We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Orange City, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here for a hockey tournament in March and the best part of the stay was very friendly and accomodating staff. It had a convenient location right across the street from the rink. The beds were super comfy and the room was very clean. Nice breakfast selection and did well keeping up even though they were booked for the weekend.

The only negative things are the room size and pool staff. The room was very small compared with other Holiday Inns we have stayed in. They had two tables in there, not sure why and 4 chairs total. We had 4 of us and it was difficult to move around.

The pool staff was not friendly and seemed to be bothered by our presence. Lots of eyerolling and teenage attitude. The actual "pool" portion of the pool was very small and capacity was listed at 23 people.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessl331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Jessl331,

Thank you for advising us of your dissatisfaction towards our Pool staff service. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. I understand why you are disappointed, let me assure you that this is not our usual level of service. Our management has taken note of this and proper action has been taken to ensure that situations of this nature will not reoccur in the future. Again, thank you for all your valuable comments which help us identify areas of improvement. We hope to welcome you back to be able to demonstrate to you the true Holiday Inn service.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    24
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
9
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have a family member attending SDSU so we've stayed at this motel twice within the last year. I've been impressed with the cleanliness & spaciousness of the rooms. The front desk and breakfast area staff were very friendly and helpful. Our kids enjoyed the water slide one eve. Both times we've been there, the hot tub has been out of commission. Not sure what the problem was the first time. This time it was being redone. We were aware of this prior to our stay and were given the option to use the one at Super 8 next door. No one felt like walking over there in the winter temps though. I'm hoping the next time we stay it will be in working order. We love having Applebee's within walking distance too. I think this is the best option for a family to stay in Brookings. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJS1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Brookings while attending a conference at Daktronics. The hotel is literally right next door to Daktronics so that was very convenient. I've stayed in other nearby hotels but this will be my choice from now on. The hotel was very nice and the staff did a great job of meeting my needs. It's nice to see respectful young men and women, makes an old guy like me feel good!

Room Tip: Sign up for Priority Club Rewards
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dj8625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beresford, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Thr rooms were spacious and very clean. You could tell that this property was well taken care of and the staff genuinely cared about their jobs. It made the perfect end to a long day of driving. There is an Applebee's right across the street or other restaurants just a short drive away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Saint Louis, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and the staff was friendly. There were several kids running around when we got there but I did not hear them while inside our room. The pool wasn't big but my kids loved the waterslide however there were several steps going up to the top of the slide that needed repair. The breakfast was good but they needed an additional person helping. The one person staffed had a difficult time keeping up so we had to wait for many items. The front desk staff during the evening was great. She was friendly, helpful and nice to talk to.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvhavinfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castalia, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Great breakfast and very comfy beds! Pool was kind of a disappointment because of its size and the lazy and unfriendly lifeguards, and the ladies room at the pool was an accident waiting to happen because of the wet, very slippery floor. Would stay again, however!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErrinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD
Level Contributor
157 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here for one night. The room was clean and nice as expected and the bed was very comfortable. The Wifi in the room worked good. The bathroom was clean, decent sized, had good lighting, and plenty of towels. Breakfast was good with a friendly attendant, constantly refilling and even wiping off tables. Overall, I have nothing negative to say. Great job Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmomma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brookings hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brookings
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings
0.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Brookings, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Brookings
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Brookings
Days Inn Brookings
#8 of 9 in Brookings
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#7 of 9 in Brookings
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Brookings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Property: Holiday Inn Express Brookings
Address: 3020 Lefevre Dr, Brookings, SD 57006-4700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brookings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beautiful Brookings Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located right off Interstate 29 at exit 132. Brookings, SD offers a small town environment with a big city feel. Brookings is home to South Dakota State University, Daktronics, 3M, Larson Mfg and Rainbow Play Systems. While in the area visit these local attractions: Swiftel Center, Larson Ice Center, McCrory Gardens, S.D. Art Museum, State Agricultural Heritage Museum and Laura Ingalls Wilder home- 1 hour from Brookings. After a long day of traveling let us find the perfect room for you. Whether you are looking for a standard room, a whirlpool suite or a business room featuring an over-sized desk, free high-speed Internet and a king size bed, let our friendly and professional staff assist you in finding a clean and comfortable room that will best suit you and your family. Enjoy your favorite television programs on our new 32' LCD televisions with cable HD channels. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool or slide down our 137' water slide, or reserve one of our whirlpool rooms for that special occasion. Our water slide is only open Friday evenings, Saturdays and Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brookings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brookings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing