We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So refreshing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Sheldon Church Ruins

Old Sheldon Church Ruins
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Yemassee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“So refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Low country South Carolina history does not get any better than Old Sheldon church, just outside Beaufort, South Carolina. We have visited this site of the old church numerous times and it never grows "old". The site is just off I-95(about 10 miles) and such a neat historical site. It is so peaceful and the history is so compelling, you can't help but leave renewed. On a long trip down I-95, this is just the ticket for a quick stop to break the monotony.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldwingtriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    80
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Haunting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

These beautiful ruins from Revolutionary war era are amazing. Peaceful surroundings, and rife with history, this is a perfect place to just be quiet and take in the scenery and silence.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quiet break and leg stretch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Well preserved ruins going back to pre-Revolution...which in this country is old. Unique brick columns rubbed round by slave workers. Very old graves. And authentic well water pump for anyone who is thirsty.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Beautiful ruins of church as well as crypts from the 1700s. Great place for not only a history buff but also for anyone interested in photography. The wildlife around the church makes for some of the best photos you'll take. Bring your bug spray though, as the area is dense with no-see-ums, mosquitos, etc. Don't let biting bugs ruin this adventure.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrsbz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking but don't forget to bring bug spray”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We made a day trip from Savannah to Charleston and stop to visit this seemingly little known attraction. We found it easy to find following the gps but there should be more signs along the road to give this beautiful place more exposure. It's only a 5 mins drive off US 17, but make sure you don't miss the turn as there is no warning. The place is unsupervised and free to visit. We got there early in the morning, before 10am and there were nobody there but us. Kind of worrisome for us because it locates in the woods in the middle of no where so we were extremely wary of the surrounding. But that did not take away from the beauty of the site. Very quiet and peaceful, almost majestic.
Now I saw around the Internet people's asking if the place is hunted. We brought our little doggie with us and he is usually quiet and super friendly. As soon as we got to the site, he started barking at one corner of the site, with signs of aggression we never saw in our dog before, we could see some scattered graves there but nobody. That totally creeped us out. We tried to pull him to another side and distracted him then he stops but once in a while would turn that direction and growled lowly.

Overall we love this place and so glad we made the stop. I became a feast for mosquitoes, which is normal considering they always attracted to me and we are in the woods, but if you bring bug spray, it should be fine. :)

Helpful?
2 Thank BBOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Sheldon Church Ruins also viewed

 

Been to Old Sheldon Church Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing