We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linkwater Motel & Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Linkwater Motel & Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linkwater
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Spacious room, stunning quiet location. Room wasn't very clean but had everything we needed.

Take food supplies as the closest "tavern" (Linkwater Inn) has a limited menu, mostly deep fried with chips cooked in old cooking oil. Other nearest eateries are 17km away in Havelock

Tip: Request a room on ground floor if you are unable/have difficulty using stairs
Note: Rooms aren't serviced (unless staying more than a week) so hang your towels up & make your own bed!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had a great 2 days stopover here. The owners put themself out to meet all our needs The rooms were lovely andclean and warm. A great shower and all very resonably priced not not like the ones in Picton itself which are very expensive .Great stopover for ferry . We even kidnapped Chas their little Maltesse and took him with us for a ride to Picton Pat and Katerina were so kind nothing was a bother. Get well Katerina after your shoulder operation and a big hug for dear little Chas Jill &Maisie

Room Tip: No resturant or fitness centre but couldnt backspace the rating but if you ask you can get a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a great little motel if you are arriving from, or going to, the Picton Ferry.

It's also quiet, clean and very well run.

We arrived late in the torrential rain of Summer 2011 /12 at dusk, after a long journey. The owners looked after us and made sure the heating was on, and we were able to shelter from the view of the horizontal rain.

Rooms are clean, functional and modern. Kitchenette lets you brew a coffee or tea and the open plan seating area with french windows gives you a great view of the local scenery here near the sound. It's quiet and very remote, and excellent value for money compared with many other NZ motels we visited.

You're well advised to eat before arriving or on your way to the next destination. Linkwater is more of a concept than a place and the nearest pub a few miles away is an average, functional NZ country pub with bar meals where everything is deep fried.

In short, if you're getting the Picton Ferry and need a place to stop off before or after, this is ideal. Don't be fooled by the distances on the map - while its only a few km to Picton, the journey on this road which cuts through from one sound to another is windy and takes best part of 45 mins.

And they have a cute fluffy dog. What more do you want?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choonmonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We received a warm welcome and helpful advice and they kindly booked a meal for us at a restaurant a short drive away. We had originally planned to eat at Picton but had underestimated how long it would take to drive along the road so ate at Havelock instead - excellent meal.

Lovely site in nice area - as others have said you need to be aware of slight remoteness from shops/eating places.

Room was good although the carpet near the shower was already wet when we were shown the room (we were told the previous people must have been careless) but despite being very careful we also had a problem of water from the shower wetting the carpet. Hopefully this is now fixed. (Have given a lower rating for cleanliness because of this but apart from this it was very clean)

Can recommend as a lovely place to stay and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Katerina and Pat made our 2 night stay at Linkwater a real treat. We were greeted as if we were royalty or a long lost friend. Highly recommend you stay there. Katerina (hope the spelling is correct) organized a 1/2 day wine tour for us and also drove us and collected us! Service you do not find very often. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horse9735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were greeted very warmly by the owners and immediately got hte feeling of coming to friends. The 2-persons-unit we got was very spacious, very well equipped and due to the remote location very quiet. The whole complex gives the impression of being newly erected, and we were very surprised to hear that it exists for around four years. The owners can be very proud of their motel, and they are indeed;-) We received all the help we needed and much more - it would have been great to stay longer. Many thanks from Germany amd see you next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Menno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Linkwater Hotel is located 30 minutes out of Picton. You will need to either eat in Havelock, Picton, bring food to eat in your room, or you can buy meals cooked by the owners. We did not see any restaurants nearby. The hotel is very new with good kitchen facilities. The room was clean, large, quaint, and idyllic. The bed was very comfortable. The owners were very nice and helpful. The hotel provided excellent laundry facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindasColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linkwater
7.2 mi away
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
6.1 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
9.0 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.7 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
5.8 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linkwater Motel & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linkwater Motel & Backpackers

Property: Linkwater Motel & Backpackers
Address: 1594 Queen Charlotte Drive | RD1, Linkwater 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Linkwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linkwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Linkwater Motel & Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linkwater motel offers rural country accommodation 21km from Picton. Free WIFI and off street parking as well as plenty of room to park boats and trailers is provided. Continental breakfast is available daily. The rooms range from self-contained studios and family units. All units have a kitchenette with a benchtop 2 hob stove for cooking. Linkwater Motel is 5km from the start of the Queen Charlotte Walk Track and the half way point for the Link Pathway Walk & Cycle Track. The Motel can book tickets for the interislander ferry as well as other local tours and nature activities, including scenic and mussel farm cruises, wine tours and nature walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Linkwater Motel & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing