We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfy, especially for the price”
Review of Sunset Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belle Fourche
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Belle Fourche
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I spent 4 nights at this hotel recently. It's a mom and pop operation, and their care shows in how the rooms are kept clean. The rooms have very nice Western touches (like toilet paper holders which look like they're made from horseshoes), and are very affordable. One caveat: be sure the bathtub mat is solidly in place - if it won't sit in one place, you're safer showering without it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caldodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunset57717, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for the nice review! We want to make your stay as comfortable and safe for a great price. We put are personal touches to each room like the horseshoe toilet paper holder, which my husband made for the room and glad you enjoyed them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Yes , this was our 7th year and this time we stayed 3 nights . We have come every year on a motorcycle . We are treated as family . We have been gone 8 hours and miss the place already . The warm cool evenings are amazing . If you want you can sit outside and visit or just have your own private space .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunset57717, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you, we always enjoy seeing our guests that visit us from year to year. We become friends and they become part of the Sunset Motel family. As my sign says in the office ENTER AS STRANGERS, LEAVE AS FRIENDS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

It's heart warming to stay in a real motel run by a cute couple, Rob and Patti. Real silky sheets, real towels, candy in the room, toothpaste packets if you forgot, a burro/mule to visit, a sweet little old dachshund at the front desk... what more could you ask for? The rooms were super clean!!! I didn't want to leave. Great price too.

Room Tip: Go to the Sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunset57717, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your review! We don't think of our motel as being a motel, it is part of our home and we want our guests to feel right at home,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This older motel is a great place to stay because of the following reasons: owners are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, and the price is reasonable. Not fancy, but quiet and feeling of home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunset57717, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for the very nice review. It lets us know that we are doing our job, we strive to make every guest feel as comfortable as you can when your away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Your hosts Patty and Rob are the owners and take great pride in their motel. Sparkling clean, well decorated with extra nice little touches, that provide a homey feeling. A place to sit outside and enjoy the evening or converse. Motif is true western. This is a non-pet friendly establishment which is greatly appreciated. We stayed two days and enjoyed every moment and if in the area would stay no where else. Price is very reasonable and when you have been traveling for several weeks it is a comfortable and welcoming place for your visit in that area of South Dakota. An easy drive to Sturgis, Deadwood, Devil's Tower, etc. This place is a part of the true experience when traveling the highways of America. It will linger for a long time in our memories as a place we loved.Oh and we shared our love of orange Camaros with the owners.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Home-By9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My family and I stayed at the Sunset Motel in Belle Fourche SD for three days in June and it was a very pleasant stay. The rooms were exceptionally clean and it was very homey. If you are looking for fancy this is not for you, but if you are looking for a very clean reasonably priced motel, you can't go wrong with the Sunset. The motel is close to the road so you do get some road noise, but that is the case in all motels when they are right off the road. The rooms are cosy and you are close to Spearfish Canyon and Deadwood. Patty has donkeys and they are very friendly and cute. I will definitely be reserving rooms again for my next trip out to the Dakotas.

Room Tip: They have theme rooms, so ask if you have a preference. We had both a harley room and cowboy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This motel is the cleanest motel I've ever been in. It is so homey and decorated so cute. The price is fantastic and the owners are wonderful!! I was impressed with the colored towels that made me feel like I was at home instead of traveling. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belle Fourche hotels
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Belle Fourche
1.3 mi away
Kings Inn
Kings Inn
#5 of 7 in Belle Fourche
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Belle Fourche SD
Super 8 Belle Fourche SD
#6 of 7 in Belle Fourche
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 7 in Belle Fourche
102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wyatt's Hideaway Campground
Wyatt's Hideaway Campground
#1 of 2 in Belle Fourche
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 19022 US Highway 85, Belle Fourche, SD 57717-3110
Region: United States > South Dakota > Belle Fourche
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Belle Fourche
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small motel with a western flair. Our rooms are cozy, very clean with a at home feel. Our rooms are themed with Cowboy, Harley, Buffalo, hunting lodge, and fishing lodge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing