We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cottonwood Bistro

Cottonwood Bistro
Ranked #34 of 60 Restaurants in Brookings
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great coffee shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

A little bit of 'progressive' feel in a very conservative town. The bistro is a great place to meet and have coffee and some light meal. Their pizzas are pretty good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Feels like a coffe shop in the Big City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

They serve excellent coffee, strong, not the watered down kind. They had more than enough restaurants to choose from. I loved the Barbecue Restaurant down the street, best potato salad that I did not have to make. I love this town and the Days Inn.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank elisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
459 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good breakfast/sandwich cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We ate lunch and the sandwiches were very good. The service/kitchen got backed up, so it took a while. It was a little on the pricey side. It reminded me of a non-chain version of a coffee house that you could hang out for a while.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATL-travel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Simple and unadorned, they concentrate on the food and service.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank barbegrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Like most of my musings, my wife and son were in Brookings for a soccer tournament. Between the first and second games, we really needed to get a bite to eat, but goodness...think of a TON of youngsters and their families disbursing to eat about the same time in a city of 20,000 ("biggish" by South Dakota standards). Pizza Ranch, McDonalds, Arby's...they'd be loaded. We stopped at a Mexican grill "Qudoba" I think it was on 6th...but the line inside was already doubled back on itself. Just down the line in this mini-mall was a Quiznos, which I'll admit, I've never tried. Well, it turned out to be empty, (as in no tables, chairs or counters...) so it was either in its way in ... or out; we couldn't tell. I popped into "Choco Latte'" next door...sandwiches? Nope...now...the bakery next door to that...sandwiches? Nope, but..."there's a place down the road at 17th and 6th called "Cottenwood Bistro". Actually, it is at the far end of an outdoor mall, pretty much behind a car wash as I recall. You really DID need to be looking for it! This is a University town, (thus the "Choco-Latte'" coffee-shop) and an unknown number of like establishments. The "Bistro" is a collection of modestly sized matte-black tables and chairs with the obligatory free wi-fi. The menu was contained on three large tapastries on the wall behind the counter/pastrie display case. The selection included vegitarian and vegan-friendly fare! (My wife was thrilled). She had the crab pattie burger, (there's a special word for that type of "vegitarian" but it escapes me now. I had the "grass fed beef burger" and my son had a chicken wrap. A selection of other sandwiches, wraps and pinini's were also available. For any other South Dakota town, 7-10 dollars each for this, (with chips or roasted potatos [no fries...not good for you I suppose]) might seem high...but most decent sized places you wouldn't think twice...and given the fact these were DELISCIOUS...well, it brings the value for money up to par! I had bold coffee, (ground and roasted on premisis)...TERRIFFIC as well. The service? These must also have been hand-selected university students. Very nice, engaging and well spoken. I have to say, that desipite $43 for lunch, (included coffee, tea, coke and a smoothie and one chocolate colache (60% coacoa I can tell you)...we were back the next day WITH my sister too! Black bean burger, beef burger (the kid musta' been envious of my burge the day before), beef panini and "gourmet cheese panini", coffees and another mango smoothie. So, there you have it. I would review Zesto's (3 avalanch ice-creams thingies) but figure you probably already know how good those are! :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cottonwood Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Cottonwood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing