We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
back home

great museum, with so much Indian artifacts, a visit there will be enjoyable, we recommend this as... read more

Reviewed 6 November 2018
jbholguin1
,
Columbus, Indiana
A must stop!

This is a newer building with very nicely done displays of Native American culture on the plains... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2018
Nana5838
,
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Read all 270 reviews
  
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
239
26
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
239
26
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian school gift shop medicine wheel lakota sioux cultural center native american culture missouri river learned a great deal daily life plains indians beautiful artwork donations are accepted st joseph interactive displays better understanding historical information white man
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We were there as a family 20 years ago and were very touched by the Museum and School. We have been supporting the ever since and going back this fall for their Pow Wow.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank apollo442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Wópilá táηka – many thanks for sharing your visit, We’re so glad you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your support in spreading the word.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

I really enjoyed the new area that goes in detail about the history of St Joseph's school. It is right to recognize the history of the school that the museum resides at. Even if that history may be painful to accept.

Date of experience: May 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank samymastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D T, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Wópilá táηka – many thanks for sharing your visit! We appreciate your support in spreading the word and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

This was very informative and interesting, even for the young in our family. They had hands on activities for the kids and lots to see! It was much more than I expected from a free museum. It also offers an extraordinary view of the river, and
there is a picnic table overlooking the river.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Wópilá táηka – many thanks for sharing your visit. Glad you took the time to visit and enjoy our beautiful view of the river! We appreciate your support in spreading the word and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

So glad we stopped here, the displays were excellent, choice of artifacts superb , art displays great. The survey of the history from the Lakota perspective and the parallels with Canadian native history were very stimulating. The gift shop was full of genuine Sioux crafts and art

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Edith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Wópilá táηka – many thanks for sharing your visit. We’re so glad you stopped and we appreciate your support in spreading the word and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Wonderful and well presented exhibits of history and culture and art. Really glad that I made the time to tour the museum. Excellent museum store selections.

Date of experience: May 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Wópilá táηka – many thanks for sharing your visit. We are very proud of our facility and our commitment to provide the opportunity for all who visit to learn about the rich, beautiful history of the Northern Plains Indian people. We appreciate your support in spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews