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations in the room. Normally, rooms are assigned as reservations are made at the hotel and we are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced with not having an elevator during your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We left our home late and knew we could not reach our destination and would have to stay somewhere overnight. By the time we were ready to stop our first choices were full. We ended up at this hotel. The room seemed fairly clean...but there was a bad odor...possibly mold. If we had not been exhausted we would have left. We mentioned the odor to the clerk on duty the following morning and she seemed disinterested. We won't return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mako B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at Best Western of Walterboro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations in the odor of our guest room. This is not the quality we provide for our guests and we are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Travelling north with a pet is not usually a problem when you know there is a Best Western nearby, unless you want to stay in Santee where they are not pet friendly.

Since we were unable to stay in Santee, we stayed at the Best Western in Walterboro. So far this is the nicest we have stayed in from Savannah GA to Florence SC.

The room was well maintained, the continental/hot breakfast buffet good and the staff friendly.

When we arrived around 10:30 p.m. check in was easy, unfortunately we were given a room on the inside of the rows (even numbered rooms) away from the parking area. Having just come off of foot surgery, this was not acceptable, so we went back to the desk and asked for a room change which was granted. We were now near the parking area and grassy area for our dog.

The room itself was very clean and looked like it had been painted recently, however the bathroom could have used a bit something more, like bleach on the shower surround; I'm guessing it was stained, but it looked moldy or mildewed around the bottom half. Actually getting into the bathroom and closing the door was also a challenge since the door practically opened into the toilet. Aside from this the room was well stocked with towels and washcloths. The mini fridge and microwave were an added bonus as we had soda, water and some food to keep cold; we figured we'd have to fill Ziplocs with ice. The A/C worked well and did not have a musty smell as some do, in fact, the room smelled fresh.

The hot options (eggs, sausage and 2 flavors of Belgian waffles) on the continental breakfast buffet were welcome items. The bread, biscuits, muffins and pastries were fresh. Since I don't drink hot beverages (coffee or tea) I went for the milk, which could have been colder. Even so, we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast.

We would definitely stay here again, it is very easy off and on I-95! If fact we will be travelling south in a few days and will do what we can to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were along the right outside around the odd 130's -140's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at Best Western of Walterboro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western hotel in Walterboro, South Carolina during your trip. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean and comfortable rooms, great location and professional staff to fellow travelers. Thank you again for your business and hope to see you the next time your travel plans bring you to our area.

Sincerely,

Best Western Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were traveling a long distance and needed to rest. I've had good experiences at Best Western so we pulled off when we saw the sign. We're glad we did. The reception was extremely helpful and quick. We got our room and we were not disappointed. The next morning we enjoyed the continental breakfast. Just what we needed to get on the road again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at Best Western of Walterboro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Best Western hotel in Walterboro, South Carolina. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean and comfortable rooms to fellow travelers. Thank you again for your business and hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,

Best Western Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is my 1st hotel review. I feel compelled to inform and warn other travelers. My 10-year old daughter and I heard panicked screams, then a single gunshot, followed by more frantic screaming as we were going up the stairs to our room. This took place within no more then 20-30 feet of us in the courtyard area of the hotel in daylight. We immediately left the premises of the hotel and the area, forgoing our reserved room. I contacted best western to report the incident as we were driving away along I-95. The representative was powerless to do anything but try to book another room for us, which we ended up not booking. I was told to call customer care the following day to report the incident. I did just that. The representative put me on hold for less then 5 min. to "investigate" what happened at the hotel. After he came back on the line, he said that he spoke with the hotel manager (not the same manager that was present the night before), he is now convinced that I heard fireworks going off at a nearby hotel. I told him that as a result of my professional career I am well aware of the difference between fireworks and gunshots. Despite that fact, he did not refund our $90+ room. It took several other phone calls to the Best Western management to get our money back. Needless to say, the management still attempted to discredit my statement siting the nearby fireworks. Please be warned!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPMgr, General Manager at Best Western of Walterboro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations when you last stayed. The noise that was heard that night was fireworks and we are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and you can be assured that this will not occur again.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walterboro
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 18 in Walterboro
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 18 in Walterboro
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#4 of 18 in Walterboro
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 18 in Walterboro
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western of Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western of Walterboro

Address: 1428 Sniders Hwy, Walterboro, SC 29488-8417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range: £81 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western of Walterboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Of Walterboro!Explore historic Walterboro and nearby Charleston with a stay at the pet-friendly BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, located near Tuskegee Airman Monument.A variety of key area attractions surround this superior Walterboro hotel located in the South Carolina low country, close to I-95 and halfway between South Florida and the Mid-Atlantic States. Browse the South Carolina Artisan Center, browse antique shops, visit the famous Great Swap Sanctuary, see historic sights at the Veteran's Memorial and the Tuskegee Airman Monument, get some sun on nearby Edisto Beach, or indulge in outdoor adventure with a variety of hunting, fishing and hiking opportunities nearby. In addition, Savannah, Charleston, Hilton Head and Beaufort are all just an hour drive away, making them great day-trip destinations for those staying at this Walterboro hotel. While in town, try to catch the annual Rice Festival in April and the Criterion Race and Rodeo in May - both local favorites!For those here on business, BEST WESTERN Of Walterboro is the perfect lodging choice because of our on-site business services and close proximity to local businesses, including Colleton County Industrial Park and the Boeing Manufacturing Plant. Charleston Air Force Base is also nearby for those visiting friends or family living on base.For the ultimate in comfort and convenience, each guest room at this hotel in Walterboro comes complete with cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this Walterboro hotel also include complimentary full breakfast each morning, an Olympic size outdoor swimming pool, state-of-the-art fitness center and easy access to the adjacent Ruby Tuesday's restaurant.BEST WESTERN of Walterboro's friendly staff is ready to welcome you here and make your nest Walterboro hotel stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western of Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Best Western Walterboro
Walterboro Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing