We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilly in Westminster”
Review of Magnolia Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Westminster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location for a B&B. Not far from Clemson University, Lake Keowee, and Lake Hartwell. Would work well for business or pleasure. Rooms are large and clean. Parking can be tricky even though the town is similar to Mayberry USA.

I had a beautiful room but was hoping for a warmer evening. I hoped the fireplace worked but alas it did not, not even as a gas insert. Perhaps in other rooms. Breakfast was a simple continental breakfast which was plenty and the coffee was great.

The hosts best of all were awesome. Super helpful and nice. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dkalloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

We came to Magnolia Manor for a weekend getaway and were very satisfied. The old house and grounds are beautiful and our room was charming. We enjoyed the fireplace, small jacuzzi, and king canopy bed! Our hosts were the best part - they had a lot going on this weekend, but were very accommodating and friendly - made us feel right at home! Simple continental breakfast, but we were well pleased. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grabert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The house and grounds were very nice. There was a mixup and we were not given the room that we reserved. We wanted a private getaway - but were given the room right by the dining area. And, the breakfast was most disappointing. :-(
Other B&Bs we've stayed at had nice fresh cooked breakfasts. Here there was only bagels, muffins, bread (all appeared store bought) and yoplait!
I think next time we'll pay about 1/2 the price and find a nice hotel :-(

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andiellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Although I would never misconstrue Westminster, SC a destination area, anyone looking to stay near Clemson/Lake Keowee area should consider staying at the Magnolia Manor Inn. The manor is beautiful from its exterior, and we could see why many choose to use their grounds for their weddings. The surrounding area also made for a peaceful, scenic morning run.

The owners were very gracious, and flexible to our needs. Communication was excellent before, during, and after our stay. Wine glasses and a cork screw were made available to us for our convenience. Although the morning breakfast was limited, it was still nice to have access to their Kuerig coffee maker.

The room itself was beautiful, and just what we wanted. Comfortable, clean bedding. Access to a small balcony for our morning coffee. We did not use the jacuzzi tub in the room, in favor of using the shower in the vacant, adjacent room. We agree with the previous comment that any other water use in the house results in dramatic temperature change! There were places that the wallpaper was pealing, but that did not interfere with our enjoyable stay.

Local dining options are VERY limited. We made the short drive to Lake Hartwell's marina, and did not feel inconvenienced at all.

Room Tip: Since we were the only guests the night we stayed, we took a peak at the other rooms. They were all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Magnolia Manor. The owners were friendly and accomodating since we got there very late. The newly refurbished Dogwood Room was beautiful.

The only negative that I could think of was that while taking a shower, you could tell when others turned on their water by the temperature change.

The breakfast was great and we enjoyed the company of the other travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelingPaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2007

My husband and I have stayed at many B & B's throughout the U.S. and I have to say that this was the BEST! Not only is Magnolia Manor beautiful, inviting and luxurious but the price was right too. Also, it's located in a quaint little southern town...so charming!!! Our hosts, Ilene and Steve Sendy were the best and catered to our every whim. They were also very knowledgable about the area and told us of all the great attractions nearby and how to get there. The food, service and overall quality of this B & B was OUTSTANDING! I would highly recommend it!!! Five Stars! *****

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vonni66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2006

Magnolia Manor is a beautiful and beautifully furnished old home. However, the owners seem to have been in the business too long. We were checked in by Mr. Sendy who talked to us long enough to run our credit card. There was another gentelman staying at the b&b, and he arrived at 6:30 to check in (between 3-7 as specified by them), and they were out to dinner when he arrived. They did leave a note stating they would be back at 8pm. I found this to be very inconsiderate. What if he had somewhere to be? There is close to zero interaction with the guests. Breakfast was adequate, enough to eat but not great food by any means. The jacuzzi tub in the magnolia suite is barely big enough to hold a 160 lb. man, so don't think you'll have a romantic bath for two. We were unable to say good-bye to our hosts because they were locked in the kitchen. Beautiful house but not worth the money or time.

JJ

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank froghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Magnolia Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Manor

Address: 207 Westminster Hwy, Westminster, SC 29693-1429
Region: United States > South Carolina > Westminster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westminster
Price Range: £61 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing