We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE! DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were traveling through Columbia on business and stayed here for two nights. The hotel is clean and appears to be safe. Don't let that fool you, its located next door to a meth/crack house even (according to the police)! Our U haul truck was hot wired and stolen out of the parking lot in the middle of the night. I called 4-5 times to speak with a manager about getting a refund after we got home. Finally, two weeks later he called back and told me they aren't responsible for what happens in the parking lot. Maybe they should not have built this hotel so close to a crack-house. If you do stay here avoid the food at the restaurant, its horrible and park as close to the entrance as possible!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I completely understand that you are upset about your vehicle being stolen out of the parking lot, as am I. I want nothing more than for our guests to feel safe. The property next door, which has no affiliation with the Holiday Inn, has not created any safety issues in the past. This evidence can be seen by reading our other reviews. We work closely with the Police Department who patrols our property often for an increased feeling of safety and security for our already safe hotel. In addition to this I worked with the investigator that was taking care of your case and assisted him in any way that I could. I was also informed by the police that your vehicle was recovered the following day with none of your personal belongings missing. I know that you feel we should compensate you for your vehicle being stolen; however, we are unable to be held responsible for our guest's vehicles or their vehicles belongings. This is common practice for all hotels with free parking for guests, as we have stated clearly on signage in the parking lot. Unfortunately, your memory of your stay here hinges on a crime that we did not commit.

I am sorry that you had to go through this incident during your stay here. If you decide to come back to our hotel please feel free to contact me in advance to ensure your stay is pleasant.

Thank you for your feedback,

Marcus Munse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall was not bad, but nothing overly exciting. It's a clean enough spot to stop when traveling if you're tired, which was our main reason. We stopped in off the highway, which was very convenient and got a room. My husband and I chose to go with the double queen for the rate they were asking. However soon found we should have opted for the king. The queen has no fridge or microwave.

The room was just ok other than that.

My biggest complaint was no free breakfast. Reward member or not. There's a sports bar grill restaurant attached to the hotel, so I guess that's their reasoning for that.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alstwn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear alstwn2,

We appreciate you sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance
to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and could not have had a better experience. Jonathan provided my family with a quick and easy check-in. He was efficient and very hospitable throughout the entire stay. Our rooms were spacious and spotless. You could tell once you entered the room that both housekeeping and maintenance take pride it their jobs. The rooms were in pristine condition and looked very new. We ate down at the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and were impressed with the food as well as the service. The location of the hotel was a perfect distance from the airport and downtown attractions.

My only critique is that you invest in jumper cables for your property. Our car battery died and we finally found an individual in the restaurant who had a pair of cables. Other than that it was a wonderful stay!!! Thank you Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed one night while in town for business. The hotel and room were very nice - clean and everything was in excellent condition. The design and decorations were very tasteful and the building is Leed certified. I would definitely stay here again.

The associated restaurant was not that great but it's nice that there is at least an option. Complimentary breakfast would make this hotel even better.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We loved our overnight stay here. It is a green property. There was NO smell from the towels in the room. They were just clean without those stinky chemicals. We had a king bed. The room was very large and beautiful bathroom with extra space with the curved shower curtain. Bed lines were white-can't hide too much staining on them! The lobby is big, with business center and coffee machine in it. No hot water for tea:(. We were not told about free breakfast. There was a sports restauant attached, but they said nothing about that. We walked a few feet outside to a waffle house. There is also a McDonald's. This area has many hotels-medical center there, but two of the hotels are $35 a night. Too much for what they look like on the outside! The Holiday Inn property was well lit and felt safe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griffpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I rolled the dice and 'named my price' on Priceline. I was very happy with this Holiday Inn. It is new, clean, and well appointed throughout the lobby and room. We had a King room (not a suite) and it was nice and large. It is very convenient to the zoo which we were going to the next day. The staff and the hotel and the attached restaurant were all very friendly. Overall, if in the area again I would definitely stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didiwest69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Upon check they had an issue with my confirmed reservation yet the assistant manager Jonathan Hughes was very disrespectful and unhelpful. Had to call corporate in order to get this resolved. Unnecessary .. Will never stay here again..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Art J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear Art J,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received during your stay. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Columbia
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Lexington
1.8 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia Airport
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn West Columbia
Quality Inn West Columbia
#5 of 11 in West Columbia
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport

Address: 110 McSwain Dr, West Columbia, SC 29169-4804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > West Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Price Range: £81 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia-Airport, one of our top priorities is ensuring a cleaner, healthier environment for our guests, employees and future generations by implementing environmentally responsible practices in every aspect of our hotel, from the original design to the day-to-day operations.Opened on Earth Day, April 22, 2010, our property is South Carolina's 1st full-service eco-friendly hotel. The property achieved Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification in 2012 and was titled Best Of South Carolina. Our green hotel located in Columbia, SC is not only safer and more healthy for guests and employees, but also for our community. The 122 room hotel has incorporated features that include a state-of-the-art ventilation system to improve air quality, energy recovery technology to temper outside air, rain water harvesting, tank-less hot water heaters, use of low emitting volatile organic compound (VOC) paint, adhesives., carpet, high efficiency fixtures and traction elevators designed for high energy efficiency. Owned by Capital Hospitality, LLC. and operated by Courtesy Management Inc. of Orangeburg, Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia-Airport looks to meet the increasing demands of guests who appreciate an environmentally focused design as well as high level of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Columbia - Airport
Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport Hotel West Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing