We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Center of the Nation Monument

Center of the Nation Monument
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The monument behind the visitor center is open 24/7. It is in a park setting and always available for viewing and photos. The Center of the Nation Visitor Center's winter hours are 10am to 4pm Tuesday through Saturday.
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

A great leg stretching place in a pretty spot with some fun local history thrown in for good measure!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    55
    32
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Lovely Visitor Center Staff, Interesting Geographic Site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you're in the area, this is a very enjoyable place to stop. There is the Center of the Nation structure, a delightful museum, a 19th century restored log cabin and the visitors' center as well, all which are looked after extremely well. While the geographic center of the USA is actually around 20 miles away, in a field, the marker has been placed in the nearest town. They provide a brochure explaining how to get to the actual geographical center, if you just HAVE to get there. While it was slightly disappointing that it wasn't the exact spot, we decided that seeing the monument was good enough for us.

I want to thank the ladies at the visitors' center for helping me to locate a hairdresser, for an immediate appointment, as we were about to leave the town. It was fun talking to them all. Two of them rang hairdressers for me & I ended up going to the next door neighbor of one of the ladies & was very satisfied with the result. Thanks again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Virginia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice, Informative Visitor's Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

In downtown Belle Fourche, this Center features a large 16-point compass set in the ground, surrounded by flags of the 50 U.S. states. While highlighting the geographical (using each state's weighted center) center of the United States, the Visitor's Center is nearly 20 miles south of the calculated center of our country. The museum and Center staff are extremely friendly and helpful, especially with school-age children. As a purist, I drove with my reluctant wife to view the calculated geographical center of the U.S. The only difficulty, for those of us not used to the dirt-and-gravel roads of the midwest, was that the final 8.5 miles to the U.S. Flag marking the actual center in a farmer's field, are on a dirt road. Your car will need to be run through a car wash if you take this additional trip. It all depends on whether or not you are a purist for the calculated geographical center of our country, or if visiting the Visitor's Center in Belle Fourche is good enough for you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DanGalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
223 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I stopped here while on my motorcycle to wait out a passing thunderstorm. The staff was gracious enough to let me sit it out and wander about. It's kind of interesting, but what I found out was that Belle Forche was the site of the largest earthen dam in the world at one time. It's good for a quick stop and a picture.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Capnnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
155 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Neat stop if in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I wouldn't go out of my way to visit here, but if you are traveling between Devil's Tower and Mount Rushmore, it is a neat stop. It is a marker indicating the center of the nation, including Alaska and Hawaii. The marker is impressive and the area is surrounded by flags of each state. The visitor's center was closed as we arrived just after 5:00. Overall, it's pretty cool to say we've been to the center of the nation (even though the actually point is somewhere in somebody's nearby field).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Quest50States
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Center of the Nation Monument also viewed

 

Been to Center of the Nation Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing