We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colors, designs and hospitality”
Review of Akta Lakota Museum

Akta Lakota Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Akta Lakota Museum to experience a living lesson on the Native American way of life, past and present. Each year we receive thousands of visitors from all over the globe that want to deepen their appreciation of Lakota culture. As an outreach program of St. Joseph's Indian School we pride ourselves on not just providing that experience but creating an atmosphere conducive to learning and healing into the hearts of our students as well as our visitors. What makes our museum such a wonderful experience is our focus. We have an outstanding collection of cultural, historical and artistic works that relate specifically to the Northern Plains Indian Tribes, the ancestry of the students served at St. Joseph's. Our historical collection honors the past while our contemporary collection represents the creative spirit of today's world. We work closely with Indian artist and artisans to present contemporary artwork that builds on cultural traditions while expressing itself in new ways. What you take away from your visit is the understanding that Lakota culture is not just a thing of the past. It's alive and thriving today.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children
Reviewed 1 October 2018

The exhibit is well displayed. Placement of objects is judicious and well spaced. The art of the Lakota is beautiful. Particularly the leather and bead clothing is sensational. The historical descriptions help understand the Lakota. Contemporary reflections on the massacre at Wounded Knee, by students and young persons reveal the long suffering ache of a whole nation. The poetry is worth reading and pondering: fine caliber of English expression and pause. TAKUWE (why!) is an appropriate title for the exhibit. The Museum is, indeed, a cultural center, and breathes pride and a noble sense of self. It is not only the Native American youth who will benefit but all visitors. The funding for this museum is evident…it is well endowed and well managed. Hospitality is superb. The backers are to be congratulated and encouraged to continue. Wakan Tanka.
The Indian School display is worth seeing: both a favorable and a critical point of view are represented. That the Indian School continues today at Chamberlain suggests that the positive experience for young Indians and House Parents is an improvement over what would have been the case a century ago. The Catholic Church Mission comes across as humane, concerned and culturally flexible, understanding children's needs and growth. The language learning of early missionaries, along with transcription of oral record into written text, is praised as ongoingly valuable. You leave the museum and cultural center with a sense of deep appreciation for the Center, the staff, the Lakota and the contemporary keepers of the tradition, plus forebears all.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Pilámaya – thank you for the review our museum. We are very proud of our museum and our commitment to provide the opportunity for all to visit and learn about the rich, beautiful history of the Northern Plains Indian people. We appreciate your support in spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"indian school"
in 39 reviews
"gift shop"
in 30 reviews
"medicine wheel"
in 6 reviews
"lakota sioux"
in 9 reviews
"cultural center"
in 11 reviews
"native american culture"
in 12 reviews
"missouri river"
in 14 reviews
"learned a great deal"
in 4 reviews
"daily life"
in 3 reviews
"plains indians"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful artwork"
in 3 reviews
"donations are accepted"
in 4 reviews
"st joseph"
in 3 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 3 reviews
"better understanding"
in 3 reviews
"historical information"
in 4 reviews
"white man"
in 4 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018

We were delighted by the celebration of Native American culture, balanced appropriately with the realities of the past 200 years. Very nicely planned out spaces, really great array of gifts, art and jewelry available in shop. The museum had people of all ages visiting. Not sure if it is the floor plan or other acoustic features, but generally quiet even though everyone was comfortable speaking normally. We were very glad we stopped. You can visit in 30 minutes or spend much longer and either way come away happy.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank foreverlearningTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Pilámaya – thank you for sharing your visit. We’re glad you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate your support in spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Explanation of the life of the Lakota people was excellent. Learned many facts about their lives we have not seen before.

Date of experience: September 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Explore73465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Pilámaya – thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate your support in spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

While touring South Dakota, a visitor is sure to become acquainted with the Native American culture and history. There are historical sites and museums and cultural centers and even Native American reservations everywhere. And that's a good thing. While driving from Sioux Falls to Rapid City, be sure to stop at the Akta Lakota Museum and Cultural Center in Chamberlain. Opened in 1991 at 1301 North Main Street on the campus of St. Joseph's Indian School, it is intended to honor and preserve the rich culture of the Lakota people and the students of the school. Housed in an octagon-shaped building with 14,000 square feet of display space, the museum has a collection of art, artifacts and educational exhibits that depict the proud heritage of the Lakota people. The museum also houses a Collector's Gallery, which gives local artists a place to display and sell their work. It also is more than a traditional museum; it is an experience that provides visitors with a living lesson on the Native American way of life, both past and present. Among the museum highlights are Camp Circle, which depicts life on the plains prior to the Euro-American contact; Two Worlds, which details the arrival of Euro-American explorers, missionaries, traders and settlers in the early 1800s; Broken Promises, which outlines the U.S. government's involvement with the Sioux, the loss of traditional lands and treaties and maps out current reservation lands; Continuity and Change, which illustrates how Native Americans adapted to their new way of life and successfully preserved their traditions and heritage; and Lakota Buffalo Days, a 36-foot diorama by renowned artist Tom Phillips which gives a sweeping view of life on the prairie from the Missouri River to the Black Hills. There also is a gift shop featuring a unique collection of jewelry, dolls, books, star quilts, baskets, pottery, prints, moccasins and dreamcatchers. The Akta Lakota Museum is the only Native American cultural center of its kind, a truly educational experience.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Wópilá táηka – many thanks for sharing your visit. We are very proud of our facility and our commitment to providing all who visit the opportunity to experience and learn about the rich, beautiful history of the Northern Plains Indian people. We appreciate your support in spreading the word and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

The Akta Lakota Museum is excellent in every aspect: educational, cultural, and artistic. The museum excels in telling the story of the Lakota - we were very moved and stayed all morning to view all of the exhibits and read the accompanying information.

Date of experience: September 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Y6329XNwilliamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALM_Museum, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Wopila tanka – many thanks for your review. We are very proud of our museum and our commitment to provide all who visit the opportunity to experience and learn about the rich, beautiful history of the Northern Plains Indian people. We appreciate your support in spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akta Lakota Museum also viewed

 

Been to Akta Lakota Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing