We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Smet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heritage House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 De Smet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying in this beautifully restored building filled with fine period furniture and accessories but having completely modern and elegant bathroom facilities. Superb workmanship and attention to detail. Perfectly hospitable and accommodating. Hostess Kim deserves 10 stars for creating such a great experience for visitors. Do yourself a favor and stay here for an extra night!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob-Ottawa-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here on a recent visit to De Smet in order to visit the Laura Ingalls Homestead with our daughter and her friend. We found the bed and breakfast to be very convenient (walking distance to some Ingalls activities), very clean, family friendly and a decent value. We enjoyed our hosts, Kim and Carl and are very impressed with the work they did to restore this historical building. The breakfast was good and the room was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

A wonderful restored bank converted to a beautiful B & B. It took kim and Carl years of restoration work to bring this old bank into a lovely Victorian building. Hostess, Kim, was just like family. Our room was very comfortable and we were provided with a delicious breakfast. It was just a short drive to Laura Ingalls Wilder homestead. The town of De Smet, South Dakota is small but quaint.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed in Laura's Loft with our 3 young daughters and loved our stayed at the Heritage House. We loved the history of the building, comfortable beds, great hospitality, and delicious breakfast. The perfect spot for our visit to De Smet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbhutzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were so thankful this was our hotel when we arrived in De Smet! What a nice job restoring this building. There really isn't anything comparable in this tiny town. The rooms were much nicer in person than the photos on the internet. It was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great! My family really enjoyed our night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanK916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

What a find! This beautifully restored building is in the tiny town of De Smet within minutes of the Laura Ingalls Wilder houses. The owner was friendly and everything was immaculate. Our suite was perfect - large and beautifully furnished.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slklvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The bathroom was immaculate! The whole suite was immaculate! Good water pressure. I have asthma, so I have a very sensitive nose and there were NO musty, old building smells at all and the rooms were NOT perfumed to cover odors. Most of all the beds were nice and firm not bumpy and soggy the bed smelt clean and crisp. The windows open so you can get a nice breeze if you would like. It felt like a step back in time, the woodwork was really cool.. The furniture, old style but very comfortable. Cable TV and Internet made it nice in the evenings. We did'nt have dinner but the Chicken smelt so GOOOOD... I know my nose liked it!! Loved th e place, loved it, loved it... We will go back...

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite with sitting room and loft with 3 bed more for kids or teens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 577Whataday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Heritage House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 126 Calument Avenue, P.O. Box 123, De Smet, SD 57231
Region: United States > South Dakota > De Smet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in De Smet
Price Range: £71 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing