We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
New Ulm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great rooms!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here several times. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Staff is always happy and very accommodating. Will always choose this hotel first when we are in Brookings. Its quiet too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kannhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
18
4
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Staurolite Inn & Suites is one of the original hotels off I-29 in Brookings. It's most notable feature is the use of native stone in construction of the building - visible in walls, columns, and floors outside and in inner public spaces. We have stayed here twice. The rooms are spacious by modern standards. The doors are solid steel and the walls are as quiet as I've seen anywhere. The rooms were well cleaned on both stays. The decor is dated but well kept and functional. The beds may be a little tired. The pillows, especially, were flat and lumpy. Walmart, a short walk away, sells better pillows for less than 5 bucks; My suggestion to management would be to invest a little money.and a short walk. The hotel has a large enclosed pool area with regular pool, kiddie pool and hot tub. All looked clean and inviting. The wi-fi does not work well in the rooms (possibly a consequence of those solid walls and doors), but it works well in the lobby area. The hotel has a bar and restaurant. The front desk has vouchers that are good for a light breakfast (eggs/toast/coffee or roll/coffee), but does not offer the continental breakfast that is common in 2* hotels in the area. In summary, the Staurolite offers a clean room with many amenities at a price significantly less than nearby hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside of the curve are larger. Some rooms offer poolside access, other first-floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbuskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My son and I stayed at this hotel while touring SDSU. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was also very nice.

My one glowing comment for this hotel has to be about Darcy, an employee working at the front desk, though. MapQuest had me going to a completely wrong place and after driving around in circles for about 30 minutes, I called the hotel. Darcy answered the phone and gave me excellent directions. In addition, though, she was very patient and kind and friendly. The entire staff was nice and she wasn't the only one to go out of her way to be helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_sweet_swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Having stayed in a number of hotels on a road trip across America, we ended up here as we were staying for a friends wedding in town, and we found this hotel to be a great base for the duration of our stay in Brookings.

Service was great, everyone we talked to at the hotel was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Location was also very good being on the main road into the centre of Brookings. Everything you'd need is within easy reach, and its a straight forward 20 min walk from the main street bars back to the hotel.

The decor was relatively outdated, however we found this to be the case in most hotels we stayed in during our trip that fell in this kind of price bracket.

The main thing we wanted was a clean and comfortable place to stay and this is exactly what we got. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soundguyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange City, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Pros, the price, convenient location, decent breakfast.

Cons, outdated and worn rooms, uncomfortable mattress, older gentleman who works days at the front desk is not so friendly, the only thing that worked in the fitness room was the weight machine, everything else was broken. We found a mystery pill in the bed.

So for the price it was okay but there are better places to stay in Brookings.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessl331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Over 90 seperate Choice Hotels in 2013. I would rate this one about normal. It was the first Quality I ever stayed that actually had fresh hard boiled eggs, I think others purchase peeled eggs from wholesaler. Room okay, mattress was average. Passed the barefoot test (If room clean enough for me to walk barefooted on carpet)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way out west. The hotel is in a good location just off the main street. The rooms had good space and the beds were comfortable. A complementary breakfast was served giving a good choice of cereals, breads etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichF09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brookings hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Brookings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Brookings
Days Inn Brookings
#9 of 9 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Brookings, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brookings
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 2515 6th St, Brookings, SD 57006-1734 (Formerly Staurolite Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing