We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in West Columbia
Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

It's an older Hampton, which has been rehabbed with mixed results. Rooms are still small. And there is no breakfast host. No plain bagels, either, for two days, which I always suspect is an economy measure: Nobody eats the raisin ones either! The staff were very friendly, with one glaring exception. He was friendly except to anyone who complained about anything, however politely! Then he turned into Basil Fawlty.
I was waiting to check in when he complained openly to a coworker about a guest having complained about her shower. I am sure she was a pain, but hr needs to vent in the back office. When I asked him to look at some broken gym equipment., he said "Well, it was working yesterday." I'm not sure if he was having a bad day, doesn't care to deal with women customers, or what. He is probably a nice guy. But a successful career at Hampton requires a great degree of self-discipline.
One final word: The neighborhood is seedy. Not dangerous. Not lacking in services (except good restaurants). And there is a new Holiday Inn across the street. But it is kind of sad and depressing, a reminder that Columbia's renaissance is limited to downtown.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaSerendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    142
    106
    50
    26
See reviews for
158
110
42
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
236 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

On business and the admin booked the room for 3 nights. The staff was excellent. Jasmine at the counter was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and cleaned to expectations every night. The hall moldings and some of the doors were banged up and could use replacement. Just gives a run down feel.
Location right off highway was convenient but area had seen better times. The breakfast was hot and tasted good.
The

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin7088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

West Columbia/Airport Hampton has been my home-away-from home for the last 2+ years. The entire staff have made me welcome and become friends and family. During the recent ice storms, they went above-and-beyond to keep us fed (nothing open!), warm, safe and dry. When I arrive, I am welcomed by name, with big smiles and with no extreme efficiency. All of the staff make you feel welcome. If you ask for anything, you get it quick and with a smile. This is not an average hotel -- it's one of the BEST!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie du Sac, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Jasmine at front desk was very helpful and informative. Free Shuttle (Taxi) from airport and to and from dinner. A little older facility but very clean and quiet. Pool is outside only. Breakfast was standard Hampton Inn Fare but was hot and well supplied. Restaurants are located a few blocks away and a prompt shuttle was furnished by the Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

From the time I arrived to the time I left I could not have asked for anything. The front desk staff was very nice and friendly. The room was clean and very spaceous. There were many choices on the on the complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning. Overall a great experience and I will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Michaels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This Hampton is priced well and is an excellent value for anyone traveling to Columbia, SC. It is located well next to the airport making it convenient for flights in for football games. I will come back and stay again at this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, FL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stopped at the hotel across the street because it was recommended and a new facility. They were full and recommended we stay at Hampton. I would definately stay at the Hampton the next time we are in Columbia, SC instead of the new place. It was so nice and the staff couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paulette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Columbia
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia Airport
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
Address: 1094 Chris Drive, West Columbia, SC 29169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > West Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in West Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make a smooth landing into southern hospitality when you stay at the Hampton Inn Columbia Airport! Our beautiful 120 room property has been recently renovated, and is conveniently located near many area attractions. We are just minutes from the Columbia Airport, Downtown Columbia, Riverbanks Zoo & Gardens, shopping, restaurants, and more! Whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Hampton Inn Columbia Airport is your one stop spot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia Airport Hotel West Columbia
Hampton Inn West Columbia
West Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing