We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Smet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heritage House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 De Smet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed in Laura's Loft with our 3 young daughters and loved our stayed at the Heritage House. We loved the history of the building, comfortable beds, great hospitality, and delicious breakfast. The perfect spot for our visit to De Smet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbhutzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were so thankful this was our hotel when we arrived in De Smet! What a nice job restoring this building. There really isn't anything comparable in this tiny town. The rooms were much nicer in person than the photos on the internet. It was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great! My family really enjoyed our night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanK916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

What a find! This beautifully restored building is in the tiny town of De Smet within minutes of the Laura Ingalls Wilder houses. The owner was friendly and everything was immaculate. Our suite was perfect - large and beautifully furnished.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slklvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The bathroom was immaculate! The whole suite was immaculate! Good water pressure. I have asthma, so I have a very sensitive nose and there were NO musty, old building smells at all and the rooms were NOT perfumed to cover odors. Most of all the beds were nice and firm not bumpy and soggy the bed smelt clean and crisp. The windows open so you can get a nice breeze if you would like. It felt like a step back in time, the woodwork was really cool.. The furniture, old style but very comfortable. Cable TV and Internet made it nice in the evenings. We did'nt have dinner but the Chicken smelt so GOOOOD... I know my nose liked it!! Loved th e place, loved it, loved it... We will go back...

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite with sitting room and loft with 3 bed more for kids or teens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 577Whataday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This historic bank building where the Ingalls family had accounts is a fabulous place to stay in the little town of De Smet, SD. It has been remodeled and decorated in the style appropriate to the era, and we just loved it. Perhaps the Ingalls family's savings were kept in the huge safe that is still visible on the ground floor. Who knows? It is such fun to imagine what the building was like during the late 1800s. All of De Smet is historic and we so enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are upstairs, and we thought ours was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordie60742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Incredible restoration project on the bank Caroline Ingalls was supposed to have held an account. It is an historical treasure lovingly rebuilt by the owners. The area is quiet, although centrally located. The rooms and home are beautifully appointed with historical pieces and photographs. The beds are comfortable and it feels like home. On a three week road trip, home can be a haven on the road. That is this place. Comfy, clean, friendly with a sophisticated appeal, we can't wait for our next chance to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoyingprocess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This is a really neat old building. We stayed in a beautiful suite with three rooms and a loft. It had cable TV, which my kids appreciated, and internet, which I appreciated, and a nice, big bathroom, where everyone could wash off the prairie dust. It was extremely hot in South Dakota when we were there, but the room stayed pretty cool and was a nice retreat from the heat. This was my family's first Bed and Breakfast experience, and it went so well, it will probably not be the last. Breakfast was nice and the room was perfect.

Room Tip: "Laura's Loft" is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtripX7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Heritage House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 126 Calument Avenue, P.O. Box 123, De Smet, SD 57231
Region: United States > South Dakota > De Smet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in De Smet
Price Range: £75 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing