We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
back home

great museum, with so much Indian artifacts, a visit there will be enjoyable, we recommend this as... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
jbholguin1
,
Columbus, Indiana
A must stop!

This is a newer building with very nicely done displays of Native American culture on the plains... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Nana5838
,
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Read all 270 reviews
  
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
238
25
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
238
25
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian school gift shop cultural center missouri river lakota sioux native american culture learned a great deal daily life donations are accepted beautiful artwork st joseph interactive activities better understanding historical information white man well worth the stop book store
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

great museum, with so much Indian artifacts, a visit there will be enjoyable, we recommend this as a must see.

Thank jbholguin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Pilámaya – thank you for sharing your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a newer building with very nicely done displays of Native American culture on the plains. It also has a large gift store with Native American jewelry from local tribes and some as far away as Alaska. There is also a separate area for children with activities for them. Very nicely done and about a mile north of downtown on a separate St. Joseph’s School campus

1  Thank Nana5838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Pilámaya – thank you for taking the time to review our museum. We are very proud of our museum and our commitment to provide the opportunity for all to visit and learn about the rich, beautiful history of the Northern Plains Indian people. We appreciate your support in spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely fantastic. Learning experience for entire group. 5th grade grandson currently studying plains history in school. Did not allow enough time for visit. Will return if in area

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Journey13994218764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wópilá táηka – many thanks for sharing your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The museum is not huge but has a number of very interesting exhibits on native American presence in North America and the interaction with white people as they took over the lands. Any age group would enjoy the displays and the admission is free. Donations are accepted. The gift shops has original native american art reasonably priced of good quality. Lots of items that make original gifts, particularly around the holidays.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wópilá táηka – many thanks for sharing your visit. We appreciate your support in spreading the word and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were fortunate to visit when it was quiet. There is quite a lot of information, some of which is different from what we learned in grade school. The life style and conditions and adaptions are worth seeing and learning.

Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wópilá táηka – many thanks for sharing your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

The museum is an excellent presentations of plains Indian life before and after contact with Europeans. It provides many artifacts and dioramas that are very interesting to see and learn about. There are video kiosks with short presentations on many topics of plains Indian life and culture, as well as a half hour movie documentary. The overall presentation is nicely laid out chronologically in a great circle. There is a good gift shop with books and jewelry, including many attractive Sioux Star quilts.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank richardvstenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Wópilá táηka – many thanks for sharing your visit. We are very proud of our museum and our commitment to provide all who visit the opportunity to learn about the beautiful history of the Northern Plains Indian people. We appreciate your support in spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Great examples of housing for the Lakota tribe. Also exhibits & items for sale of the craftmenship of their jewelry as welll as other items. This interested me tremendously.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jospurr2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Pilámaya – thank you for reviewing our museum. We’re glad you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate your support in spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

The exhibit is well displayed. Placement of objects is judicious and well spaced. The art of the Lakota is beautiful. Particularly the leather and bead clothing is sensational. The historical descriptions help understand the Lakota. Contemporary reflections on the massacre at Wounded Knee, by students and young persons reveal the long suffering ache of a whole nation. The poetry is worth reading and pondering: fine caliber of English expression and pause. TAKUWE (why!) is an appropriate title for the exhibit. The Museum is, indeed, a cultural center, and breathes pride and a noble sense of self. It is not only the Native American youth who will benefit but all visitors. The funding for this museum is evident…it is well endowed and well managed. Hospitality is superb. The backers are to be congratulated and encouraged to continue. Wakan Tanka.
The Indian School display is worth seeing: both a favorable and a critical point of view are represented. That the Indian School continues today at Chamberlain suggests that the positive experience for young Indians and House Parents is an improvement over what would have been the case a century ago. The Catholic Church Mission comes across as humane, concerned and culturally flexible, understanding children's needs and growth. The language learning of early missionaries, along with transcription of oral record into written text, is praised as ongoingly valuable. You leave the museum and cultural center with a sense of deep appreciation for the Center, the staff, the Lakota and the contemporary keepers of the tradition, plus forebears all.

Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Pilámaya – thank you for the review our museum. We are very proud of our museum and our commitment to provide the opportunity for all to visit and learn about the rich, beautiful history of the Northern Plains Indian people. We appreciate your support in spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We were delighted by the celebration of Native American culture, balanced appropriately with the realities of the past 200 years. Very nicely planned out spaces, really great array of gifts, art and jewelry available in shop. The museum had people of all ages visiting. Not sure if it is the floor plan or other acoustic features, but generally quiet even though everyone was comfortable speaking normally. We were very glad we stopped. You can visit in 30 minutes or spend much longer and either way come away happy.

Thank foreverlearningTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Pilámaya – thank you for sharing your visit. We’re glad you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate your support in spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Explanation of the life of the Lakota people was excellent. Learned many facts about their lives we have not seen before.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Explore73465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Pilámaya – thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate your support in spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews