We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prairie House Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Smet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prairie House Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 De Smet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Only had the chance to stay for one night, but had a very nice time at this cute b/b. We were in town for the Laura Ingalls tour with the kids and this b/b is the original town bankers home from the books. Andy and his wife Jenny were very nice and Jenny is a "little house" expert...which was nice when you have questions from the kids. Jenny actually called up the Laura memorial society president to check on a question we had about the books. We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms that has a queen bed, a Murphy bed and hot tub, which was great. Each room has cable, and its own bathroom. We ordered pizza in (not much besides DQ and Subway after 6 on a Sunday ) and had a pleasant evening chatting with a couple from Connecticut out on the screened in porch. The kids played with the provided toys and we were able to browse the various history books that are scattered around the porch and house...very relaxing and homey. Wish we could have stayed longer, but we had a 1600 mile road trip home in front of us. Great stay and highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mattkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I love that this bnb welcomed kids, in fact there were several toys for their use. We stayed in the Americana room which was more than spacious, and very clean. There were cookies, lemonade, and coffee available during our stay there. The breakfast was great, oatmeal was filling, pancake men entertaining, and the french toast bake was delicious. The hosts are very gracious and welcoming. What a nice haven in De Smet!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed only one night, but I honestly wish we could have stayed longer. Andy and Jenny were so friendly and the Inn felt like home. We took a nice long walk around the neighborhood and came back to enjoy lemonade and a cookie bar. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. I really wanted to stay longer. I strongly suggest staying at the Prairie House Manor.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cagandpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Jenny and Andy run one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. They are both so welcoming and accommodating and yet respectful of ones privacy and personal space. The B&B set in Banker Ruth's house made famous in the Laura Ingalls Wilder books is charming, well appointed, and had something for everyone.

We stayed in the Forever Blossoms room and it was perfect for our needs. I would stay here repeatedly in this room with it's king bed (also a Murphy bed) and the hot tub on the side porch. The en suite bath was cleverly arranged, albeit it a shoehorned fit, with a second bathroom just outside in the hall in case you want some privacy even from your roommates.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and accommodation was made for some personal needs that were not met by the standard menu. Coffee set to the sweet sounds of Pa's fiddle playing in the background set the perfect tone for a day of re-discovering Laura.

It is too bad there is not a good restaurant for miles that is open after about 6:00pm on a Sunday, although Jenny did her best to find us one. We did end up at the local Dairy Queen after a trip to visit the De Smet cemetery at sunset. Maybe Andy & Jenny need to offer a dinner option as well as breakfast!?

For the directionally impaired: We did find we drove past the address twice before we figured it out. Enter from the cross street.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etoile_of_NE_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

I was driving through South Dakota and decided to stay over in De Smet. The room I requested was undergoing some remodeling, so the owners gave me a free upgrade to the "Japanese Garden" jacuzzi suite. I felt totally pampered with 10 pillows on the bed, marvelously plush towels, and raspberry-stuffed pancake puffs for breakfast. The owners were as welcoming as could be, and everything was comfortable and beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had a wonderful experience staying in this B&B. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and Jenny and Andy were accommodating to dietary needs. We stayed in the "Heres My Heart Room" and it was very cozy and comfortable. Jenny and Andy went out of their way to explain were we could find different sites such as restaurants and stores. The B&B provided an atmosphere conducive to relaxation. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anybody considering a trip to DeSmet

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Once we rang the doorbell, Andy & Jenny greeted us with a warm smile which immediately put us at ease. They were very friendly and helpful and made sure we felt at home. We stayed in the "Here's my heart" room for two nights. The place was Immaculately clean, and bed very comfortable. Jenny's breasfast's was simply phenomenal, one you always hope for, but rarely experience. Very enjoyable and fond menories.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Smet
0.3 mi away
De Smet Super Deluxe Inn & Suites
21.0 mi away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#1 of 2 in Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairie House Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie House Manor

Property: Prairie House Manor
Address: 209 Sd Highway 25 S, Rr 2 Box 61a, De Smet, SD 57231-2288
Region: United States > South Dakota > De Smet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in De Smet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing