We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice first bed and breakfast with My Kids!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Smet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prairie House Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 De Smet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice first bed and breakfast with My Kids!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I love that this bnb welcomed kids, in fact there were several toys for their use. We stayed in the Americana room which was more than spacious, and very clean. There were cookies, lemonade, and coffee available during our stay there. The breakfast was great, oatmeal was filling, pancake men entertaining, and the french toast bake was delicious. The hosts are very gracious and welcoming. What a nice haven in De Smet!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed only one night, but I honestly wish we could have stayed longer. Andy and Jenny were so friendly and the Inn felt like home. We took a nice long walk around the neighborhood and came back to enjoy lemonade and a cookie bar. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. I really wanted to stay longer. I strongly suggest staying at the Prairie House Manor.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cagandpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Jenny and Andy run one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. They are both so welcoming and accommodating and yet respectful of ones privacy and personal space. The B&B set in Banker Ruth's house made famous in the Laura Ingalls Wilder books is charming, well appointed, and had something for everyone.

We stayed in the Forever Blossoms room and it was perfect for our needs. I would stay here repeatedly in this room with it's king bed (also a Murphy bed) and the hot tub on the side porch. The en suite bath was cleverly arranged, albeit it a shoehorned fit, with a second bathroom just outside in the hall in case you want some privacy even from your roommates.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and accommodation was made for some personal needs that were not met by the standard menu. Coffee set to the sweet sounds of Pa's fiddle playing in the background set the perfect tone for a day of re-discovering Laura.

It is too bad there is not a good restaurant for miles that is open after about 6:00pm on a Sunday, although Jenny did her best to find us one. We did end up at the local Dairy Queen after a trip to visit the De Smet cemetery at sunset. Maybe Andy & Jenny need to offer a dinner option as well as breakfast!?

For the directionally impaired: We did find we drove past the address twice before we figured it out. Enter from the cross street.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etoile_of_NE_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I was driving through South Dakota and decided to stay over in De Smet. The room I requested was undergoing some remodeling, so the owners gave me a free upgrade to the "Japanese Garden" jacuzzi suite. I felt totally pampered with 10 pillows on the bed, marvelously plush towels, and raspberry-stuffed pancake puffs for breakfast. The owners were as welcoming as could be, and everything was comfortable and beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, CT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had a wonderful experience staying in this B&B. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and Jenny and Andy were accommodating to dietary needs. We stayed in the "Heres My Heart Room" and it was very cozy and comfortable. Jenny and Andy went out of their way to explain were we could find different sites such as restaurants and stores. The B&B provided an atmosphere conducive to relaxation. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anybody considering a trip to DeSmet

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Once we rang the doorbell, Andy & Jenny greeted us with a warm smile which immediately put us at ease. They were very friendly and helpful and made sure we felt at home. We stayed in the "Here's my heart" room for two nights. The place was Immaculately clean, and bed very comfortable. Jenny's breasfast's was simply phenomenal, one you always hope for, but rarely experience. Very enjoyable and fond menories.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

If you're traveling to De Smet to visit the Laura Ingalls Wilder sites, consider this B&B as a pleasant place to stay overnight. We were 3 friends traveling together and they had a room with 3 beds which made it very comfortable. Each room has it's own bath too. Very comfortable living room, big enclosed front porch with comfortable furniture and a nice dining area which was being used during the day be a couple of quilting ladies. Excellent breakfast offering 3 different menu choices. We 3 all agreed it was a very friendly, relaxing, and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Prairie House Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie House Manor

Property: Prairie House Manor
Address: 209 Sd Highway 25 S, Rr 2 Box 61a, De Smet, SD 57231-2288
Region: United States > South Dakota > De Smet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in De Smet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing