We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In addition to last review March 4 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deadwood Gulch Resort
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hi and once agin writing firstly to appologize for a couple of typo errors in the last posting of March 4/2011 and to say that once again as promised we are returning to the Gulch and to Deadwood to partake and enjoy the hospitality that we were so pleased with in the past. We are truly looking forward to our return visit. (hopefully a little luck on the machines as well)

Room Tip: We are truly hoping to once again enjoy a room that is on the second floor and looks out towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReginaCobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is a nice little resort/casino. Great parking. Kind of fun entering through the casino to get to the lobby desk for check in. Nice game choices and we were one of the lucky ones who came away winners! Rooms are a little outdated, but who wants luxury when you're "headin out west!" Cute little rubber duck is placed on your bath tub. Kids loved that. Gaming was good, dealers helpful and smiling. Dining room offered a nice choice of breakfast choices. Within walking distance of downtown if you have the stamina. We'll be back again. Also viewed the "dead wood" trees on the top of the hill which helped I guess to give it it's name. Only negative was that I traveled here 20 years ago and they kept open the bar downtown where wild bill died with his "dead man's card hand". It's not there anymore. Really think the Chamber should open it up again as a bar with statues of wild bill hickock and others playing the card game. It would be a good tourist attraction.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms overlooking the stream/gulch. Nice to hear the soft flowing stream. Also chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelJewels45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This was our third visit to Deadwood and our second stay at this hotel. Basic room/decor with some good amenties. Always hot fresh popcorn/coffee in casino area, best smoking room in Deadwood (casinos are now smoke free) an certain times of day they put out good snacks. You get a hot breakfast in their resturant (basic eggs, hashbrowns, pancakes etc.) and it is good. The staff is SUPER FRIENDLY/helpful. Enjoyed playing there. We also like playing at Cadilac Jacks. WILL STAY at the Gulch next time too. Best deal in Deadwood.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannyKirk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Fantastic resort in the heart of the Black Hills. Friendly staff, great casino and lots of meal options to choose from. All in all, a Black Hills gem!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreakinCold5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed at the Deadwood Gulch Resort on a business trip and the room was very clean and comfortable, the entire staff was efficient, friendly and helpful. Top this with some very fresh pastries in the bakery and delicious food in the restaurant and you've got yourself a great stay-cation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Great rooms and fantastic staff! We were treated like family, and they have a huge parking lot, which is hard to find here. The food in the restaurant was the best we had anywhere while staying in Deadwood. The free breakfast is good and like home-cooking. We enjoyed leaving the car in the parking lot and taking the trolley to downtown and back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinki09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights during our trip to Sturgis, SD. The rooms were clean, the staff was great, the restaurant has good menu & a WONDERFUL bakery too. It's about 20 miles from downtown Sturgis & less than 2 miles to downtown Deadwood. If you're a light sleeper, I would definitely recommend the rooms that face creekside instead of the parking lot. The casino was fun & the surrounding area is very calming.

Room Tip: Creekside rooms are much quieter than the ones facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 25 in Deadwood
269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
743 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Gulch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Gulch Resort

Address: 304 Cliff St, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £40 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deadwood Gulch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort HAS IT ALL! The Gulch features a 24-Hour Casino, Award-Winning Hotel, Creekside Restaurant and Convention Center. With on-site parking in a beautiful Black Hills setting and access to the Mickelson Trail for year-round outdoor activities we are your one-stop-shop when planning a vacation. We’re all about you. You want a creek? Got it. Hot tub? Towels are at the front desk. We aim to please for all of your events and needs. As two-time winner of our state’s Great Service Award and winner of TripAdvisor's 2011 - 2017 Certificate of Excellence, we invite you to come enjoy Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort. Award-winning property, award-winning staff, beautiful creek side setting…let our family serve yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Deadwood Gulch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Gulch Hotel
Gulch Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing