We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

A quite delightful spot at some of the South Island's most lovely landscape which has it's own microcosm of nature. A walk up to the falls though tree ferns listening to bird calls is a lovely experience, but surpassed by the magic of seeing glow worms at the same spot in the evening. Their glow being reflected in a limpid pool with that of stars. For those that have restricted mobility the accessible shower etc makes the stay very easy and relaxing. The hosts are most welcoming and helpful, even to forgetful people who leave important documents behind!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chilterns53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We love the glow worms too but don't get to see them as often as we would like. We hope it isn't too chilly back home in Amersham after your stay in the fantastic sunny Marlborough Sounds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Smiths Farm Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

We received a very warm welcome (muffins!). The campsite is well situated as a base for walks in the Marlborough Sounds and just about 40 minutes drive from Picton.It is quiet and our cabin was clean and comfortable with a serene outlook. We needed some help in planning the next part of the trip and the owners were very helpful. We have no hesitation in recommending the Park and hope to stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hi Gill,
Thank you for choosing us to be your first review! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to assist with your trip planning. We love Marlborough and in fact the rest of NZ so it was a pleasure to be able to help. We hope the rest of your holiday was fantastic and we look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by the previous campsite we stayed at. Didn't know what to expect. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the friendly owners and freshly baked muffins!! The amenenities are small but clean and the kitchen is quite cosy. The campsite staff even had a walk through the fields which led to a watterfall with glowwarms at night!! A great experience!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank KiekG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hello!
We're really glad that you took a chance on us and came to stay. The glow worms are great and worth going up to see even if it is a bit of an adventure at night time!
All the best for the rest of your holiday and safe travelling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

very quiet campsite with opportunities for kids to pet the animals good base yourself when walking or driving in the sounds. Take a torch or they will lend you one to visit the waterfall and glowworms very friendly owners, warm muffins on arrival and clean kitchens.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKnzArran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Hello!,
Thank you for posting a review and we are pleased that you managed to do the walk to see the glow worms...they are spectacular at present and the best thing is, they're free!
Thanks again.

Kind Regards,

Barbara and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Fantastic quiet location. Loved the oven fresh muffins on arrival. Pet friendly park with open space to exercise dog. Farm animals for kids and adults alike to interact with.

Amenities were clean and well kept with very friendly and helpful staff.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Hi Mary and family,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review...we really appreciate it!
We will look forward to seeing you all sometime in the future and your dog is also most welcome.
We hope that the rest of your holiday went well and all the very best for 2013.

Kind Regards,
Barbara and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This is a great place to stay. Now our No1 camping/cabin place for the upper South Island. Everything was absolutely perfect! Peace and quiet (even when full over Xmas Hols - priceless), farm animals walking around the place, waterfall walk, V V V friendly staff, fantastic condition of cabins and facilities, location great for Sounds and trips to Nelson... etc., etc. The best car camping place (probably the highlight) of our week-long trip to and from Abel Tasman (more relaxing than our 3 nights kayaking - which was so busy and cramped in over the holiday period).

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you! We are pleased that despite it being the height of the season you still found it quiet and peaceful.....that's what we aimed to create....a haven from the stresses of everyday life, but still enough people around for it to be an interesting stay.
Thanks again and all the best for the rest of your travels!
Kind Regards,

Barbara and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We had a wonderful time here, we could have stayed longer. our hosts could not do enough for us, from fresh herbs out of the garden, to great advice about beaches and fishing spots to providing everything we needed to be comfortable in the family cabin.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique-Hes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Hi Dominique and family,
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and of course if you are ever back in the Sounds we'd love to see you all again.
We hope you had a great Christmas and that you have a wonderful New Year.
All the best from Chris, Barbara and the team at Smiths Farm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linkwater
6.3 mi away
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
8.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
15.3 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Linkwater Motel & Backpackers
6.0 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Farm Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Farm Holiday Park

Address: Queen Charlotte Drive | R.D.1, Linkwater, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Linkwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Linkwater
Price Range: £30 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Smiths Farm Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing