We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“The best!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We found Smith Farm through the Camper mate app and it was everything they said and more. Our stay was in the offseason of winter and we were the only campers that night, so we had the entire facility to ourselves. Barbara was the most accommodating host who provided us with all sorts of local knowledge of things to see. We were also treated to the famous warm muffins, which were delicious and welcomed after a long day's journey. We hiked up to the waterfall, which was an added bonus, although we left before it was dark enough to see the glow worms to visit with the resident sheep, goat, cows and pig. The kitchen and bath facilities were spotless and we even had the option of having a wood fire in the kitchen. If you're hiking the Queen Charlotte Track from Anakiwa, this is the perfect place to camp as its just up the road from the trailhead. We had a great time here and will definitely return on our next trip to New Zealand. - Michelle

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAmountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hi Michelle,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the whole experience that is Smiths Farm. It's Spring here now and all the daffodils are flowering next to Molly's paddock so it's very pretty. Thanks again and we'd love to see you for a second visit if you come back to NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here and again we were really happy with our experience. The family is very hospitable, the farm lovely to walk through, and the glow worms at the waterfall are incredible to see. The facilities are clean and well maintained, and it was a nice bonus to get freshly made muffins when we arrived.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hi Christina,
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us! Yes, we love the waterfall walk and the glow worms too but don't get to see them as often as we would like to sadly. We hope that the rest of your trip went well and maybe we'll see you for your third visit sometime soon?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed here with a group of 6 in one of the family units after finishing the Queen Charlotte track.
We found our room small but comfy and warm, with enough facilities for us to cook ourselves a hot meal after the trip.
The farm animals are great - we were very close to a large pig who was very friendly and appreciated a good belly scratch!
The people who run the farm were amazing - we were given a basket of warm banana chocolate chip muffins when we arrived, and great information about wineries in Blenheim when we suggested that we might like to do a tour. It seemed like they would go out of their way to help you out which was nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Another late reply so my apologies! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and we enjoyed meeting you all. If you come again as a big group maybe you'd like to take two rooms as was suggested as that would have made your stay much more comfortable. It's a shame it wasn't the greatest of weather but the mountain biking on the track is great isn't it?! There are plenty more wineries to sample so we look forward to you returning to Marlborough some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Smiths farm was amazing! We only spent one night there but totally plan on going back and staying longer! It was such a cute place and we loved being able to feed and pet the animals on the farm! The family that lives there is great and so friendly! They even brought us warm muffins when we checked it! I would definitely go back and stay again! Didn't even mind the curvy drive out from picton!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatworshipchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hello! Oh dear, it is a long time since I replied to reviews and I do apologise!
Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased that you didn't mind the curvy road to Picton. It is a stunning drive with amazing views and I'd recommend it to anyone...just don't leave it until the last minute to catch your ferry!
We will look forward to welcoming you back to Smiths Farm some time in the future and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2013

A quite delightful spot at some of the South Island's most lovely landscape which has it's own microcosm of nature. A walk up to the falls though tree ferns listening to bird calls is a lovely experience, but surpassed by the magic of seeing glow worms at the same spot in the evening. Their glow being reflected in a limpid pool with that of stars. For those that have restricted mobility the accessible shower etc makes the stay very easy and relaxing. The hosts are most welcoming and helpful, even to forgetful people who leave important documents behind!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chilterns53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We love the glow worms too but don't get to see them as often as we would like. We hope it isn't too chilly back home in Amersham after your stay in the fantastic sunny Marlborough Sounds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We received a very warm welcome (muffins!). The campsite is well situated as a base for walks in the Marlborough Sounds and just about 40 minutes drive from Picton.It is quiet and our cabin was clean and comfortable with a serene outlook. We needed some help in planning the next part of the trip and the owners were very helpful. We have no hesitation in recommending the Park and hope to stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Hi Gill,
Thank you for choosing us to be your first review! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to assist with your trip planning. We love Marlborough and in fact the rest of NZ so it was a pleasure to be able to help. We hope the rest of your holiday was fantastic and we look forward to seeing you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by the previous campsite we stayed at. Didn't know what to expect. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the friendly owners and freshly baked muffins!! The amenenities are small but clean and the kitchen is quite cosy. The campsite staff even had a walk through the fields which led to a watterfall with glowwarms at night!! A great experience!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KiekG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Hello!
We're really glad that you took a chance on us and came to stay. The glow worms are great and worth going up to see even if it is a bit of an adventure at night time!
All the best for the rest of your holiday and safe travelling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linkwater
8.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
15.3 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
313 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 4 in Havelock
44 reviews
1.3 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
223 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Farm Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Farm Holiday Park

Property: Smiths Farm Holiday Park
Address: Queen Charlotte Drive | R.D.1, Linkwater, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Linkwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Linkwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Smiths Farm Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing