We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms and quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and the staff was friendly. There were several kids running around when we got there but I did not hear them while inside our room. The pool wasn't big but my kids loved the waterslide however there were several steps going up to the top of the slide that needed repair. The breakfast was good but they needed an additional person helping. The one person staffed had a difficult time keeping up so we had to wait for many items. The front desk staff during the evening was great. She was friendly, helpful and nice to talk to.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvhavinfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

Great breakfast and very comfy beds! Pool was kind of a disappointment because of its size and the lazy and unfriendly lifeguards, and the ladies room at the pool was an accident waiting to happen because of the wet, very slippery floor. Would stay again, however!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErrinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here for one night. The room was clean and nice as expected and the bed was very comfortable. The Wifi in the room worked good. The bathroom was clean, decent sized, had good lighting, and plenty of towels. Breakfast was good with a friendly attendant, constantly refilling and even wiping off tables. Overall, I have nothing negative to say. Great job Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmomma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is the way that all HIE's should be. The rooms were clean and modern. The staff from check-in, breakfast to checkout were genuinely caring.
The room was comfortable, spacious and extremely comfortable. A/C worked great. The bathroom shower had great water volume. Mattress and pillows were extra comfortable.
The breakfast had something that was edible for a change; in fact it was pretty darned good. This is so hard to say today, and it's not limited to budget hotels. I have seen horrible breakfasts at so called premium properties.
They had bacon, egg patties(I guess thats what you would call them-they were prefab but prepared well.), buscuits, breads, fruits, muffins, cereals and breakfast beverages. Like I said, it was prepared well and presented attractively and presentation is everything when dining.The attendant on duty was attentive and replaced items as they were used.
The hotel offered free Wi-FI and parking. There are some chain restaurants located within walking distance from the hotel and they also provide a sheet of area restaurants if you are so inclined to travel a few minutes for something better.
All in all, this is the best HIE I have ever encountered in all my travels and I have travelled a bit over the years. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spudpicker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Nice hotel, clean rooms, breakfast was good, staff was friendly and allowed us to check in early so we could enjoy the pool and waterslide. Gas station, Burger King and Applebees all withing walking distance of the hotel. Pool and waterslide are very nice, but beware that the waterslide hours are limited, esp on the week days. Make sure you try Cubby's Sports Bar on Main Street.....GREAT food!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SturgisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Highly recommend this hotel. Clean, nice staff, great waterslide, very nice continental breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mischiefmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

There are 3 hotels right across the street from each other in this area of Brookings--this hotel, the Fairfield, and Hampton Suites. I have stayed in all three. Physically, I find this hotel the most appealing. The lobby and breakfast area are bright and spacious. The rooms are modern and clean, and just a tad more luxurious than the more basic rooms at the other 2 hotels. There is free wi-fi, but it is slow. The plumbing is indeed noisy as someone else already mentioned, but not to the extent that it interfered with my sleep. The main problem with this hotel, as others have commented on, is the service. The staff do their jobs, but do not necessarily make you feel welcome. The front desk personnel are brusque (though not rude) and the housekeeping staff even more brusque. If you are not out of your room by 12 noon, it will not get cleaned. Bottom line--this is physically the best option in Brookings right now, but it is an impersonal chain hotel that could stand some improvement in terms of customer service. It would be nice to have a hotel in Brookings that better reflects the hospitality and warmth that midwesterners are famous for.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isabelmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdeinert, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

isabelmke,

Good afternoon and thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!

I would like to take this opportunity to personally thank you for your comments and your concerns. We at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Brookings, South Dakota are ever mindful there are a lot of lodging choices when visiting the Brookings area and are pleased you chose our Hotel. We are pleased to let you know our hotel has recently upgraded our Wi-Fi system and your next stay should be a lot more enjoyable.

As for the service issues, your comments are being used to reinforce to existing staff the expectation of customer service to our guests.

Thank you again, and Happy Holidays!
Rebecca Deinert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brookings hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brookings
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 9 in Brookings
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Brookings
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Brookings, SD
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#8 of 9 in Brookings
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Brookings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Address: 3020 Lefevre Dr, Brookings, SD 57006-4700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range: £78 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brookings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beautiful Brookings Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located right off Interstate 29 at exit 132. Brookings, SD offers a small town environment with a big city feel. Brookings is home to South Dakota State University, Daktronics, 3M, Larson Mfg and Rainbow Play Systems. While in the area visit these local attractions: Swiftel Center, Larson Ice Center, McCrory Gardens, S.D. Art Museum, State Agricultural Heritage Museum and Laura Ingalls Wilder home- 1 hour from Brookings. After a long day of traveling let us find the perfect room for you. Whether you are looking for a standard room, a whirlpool suite or a business room featuring an over-sized desk, free high-speed Internet and a king size bed, let our friendly and professional staff assist you in finding a clean and comfortable room that will best suit you and your family. Enjoy your favorite television programs on our new 32' LCD televisions with cable HD channels. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool or slide down our 137' water slide, or reserve one of our whirlpool rooms for that special occasion. Our water slide is only open Friday evenings, Saturdays and Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brookings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brookings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing