We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sturgis Bike Wek” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Deadwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Super 8 Deadwood
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    209
    55
    18
    11
See reviews for
252
327
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

very nice week long stay. But seems to be a little price gouging, Can understand a little but really

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We would have rather stayed at the hotel across the street, but the Super 8 is the only hotel that doesn't raise it's rates for Days of '75/Sturgis rally - great credit to the hotel for that. But there were bugs in the hallway and bugs in the room, and I just cannot handle that. The pool is meh, the outdoor patio is wonderful (overlooking the creek), and the breakfast is palatable. No one could get the Wi-Fi to connect. The worst is that the hotel is not handicap-accessible. There are 2 floors - one is 5-10 steps up, the other is 5-10 steps down. If you're on the lower level near the back, you mist go down stairs, up stairs, the down stairs again from the lobby/pool/casino - or you can walk through the parking lot and just do some down stairs. :(

The bathroom was nicely redone, but the shower head is ancient and needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadels_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LORI L, General Manager at Super 8 Deadwood, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your time to leave feedback about our hotel. We take all feedback and comments seriously, as it is a tool for us to continuously make improvements. We do apologize for the inconvenience of our stairs. We are presently trying to find a company that will be able to install a lift to bypass the stairs, but our building footprint is proving that quite difficult. In 2013, we remodeled all our rooms, suites and bathrooms including the showerheads. We are sorry it was not the type of showerhead you prefer. We have a dedicated network service company that monitors our hotel Wi-Fi and there has not been any outages, nor did we have any complaints from our other hotel guests. Some computers need to have different network settings to work on different Wi-Fi’s. In each room there is an information tent that gives a 1-800 number that is answered 24 hours a day and a representative could have helped you connect your computer. Also, if you had talk to our front desk they would have been able to assist you. As for the bugs, when you check out demanding a discount you could not find any of the bugs you complained about. Everyone here at the Deadwood Super 8 enjoys providing great service to all of our guests, and we are sorry that we that were not able to satisfy your expectations.
Deadwood Super 8 – A “Super Star” Property
(605) 578-2535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grinnell, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Super 8 in Deadwood for many years and they always offer great service, this year when we checked in the room, it had a smell of smoke so it was not certain if the previous guest had smoked in this non-smoking room or if outside smoke had come through the air conditioner, so we went back and reported it to the front desk and they followed us right back to the room with some sanitizer spray and an electric room purifier as well and that completely took care of the problem. So it is no wonder they have such a high rating for hotels in Deadwood, but the only problem is they should be the #1 rated instead of third out of 22 Deadwood Hotels. The total renovation is done and everything looks excellent and just like new. This place has to have the best FRESH baked cinnamon rolls every morning along with many other breakfast items. So if going to stay in the area don't waste your time anywhere else as this Super 8 is the place to stay.....

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hedofarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We wanted to stay somewhere different other than Rapid City so we decided on deadwood super 8 motel, It was a great experience and had a good time. Staff was great and the people in the casino were nice, Food was tasty especially the pizzas and morning coffee and waffles. A dip in the pool after was fantastic, The rooms were real nice and the beds comfortable very clean. Deadwood was farther away but you could take the shuttle to the main street of deadwood for a $1.00

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 562Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.0 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Deadwood

Property: Super 8 Deadwood
Address: 196 Cliff St, Hwy 85 South, Deadwood, SD 57732-1378
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Deadwood 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Super Eight Deadwood
Deadwood Super 8
Deadwood Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing