We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced for the condition of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Over priced for the condition of the hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We just returned from attending a conference in West Columbia and were a bit disappointed with the Hampton Inn. We stay with Hampton whenever we can and are usually very pleased. First of all the room was so very small and was crammed full of furniture. The bathroom was also tiny. My husband and I had to walk sideways to pass each other in the room and we are not large people. The ceiling of the room had some mold --- evidently from a past leak. The bed was very comfortable.

The staff was most helpful and friendly both at the front desk and at the breakfast bar --- however, the breakfast area was not as clean as one would like. The containers for the silverware were quite dirty and could definitely have used a good cleaning.

Just not quite up to Hampton Inn standards and considerably overpriced.

  • Liked — Confortable bed and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Very small room and lack of attention to cleanliness.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Baley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
We are pleased to report that our property underwent a full renovation in 2010! Our guest rooms were completely gutted and the furniture in the rooms has been replaced with smaller, space-saving pieces. Also, our breakfast area has been renovated into a beautiful dining area with plenty of seating, light, and a large buffet area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    151
    111
    55
    29
See reviews for
177
116
44
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in July. The place looks ok on the outside, but pretty old on the inside. The first room we got had problems with the A/C, so they finally moved us after taking about 2 hours to determine it is indeed broken. The second room we got overlooked the pool area, so it was pretty noisy in the evening with a horde of kids screaming and playing in the pool. Housekeeping isn't too efficient, I found hair on the bathroom floor in the first room we were given. In the second room, I found some wadded up trash behind the desk. However, the staff were polite and nice, and the breakfast was very good. There were hot biscuits, eggs, sausage plus the usual cereal and pastries.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntigntown
Level Contributor
154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

This hotel caters to business people because it is located near the airport. You will often see flight crews there for breakfast. It is an older Hampton with interior halls and is very well kept. We have stayed on all three floors in king bed rooms. The seem a little small but they are nice. The best part of the hotel is the outstanding front desk staff and the breakfast hostess. I have never been to a Hampton that had more variety for breakfast. I would stay here every time I am in Columbia.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank Jerry-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatricepugzilla
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

Great staff really made you feel welcomed.
Had to stay in a smoking room becuase the hotel was sold out. Front desk staff said that the room was booked smoking - this was not true since I had a confirmation number with non smking noted on my travel plans but what can you do?
the room was very nice just a little stinky.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beatricepugzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 January 2006

I have stayed at two five-star hotels recently, and they weren't as nice as this property! The rooms are sparkling clean, the employees are friendly and accomodating, and the continental breakfast is very good. The breakfast has a wide array of hot and cold selections, as well as healthy and naughty foods. I would stay here again anytime. Oh, and lastly, the area is safe.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2005

We stayed here for two nights while visiting a sick relative at the nearby Lexington Medical Center -- the hospital rate was terrific -- $59/night -- and the room was a great value. The room had a little wear on it, most obviously in the bathroom where the tub had lost a little finish here and there -- but overall it was a very comfortable, hospitable place.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwilliamaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2005

As a Hilton elite, I was surprised to be given an incredibly small room.
There is no "business center" at all of any sort -- there is high speed access throughout the building.
Breakfast was OK.
Staff are professional and efficient.
I'd recommend it for a place to stay for a night near the airport.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Columbia
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
1.9 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia Airport
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#21 of 94 in Columbia
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
Address: 1094 Chris Cir, West Columbia, SC 29169-4722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > West Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make a smooth landing into southern hospitality when you stay at the Hampton Inn Columbia Airport! Our beautiful 120 room property has been recently renovated, and is conveniently located near many area attractions. We are just minutes from the Columbia Airport, Downtown Columbia, Riverbanks Zoo & Gardens, shopping, restaurants, and more! Whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Hampton Inn Columbia Airport is your one stop spot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia Airport Hotel West Columbia
Hampton Inn West Columbia
West Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing