We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Linkwater Motel & Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linkwater
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Quiet, spacious and clean room with beautiful surroundings.
Most friendly and helpful staff.
We definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
47
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed there 1 night before our early morning ferry to North Island. We paid 80$ for backpacker room and we thought it was good value for money. Motel is located about 30min drive from the ferry in Picton and overlooking fantastic views of Malborough Sounds. It has great kitchen and toilet facilities which were very clean. We were nearly on our own there in the backpacker unit. It was very quiet and the owners were very welcoming on our arrival. Definiely worth recommeding when you tour this area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

If taking the Picton ferry to or from North Island, this is the perfect place to stop before leaving or just after arriving. It is under half an hour's drive from Picton, surrounded by beautiful mountains, The welcome from an Irish Kiwi and his Greek-born wife could not have been warmer, and the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. If you don't wish to use the excellent kitchen facilities, there is a Country Inn a short drive away. The Linkwater also has a small swimming pool and boasts a vigorous 101 year-old grandad! At $160 for three people. it represnted very good value.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

This motel is located halfway between Picton & Havelock. It's not far from a road leading into the Sounds and it's a few kilometers down the road from a country pub. The host is friendly and welcoming and the rooms are very clean and comfortable with kitchen facilities. It's a no frills motel but who cares when you have lots of room and it has a lot more space than the average motel. The front of the room is floor to ceiling glass so it is very light however to get fresh air you have to leave the door open as it has no window openings except small ones in the bathroom & kitchen areas. This is a bit of a disadvantage if you like fresh air at night. Just the same, I highly recommend it and it is most reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChumOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed at the motel again this year and I was hoping I wouldn't be disappointed. I needn't have worried - this motel is still top of my list of motels I've ever stayed in. The views were breathtaking, the welcome from John, the owner, was brilliant. The facilities are very good and the room had everything you could need...and still $85...what a gem of a place!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myederts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linkwater
7.2 mi away
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
6.2 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
7.2 mi away
Blue Moon Lodge
Blue Moon Lodge
#4 of 8 in Havelock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Linkwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
5.8 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 5 in Havelock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linkwater Motel & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linkwater Motel & Backpackers

Property: Linkwater Motel & Backpackers
Address: 1594 Queen Charlotte Drive | RD1, Linkwater 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Linkwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linkwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Linkwater Motel & Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linkwater motel offers rural country accommodation 21km from Picton. Free WIFI and off street parking as well as plenty of room to park boats and trailers is provided. Continental breakfast is available daily. The rooms range from self-contained studios and family units. All units have a kitchenette with a benchtop 2 hob stove for cooking. Linkwater Motel is 5km from the start of the Queen Charlotte Walk Track and the half way point for the Link Pathway Walk & Cycle Track. The Motel can book tickets for the interislander ferry as well as other local tours and nature activities, including scenic and mussel farm cruises, wine tours and nature walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Linkwater Motel & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing