We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Indian restaurants in South Dakota” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flavor Indian Cuisine

Flavor Indian Cuisine
Ranked #32 of 60 Restaurants in Brookings
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian restaurants in South Dakota”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Only a few Indian restaurants in South Dakota and this is one of the best. The hostess/cook was very friendly and helpful. We had the Palak Paneer, Butter Chicken and Naan: all great. The naan was especially delicious. The restaurant shares space with an South Asian/Middle Eastern grocery store, while we waited for the food we were able to shop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DakotaWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, South Dakota
1 review
“Best food in Brookings, great every time!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We absolutely love this establishment - the grocery and the restaurant.

The grocery store is great because I can find so many specialty items that I would otherwise I have to buy online, and the prices are great!

The restaurant serves amazing food, you will fall in love with the aroma alone, and everything always tastes good!!! We frequent the restaurant and now that they have a buffet - it's awesome because you can have a bit of everything!

It is our favorite place to eat and we love the couple that owns it and she is an excellent chef! They are honest and hardworking and put customer service first, which is really nice.

If you haven't tried Indian food, now is your chance, you will be glad you did! I've taken friends there and they love it, never having tried it before.

Definitely our favorite place to eat in Brookings; we are so lucky to have an establishment like this right here!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“usually good - last time not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We've been at Flavor about three times, with great results at this "mom and pop" Indian restaurant. We went back on Saturday night however, and were very disappointed. The spinach chicken had little flavor as well as the chickpea curry, and neither had any heat. The nan tasted like reheated frozen man. The samosas were good. Maybe this was just an off night (I hope), since we were thrilled that Bookings had an Indian restaurant at all. We'll go once more, but if it's not better, we'll likely be making our curries and man at home.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScottyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
1 review
“Perfect Indian Food in USA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

It's a perfect & original Indian test food I can get in Brookings, SD, USA.
Main thing the owner is main chef, who makes food very delicious.
Worth to visit for a good & genuine Indian Food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NirmitParikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice ethnic place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is one of the few ethnic restaurants in Brookings. I love Indian food and I would say that the quality of the food is above average here. The atmosphere and service is nice. The owners are great and they are doing their best to make this place wonderful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank smilemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flavor Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Flavor Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing