We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's a given every summer”

Lake Wateree State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Winnsboro
Attraction details
Heath Springs, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“it's a given every summer”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

for the money you can not beat Lake Wateree State Park. All of the campsites are concrete & very close to bath houses. It is always clean & family friendly. Great access to boat ramp for fishing while camping also.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An excellent place to get back to nature”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The camp ground was perfect for our two day getaway. Lake front sites with asphalt pads, clean bathhouses with liquid hand soap and an electric hand dryer, and a friendly, helpful staff. They have a nice camp store and an easy walking trail. We brought our bicycles and biked all over the park, and we launched our kayaks right off our campsite. While on the lake we got some great photos of a bald eagle! We were in site #7 but will stay in #17 next time because we liked the view of the lake from the higher ground. They have a cute playground for youngsters (which we don't have) and a lot of good fishing spots throughout the camp area. Every one of the campers we spoke with were repeat visitors.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank grave_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to camp in SC”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We love Lake Wateree State Park! It is our favorite place to camp. We camp here several times a year. The camping area is well kept and has clean bath houses. All sites have paved pads (but have adjacent areas for tenters to use), a fire ring, & picnic table. Sites are shady and clean. There’s a nice walking trail, play area for the kids, an area for day users with picnic tables and a wonderful little store with very welcoming staff. Boat ramps are available for you to launch your boat whether you are camping or a day user. You can also purchase gas for your boat there. The state park is on an island and the drive in is lovely. We really enjoy visiting Lake Wateree State Park. Can’t wait to go back!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kish_29730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not much to do unless you want to camp and fish”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This state park is off the beaten road which helps you truely forget about everything else going on in the world. I have heard a lot of good reviews about camping and there are always people camping alongside the river in their campers, rv's, and pop up tents. The park lacks trails, information and history on the area, and good swimming areas. There is a small bait and tackle shop on site which has drinks, food, bug repelant, bait, and a park ranger to answer all your quetions. Final verdict, stop by if your in the area but do not make a special trip for this state park.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank palmettogirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Trail, NC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful,quiet and relaxing park”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I have camped here twice and plan to go again very soon. I camped here with friends i had site 59 and the site was large with a fire pit and a picnic table. The site was paved and level also had water and power. Actually all of the sites are similar to the one i was in. Next time i want to get a water front site! The park has Nice bathhouses and it's pretty quit. I sat, relaxed and ate. The lake is very nice and it don't seem crowded like other places I've been

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Wateree State Park also viewed

Been to Lake Wateree State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing