We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linkwater Motel & Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linkwater
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
“a very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

we very much enjoyed staying at this motel. It was a very comfortable room, very clean and the owners were extremely friendly and helpful. very quiet and fairly isolated location so you need to be organised with the groceries! Excellent location for the Queen Charlotte walk, kayaking and swimming - suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
47
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

an excellent place to stay. Owners are very friendly and helpful. all facilities available in the studio unit. approx 12 km from picton ferry point. the view was awesome. loved the electric blankets. Overall Stay was wow...

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandeep10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stopped over at the Linkwater our first night after arriving on the Ferry. A quite and well-appointed motel in a rural location - just perfect for winding down on our first night of vacation. The hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. Room was very clean, comfortable and had good internet access.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DowntownWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

When the host comes outside in the rain to greet you at 1am then shows you the room with a happy attitude and "sort the rest out in the morning" what kind of review can you give? Clean, tidy, comfortable and well needed rest. Had the room only shared amenities option. Worked great.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinnynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The is a self-contained motel room that is spacious, modern and peaceful with friendly hosts that do all they can to ensure their guests have all they need. It's between Picton and Havelock in a rural location but close enough to restaurants, local sites and the wonderful walks around Marlborough Sounds. And, it's great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at Linwater Motel. Katerina and Patrick are excellent hosts. They went the extra miles to ensure our stay is comfortable. For instant, when we went for the Kayaking trip, she drove us all the way to the starting point. When we returned from the trip, my son and husband were soaked wet. She let us used the room and shower with fresh towels, although we had checked out already! Thanks again for the kindest hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeLiNa141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfont
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stopped here for a night between motueka and catching a ferry in picton. The location is very remote in the 'town' linkwater but lovely scenery and close to queen Charlotte walk. We had the entire backpacker unit to ourselves which has a spacious kitchen and numerous bathrooms. All very clean and well equipped. Our double room was quite small but clean and we had a lovely view out to the orchards. Owner was nice and helpful and told us where nice walks and drives were to see the sounds. Lots of free parking. Laundry machines available but no dryer. Internet available at a cost.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leolion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moutzy, Owner at Linkwater Motel & Backpackers, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
As always we appreciate all feedback as it give us a greater understanding of our guests needs... thank-you for staying with us and we hope to see you again if you are in our area....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linkwater
7.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
7.2 mi away
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Linkwater
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
486 reviews
5.3 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
16.8 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linkwater Motel & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linkwater Motel & Backpackers

Property: Linkwater Motel & Backpackers
Address: 1594 Queen Charlotte Drive | Rd1, Linkwater 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Linkwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linkwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Linkwater Motel & Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linkwater motel offers rural country accommodation 21km from Picton. Free WIFI and off street parking as well as plenty of room to park boats and trailers is provided. Continental breakfast is available daily. The rooms range from self-contained studios and family units. All units have a kitchenette with a benchtop 2 hob stove for cooking. Linkwater Motel is 5km from the start of the Queen Charlotte Walk Track and the half way point for the Link Pathway Walk & Cycle Track. The Motel can book tickets for the interislander ferry as well as other local tours and nature activities, including scenic and mussel farm cruises, wine tours and nature walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Linkwater Motel & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing