We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location, great food, friendly hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wakpamni B&B

Wakpamni B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Batesland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wakpamni B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Batesland B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal location, great food, friendly hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My college-age son and I stayed in the Heritage Room in the Folks' House because it had twin beds - perfect for us. Loved the location. Since my son was interested in learning about Pine Ridge Reservation, this was a wonderful place to stay. The hosts even arranged for us (by request) a tour with a local Lakota Indian guide - a once-in-a-lifetime experience! Breakfast was scrumptious both mornings and I enjoyed talking with other guests, especially since most were in town for the powwow and interested in Native American culture, too. Price was reasonable. Comfortable surroundings. Gorgeous, quiet evenings! And we thoroughly enjoyed talking with LORI, the adult daughter of the hosts who shared with us her perspective on growing up on an Indian reservation. I'd definitely come back!!! (even just for the conversation and peaceful surroundings)

Room Tip: Wi-Fi available in house, but better reception on patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktruden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I'm actually not from South Dakota....in fact, I'd never been there before but when I arrived at Wakpamni ...it felt like coming home. Betty, the owner, greeted us when we arrived and showed us around the house we were to stay in. The house we stayed in has been in the family for generations and it afforded all the charm and warmth of staying at Grandma's house and I say that in the most positive way. We came to visit the Pine Ridge reservation and were delighted to find Wakpamni to stay in nearby. Betty and her husband Larry have a relationship with a wonderful Indian guide by the name of Joe. We were able to spend a whole day with Joe as we toured the reservation. I Highly recommend reserving Joe for your stay if you plan to visit the reservation....we gained insights that we would not have gained if we explored on our own. I have to say the highlight of a stay at Wakpamni is the breakfast. Betty and her daughter set a beautiful table out in their garden and presented us with gourmet breakbasts both mornings.....Laurie's hollendaise is among the best I've tasted! Larry, Betty's husband, was a charming host at breakfast and we learned more about the history of this area of the country. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Wakpamni!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ImTLC4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Wakpamni is not the most luxurious B&B in the world, but it is quite charming, and if you're interested in staying on or near Pine Ridge, it is a best bet. The rooms are in the original house from way back when, and are perfectly functional. The common areas are also solid, and the living room is decorated and accessorized with items with local color.
The best of Wakpamni is its host, Betty. We were happily surprised to learn that Betty is a gourmet cook, and produced breakfasts as good as a fine NYC hotel. Superb breakfast! Betty, Larry and Laura were all interesting, interested and quite fun to chat with. This is a nice place with very nice hosts. I'll definitely stay here when I return to Pine Ridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JECEsq.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our group of friends were volunteering on the Pine Ridge reservation for the week and decided to stay a few extra days to go to the pow wow and parade. With limited lodging options on the rez, we choose Wakpamni B and B and made a reservation for 4 in early May. We asked for 2 rooms, close to one another, one with a queen and the other with 2 twins. We confirmed our reservations several times leading up to our trip. When we got to Wakpamni, the hostess, Betty, informed us that the beds weren't made and that the rooms were being switched around to accommodate a couple that were supposed to be staying in the tipi but the tipi hadn't been set up yet. This meant 2 people in our party were to be displaced from the room with the twin beds in the cottage that we had reserved and put in separate rooms in the basement of the main house. We were shown the basement which was dark, dank, smelled of cats and mold. Needless to say, we were not happy and expressed our displeasure to the host's daughter who seemed empathic. We then left to go to the pow wow before the room disagreement was fully resolved. When we returned from the pow wow, the room question had been decided for us and our friend's belongings had been moved to the rooms in the basement. During the night, there was a tremendous lightning/rain/hail storm and our friend's rooms were flooded. We are not talking about a bit of water. There were big puddles that were 1/2" deep in places. Things went downhill from there. Our friends were then charged for 2 separate rooms rather than the price quoted for the one room which we had reserved in May and there was no discount for the flooding, cat smell, etc. There seemed to be some sort of ongoing strained relationship between the hostess and her daughter that was not hidden from guests which made for some uncomfortable moments. We also were not reminded to take an alternative road when leaving and almost got stuck in ankle high mud while driving out the dirt road to Pine Ridge. The guests from Holland who left the B and B right before us did get stuck in the mud and had to be towed out. On the positive side, the setting is absolutely beautiful with prairie all around. The rooms in the original cottage are lovely with a wonderful, cozy living room and well equipped kitchen. There were many interesting books to peruse and antiques from the pioneer days. The bedroom and bathroom in the original cottage were clean and well appointed with country style quilts and antiques. The breakfast was served a bit on the late side (8:30am) but was absolutely delicious and served in the spacious, lovely dining room in the main house with other guests from Holland and Japan. Betty and Laurie go all out with the breakfast which included a fresh fruit salad, delicious coffee and an incredible French toast strata. As with many B and Bs, the host joined us for breakfast. Unfortunately, he had a tendency to dominate the conversation with little room for the natural give/take of most social conversations and it was an effort to engage other guests in conversation. With limited lodging options on Pine Ridge, Wakpamni is a nice place to stay however, be clear with the hosts about your room preference when making a reservation (staying in a tipi with a queen bed is an fun option) and take the alternative dirt road if there is inclement weather to avoid having your vehicle stuck in the mud. We would stay there again despite some of the shortfalls.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyful2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The positives: the beds were very comfortable, the rooms clean, hot water for the shower seemed ample and the breakfast was delicious.
The negatives:
1. There was 4 people in our party, a couple and 2 singles. We made reservations for 2 rooms in the guest house (separate from the main house) months before our stay, one room having 1 queen and the other room having 2 twins; each room was apx. $80. When we call to confirm our late arrival the day we were to arrive we were told that there was a change in our reservation, that the 2 singles would be staying in the main house because another couple had requested a tipi stay but that the tipi had not been set up. The room with 2 twin beds would be used by the couple wanting the tipi and the 2 singles in our party would stay in the main house. Unfortunately, our party confirm that there would be no change to cost because of this switch. It turned out that the 2 singles were put in separate rooms and we were VERY rudely awakened with the cost of $75 EACH! An insufficient and angry retort was given when we objected to the price by pointing out that there should have been no additional cost to us since the switch was made at their behest, not ours.
2. The rooms in the main house are in the basement. We were hit with the smell of cat pee upon entering the basement, although the sleeping rooms themselves did not smell when the doors were closed.
3. The rooms in the basement flood when there is a rain storm. My advice, don't leave anything on the floor in the event of a rain storm.
4. You are joined at breakfast by the man of the house. Generally, I welcome the thought of eating with the proprietors; except, in this case, this gentleman overwhelmed the conversation by talking without ceasing.
5. There are 2 roads to the BnB, both dirt, an older road and a newer road. When there is a rain storm, it is better to go to-and-from using the new road which is graded with elevation so the rain runs off without adversely affecting the road. Had the proprietors mentioned this to us as we left, we would not have nearly gotten stuck, as did the guest that left before us, in one of the several virtual ponds and streams that formed on the old road because of the storm.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay after my complaints, my advice is to be very clear about your reservations, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

We have been staying at this B&B for years. The owners are pleasant outgoing knowledgable individuals. The location is beautiful. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is out of this world. Betty goes all out. Conversations with Larry what we look forward to year after year. Close by to powwow events and the sunsets are unmatched.

Best place to stay on the reservation. Don't pass it up. Also check out the onsite store with items made by the local people.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing - All Good
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank leeleesnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

Have to say at first we were concerned because things seemed a little unkempt but the guest house was very nice, clean, and the antiques are beautiful.Breakfast was good, too but the best thing was, we were the only Americans there...there was a family from France, one from Italy, a couple from Sweden, a single woman from Austria, a single man from Germany. All were extremely interested in the American West, specifically native culture and it was fun to exchange viewpoints and knowledge and hear how others around the world view Americans. It is an isolated place which is just what we wanted. Never have I seen so many stars! Price was good and we would recommend it.

  • Liked — Meeting the other guests
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maddiescout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wakpamni B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakpamni B&B

Property: Wakpamni B&B
Address: Box 43 HC 64, Batesland, SD 57716-8717
Region: United States > South Dakota > Batesland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Batesland
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing