We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Website was misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in West Columbia
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Website was misleading”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

On the website the room was presented as a two bedroom, two bathroom suite. Actually it was a living room and a bedroom and 1 1/2 baths. The front desk personnel told us they had told corporate to change the description of the room several times.

We probably would not have selected the room had we know we would not get what was advertised.

Room Tip: Do not pay attention to the description on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
27
18
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

The Clarion Inn was a step up from a class of motels below it, but is far from the level of hotels above it! It does appear to be in a less than great part of town, but not terrible. It has a friendly staff and clean rooms, but yet is no question a cheaper motel. There were lots of dogs about, but they didn't keep us up. I called ahead for adjoining rooms, but then they couldn't give me one so my husband and I had to take different rooms and split up the kids. The breakfast was OK. Next time I will spend more money to stay at a nicer place, but if this is what you can spend, you should be fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wraglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shallotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

The entrance to the hotel is a bit hard to find and appears to not be in a great part of town, so I was worried when we first arrived. However, the rooms were clean, the free continental breakfast was pretty average (though the 'upgraded' hot breakfast wasn't worth the price - $5.99 for scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and soggy french toast), and it overall was worth the price. It's a Clarion Inn, not a 5-star hotel, so I wasn't expecting 5-star accommodations or service.

Pluses: The beds were great. Wanted to take the pillows & mattresses home with me. A security guard was on duty and patrolling the hotel all night - which didn't seem to be needed, but was reassuring.

Minuses: The small 'gym' (A couple of treadmills, a stair-stepper, and a universal weight machine) was only open from 5am to 10pm. (Why not 24 hrs?) All of the ice machines were out of order while we were there, but the front office would get ice for you without a problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akinthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenixville, pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I must say fellow trip advisors usually get it spot on. But in this case, I really felt like I was in the twilight zone. Upon our arrival, this outdoor-entrance motel had a decidedly creepy feel. I tried to reserve judgment and when the young woman at the front desk was so friendly, I started to become almost optimistic. Until my husband and I entered our room (#139 in the back).

I went to use the restroom first after a fairly long drive. Aside from the fact that it was the size of a small closet, I couldn't help but notice the occassionally blackened and missing tile and tub grout. Worst of all, there were pubic hairs on the floor! I kept my eyes closed to avoid seeing something else I really didn't want to see! then I went to wash my hands and there was no hand soap. I called the front desk and she told me I could come get it, which I did.
We then tried to print boarding passes in the "business center", but unfortunately one of the PC's was not working properly and the other was in use. We finally had to use the computer at the front desk. Again, the woman at the desk was very nice about it, but it was difficult and cumbersome to say the least.
We grabbed a bit out in town and came back to the room when I looked at the wall and saw a rodent-sized bug. (A palmetto, I believe.) After some cursing, I left the room so my husband could dispose of it without me. He assured he flushed 4 times to make sure it really went down! We had to leave very early the next morning (thank goodness) and I awoke to an even larger palmetto on the floor by the bathroom. After screaming out loud, I brushed my teeth, washed my faced and dressed in record time, announcing I would wait in our rental car. Arriving at the Columbia airport, I told my husband, "Gee, this is so clean and inviting we should have skipped the hotel and just stayed here last night. It would have been a better experience!"
Finally, the lobby felt like stepping into a time warp (brown, dated, low lighting and virtually empy "restaurant/bar" area).
I'm sorry fellow trip advisors, but I just can't see how this place had so many positive reviews.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jdv913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Columbia hotels

Hartselle, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I was warmly greeted when I checked on two separate times by Olivia. She had a nice smile and check-in was expediant. Upon checking out, I found Sarah and Ms Suzanne singing and happy as if they really enjoyed their job. I was sent off with a smile and would deffinately make this my choice to stay when I am in the area.

Room Tip: Be kind to Olivia and she try her best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmissildine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

I like this hotel. Not a pretentious hotel, but flying in and out of Columbia, I have used this particular hotel for years with no problem, and the staff is extraordinarily helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GM7535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Had a wonderful and professional experience with renting both sleeping room amd business center, very helpful and professional especially Sarah and Danille at the front desk areas.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room, if they can they will.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awsomecub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Columbia
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn West Columbia
Quality Inn West Columbia
#6 of 10 in West Columbia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Columbia Airport
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#3 of 10 in West Columbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport

Property: Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport
Address: 500 Chris Drive, West Columbia, SC 29169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > West Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in West Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn-Airport Hotel in Columbia, SC is centrally located to all major Interstates. This Columbia Airport Hotel is located just 4 miles from the Columbia Metropolitan Airport and Columbia's downtown historic and government district. We are within 4 miles of the University of South Carolina and the nationally recognized Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Gardens. We offer spacious accommodations with wireless high-speed Internet access. Take advantage of our complimentary airport shuttle service, free local calls, free Continental breakfast, 24 hour coffee, and USA Today newspaper. Our hotel offers free on site parking, a laundry facility, and an exercise facility. Our Magnolia's Grill is open daily for breakfast and dinner. It offers authentic Southern cuisine. Magnolia's also offers room service. Our lounge is open nightly. Relax in our beautifully landscaped courtyard surrounding our pool. Our meeting facilities cater to groups of 10 to 250. We have complete event planning, audio visual capabilities and an outstanding catering and banquet service personnel to meet the needs of you and your guests. We offer 142 guest rooms, 12 suites, and special accommodations for the physically challenged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport Hotel West Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing