We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, convenient, quiet, good stay, but be aware...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice, convenient, quiet, good stay, but be aware...”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a very convenient location to SDSU and getting to campus if that is what brings you to Brookings. Even though it is close to the highway, either the windows are more sound proofed, or it is the orientation of the building not being directly parallel to the road that makes the difference. Everything was clean, updated, comfortable and well prepared with a nice welcome at the desk when I arrived with my coworker.

However, there are a few minor quirks, for example with the lighting in the room where EVERYTHING was controlled by the central switch so when you turned things on the desk, wall, two night stand AND the corner floor lamp came on. So if you turned the lights off, that also turned off the plug in the base of the lamps for charging phones or laptops and such. It was a bit annoying to have to go around and turn off all the lamp switches so the room wasn't so bright, but still be able to use the plugs. There also was no phone at the bed despite the fact there was an outlet. It wasn't such a big deal to resort to the cell phone, but doing international calling card stuff is easier on a land line without using cell minutes. The breakfast is good, typical for Fairfield Inns, though the seating area is somewhat limited for the size of hotel and number of rooms. For some it may be unpleasantly busy at certain times of the morning.

The other caution is that around 8am, the traffic in that immediate area is a bit crazy because there are a couple of electronics manufacturing plants right behind the hotel and down the road so the cars are STREAMING in and make turning left to the road, and then turning left to get on the main highway back into Brookings a little bit of a challenge.

Overall though this seems to be a well run place and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-here-there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    29
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
9
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Brookings, SD, overnight for business, and had a great experience. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms looked to be practically new, breakfast items selection was very good (they had bona fide Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage, egg & cheese muffins – yum), and room was quiet. Would recommend this hotel without question.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meyerlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
258 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed here just one night in April 2013. Arrived in city very early, around 9am, but managed to get checked-in, rather nice and positive suprise. On arrival internet not working, and after two interventions and router reset finally all was fine. Hotel is located just few meters from the highway, in a cluster of several hotels and next to restaurant. Room ok, clean, carpet was brand new. Staff very friendly. As walls and floors are paper thin, noise for other rooms can be a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

They have great service. I've stayed here many times over the years and never have found one thing to complain about. Great location and very friendly and happy staff. They also gave us a discount for a suite because it was our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A very clean and comfortable stay at the Fairfield Inn in Brookings. Clean and comfortable rooms, flat screen TV's, multiple channel selections. Check in was a breeze and the front desk staff was very polite and efficient! I am not afraid to reccomend this to anyone traveling for business or leisure. The pool and spa area are very nice. I didn't swim, but I did sit in the spa. It was clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdhockeytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I arrived in Brookings very late one night, and was able to find a room at the Fairfield Inn and Suites. The room was large, and very comfortable. The next morning was the standard continental breakfast, and the staff was nice and helpful. If I ever am back in Brookings, I will be sure to stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Not much of a view in any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BToad2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed in (suite) room 102. We wanted a room with a whirlpool after a long weekend. We were NOT dissapointed! The suite was huge!! Large livng area with couch, flat screen tv, micro, frige, sink. The bedroom area was behind. 2 large double doors, with beautiful beddings and a king size bed with the best hotel pillows I have ever had! And another flat scrren tv. The whirlpool was in a separate room with 2 overstuffed chairs, and a lamp for a dim lighting while enjoying the whirpool. The tub itself was comforatable with the headrest areas in just the right place to lean back very comfortably and relax! The timer on the wall wasnt working properly, so it didnt shut off, which was fine, because I didnt want to get out anyway!! The only thing i would suggest about the whirlpool would be to have a step leading to it, because it is a big step up and over to get in.
Breakfast was a little disapointing. We got there 15 minutes before they stopped serving, and the waffle batter was gone, so the only option for something warm was a microwave breakfast sandwich. I guess they had bagels too. So we had a light breakfast with pre-packaged fruit, yogurt, and a sandwich. Coffee was perfect!
Would I stay here again? You betcha! Would I recommend it to you? You betcha!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodajoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brookings hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brookings
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Brookings, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Brookings
Days Inn Brookings
#9 of 9 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Brookings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#8 of 9 in Brookings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings
Address: 3000 Lefevre Dr, Brookings, SD 57006-4700
Region: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites, Brookings offers a variety of suites and traditional rooms to include: Two Bedroom Suites, King Mini, King Studio, and luxurious Whirlpool Suites. All rooms offer alarm clock with MP3 hook-up, coffee and tea service, and spacious, well-lit work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Brookings Hotel Brookings
Fairfield Brookings
Brookings Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing