We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family fun”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at Smiths Farm Holiday park in a powered site which was an easy drive through site and nicely flat. We were greeted with delicious hot muffins which was a wonderful and welcome surprise! This is the kind of park that if you can, get there so you have time to explore as well. There are gorgeous and friendly farm animals to pat and feed, and even a waterfall to see. Unfortunately we didn't have time to do the short walk on this occasion, but from the little map they provided it looked like a great little walk.
Fantastic location, the facilities are great and clean, plenty of room in the kitchen to cook and eat. Even a bbq to use (without paying extra unlike other places we stayed at.)
Plenty for the kids to do with the animals and a playground and a trampoline too plus room to run.
And bonus, the price was far more reasonable than most of the other caravan parks that we stayed in on our three week trip driving around NZ.
We definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We planned to stay for just the night, but ended up staying for three. The staff are so friendly, always helping, and the site itself is really cozy with nice clean toilets, showers and kitchen area. Oh yeah and there's farm animals!! Truly fantastic.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andersmellerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We arrived on the late ferry from the North Island tired and in need of a campsite. Those closer to the ferry were full and we had the pleasure of finding Smiths. Although it was relatively late we were greeted warmly and with warm muffins! The site is set in beautiful countryside and very peaceful.

There are some friendly sheep and a beautiful pig called Molly that eat the supplied animal food from your hand.

The farm has its own waterfall and a clearly marked route takes you there across the nearby fields.

The facilities were clean and well maintained and the landlady was helpful, friendly and informative.

A great place to stay



Stayed February 2014

Room Tip: This is a campsite and so the requirement to provide room tips does not apply
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and as we weren't driving we had little bit of difficulties finding our way up but you could find your way there using a mail van which we booked via isite. The cabin was slightly small but it's alright! The couple working there were super friendly and welcoming and if you are there please take a look at the skies in the pitch darkness, and go for the bushwalk - it was amazing! Had a super enjoyable stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0nik3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We found this campground lovely, small and calm. The family of the farm is very friendly and helpful! They gave us some good ideas for our travel. The Camp is perfect for families with children or peoples who likes the nature and animals.The sheeps are amazing! There are not a lot of showers and toilets, but very clean.
the kitchen and the outdoor bbq area are also not too big, but familiar.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank timstruppi0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you feel welcome. We were greeted with muffins! The farm is set in beautiful countryside and very peaceful.

The animals are cute and it's great for kids! Our daughter was only 6 months old but the hosts catered with portacot and linen.

The walk to the nearby waterfall was nice and we missed the glow worms but only because our bub was sleeping.

The facilities were exceptional and cabins completely stocked!

Very comfortable stay!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

What a lovely holiday park to enjoy our final few nights in the south island before we returned home to the north. The famous muffins we received upon arrival were very tasty and a nice touch. A fantastic welcome from Barbara who very definitely had us feeling special as she chatted and laughed with us as if we were old friends. Our powered site (for 8 metre bus and small vehicle) was perfect, level, sheltered and private. Ablutions were incredibly clean and a pleasure to use - thank you. Small animals to pet and feed were a delight - goat particularly was a character. One nights sleep was disturbed by a noisy weaned calf in the paddock next door, but hey that's what farms are all about.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linkwater
1.3 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Linkwater Motel & Backpackers
3.8 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 5 in Havelock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Blue Moon Lodge
Blue Moon Lodge
#4 of 8 in Havelock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
6.2 mi away
Te Rawa Resort
Te Rawa Resort
#5 of 5 in Havelock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
6.7 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Farm Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Farm Holiday Park

Property: Smiths Farm Holiday Park
Address: Queen Charlotte Drive | R.D.1, Linkwater, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Linkwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Linkwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Smiths Farm Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing