We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Temporary Home in this Little Town on the Prairie.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Smet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prairie House Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 De Smet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

De Smet doesn't come with many options, its primary function as a tourist location dedicated namely to that of Laura Ingalls Wilder's heritage. That being said, I highly recommend skipping the local hotel in favor of this beautiful home located just three down from Pa and Ma's final home, circa mid-late 1880's.

The owners are fabulous and friendly, and have obviously done a lot to make this B&B comfortable for its guests. We stayed in the Americana room, complete with a private bathroom (all up-to-date and had plenty of hot water), mini fridge and two queen sized beds.

They've taken a very vintage approach to the decor, as one would expect in a B&B, particularly one tied to such a beloved American story. Breakfast is wonderful, and in a great sunroom that encourages you to make new friends of the other guests. With the location of the home itself within walking distance of many of the sites - including the Surveyor's House, where tours begin - it's just a perfectly fitting place to stay while you discover Laura.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Couple_Connoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a wonderful two-night stay at this B&B with our family of three. The breakfasts were terrific (our daughter loved her pancake man and we enjoyed the oatmeal and egg dishes).

When we arrived Andy and Jenny were there to greet us and had good recommendations for nearby restaurants (it was late evening and there aren't lots of options, so the directions were appreciated).

A nice surprise was the authentic Murphy Bed in the Rose Room.

Clean, comfortable, welcoming. Andy and Jenny are terrific hosts. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaS448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Only had the chance to stay for one night, but had a very nice time at this cute b/b. We were in town for the Laura Ingalls tour with the kids and this b/b is the original town bankers home from the books. Andy and his wife Jenny were very nice and Jenny is a "little house" expert...which was nice when you have questions from the kids. Jenny actually called up the Laura memorial society president to check on a question we had about the books. We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms that has a queen bed, a Murphy bed and hot tub, which was great. Each room has cable, and its own bathroom. We ordered pizza in (not much besides DQ and Subway after 6 on a Sunday ) and had a pleasant evening chatting with a couple from Connecticut out on the screened in porch. The kids played with the provided toys and we were able to browse the various history books that are scattered around the porch and house...very relaxing and homey. Wish we could have stayed longer, but we had a 1600 mile road trip home in front of us. Great stay and highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank mattkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I love that this bnb welcomed kids, in fact there were several toys for their use. We stayed in the Americana room which was more than spacious, and very clean. There were cookies, lemonade, and coffee available during our stay there. The breakfast was great, oatmeal was filling, pancake men entertaining, and the french toast bake was delicious. The hosts are very gracious and welcoming. What a nice haven in De Smet!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My husband and I stayed only one night, but I honestly wish we could have stayed longer. Andy and Jenny were so friendly and the Inn felt like home. We took a nice long walk around the neighborhood and came back to enjoy lemonade and a cookie bar. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. I really wanted to stay longer. I strongly suggest staying at the Prairie House Manor.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cagandpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Jenny and Andy run one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. They are both so welcoming and accommodating and yet respectful of ones privacy and personal space. The B&B set in Banker Ruth's house made famous in the Laura Ingalls Wilder books is charming, well appointed, and had something for everyone.

We stayed in the Forever Blossoms room and it was perfect for our needs. I would stay here repeatedly in this room with it's king bed (also a Murphy bed) and the hot tub on the side porch. The en suite bath was cleverly arranged, albeit it a shoehorned fit, with a second bathroom just outside in the hall in case you want some privacy even from your roommates.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and accommodation was made for some personal needs that were not met by the standard menu. Coffee set to the sweet sounds of Pa's fiddle playing in the background set the perfect tone for a day of re-discovering Laura.

It is too bad there is not a good restaurant for miles that is open after about 6:00pm on a Sunday, although Jenny did her best to find us one. We did end up at the local Dairy Queen after a trip to visit the De Smet cemetery at sunset. Maybe Andy & Jenny need to offer a dinner option as well as breakfast!?

For the directionally impaired: We did find we drove past the address twice before we figured it out. Enter from the cross street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etoile_of_NE_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I was driving through South Dakota and decided to stay over in De Smet. The room I requested was undergoing some remodeling, so the owners gave me a free upgrade to the "Japanese Garden" jacuzzi suite. I felt totally pampered with 10 pillows on the bed, marvelously plush towels, and raspberry-stuffed pancake puffs for breakfast. The owners were as welcoming as could be, and everything was comfortable and beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Prairie House Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie House Manor

Address: 209 Sd Highway 25 S, Rr 2 Box 61a, De Smet, SD 57231-2288
Region: United States > South Dakota > De Smet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in De Smet
Price Range: £67 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing