We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deadwood Gulch Resort
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

First time staying there and the only drawback would be you aren't downtown but the trolley comes to the doorway. Rooms are comfortable, excellent water pressure. Nice view out the back to a little stream that goes by. Slots in Deadwood are tight so don't expect to make a fortune. The attached restaurant has good food but nothing fancy. Would recommend staying there to anyone.
The hotel does cater to the AARP crowd and not kid friendly so typical for a gambling town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor as i don;t think there is an elevator. I didn't see one in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

So nice of you to take the time to leave a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words. We really try to make your experience enjoyable here at "The Gulch." In the summer we have a kids fun park accross the street and you can take the kids gold panning at the Broken Boot Gold Mine. The Mickelson Trail in our parking lot is great for hiking, biking, or just walking to and from Main St. There really is something for everyone in Deadwood but you do have to be 21 to gamble or drink. The shoulder seasons are definately for the older crowd but Summer and Winter are wonderful for all ages. Thanks again, come back and see us soon.
-Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

I was assigned Room 244 in the section above the casino and the smoking area. The hallway was so smoky I had to complain & request a room in the other area of the hotel. To my delight, I was upgraded to the Gold Rush Suite! Beautiful! Kitchenette, living room with electric fireplace and deck overlooking the creek. Double sink in bathroom which had both a huge shower and a whirlpool tub. Lots of picture-framed instructions on how to use the various amenities in the suite.
Liked the popcorn and coffee/tea always available in the casino. So easy to just walk down the hall and fill up a bag of delicious popcorn.
Unfortunately was not able to enjoy the deck overlooking the "creek" because the rain didn't stop for the three days I was there. The creek turned into a rushing river. There was plenty to do inside though, with the gift shop and the restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Creek side rooms have best view. Hallway in rooms above casino very smoky. Gold Rush Suite is beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy3Kittys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

So glad we were able to turn a complaint into a wonderful stay!! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review for us. You'll have to visit again when the weather is better so you can enjoy the walking trail and creek.
Have a wonderful summer!
-Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Just returned today from a four day bus tour to this resort. Overall, I have to give it a 'very good' rating. They bent over backwards to be friendly and prompt with all their services. Our bus was 2 hours late arriving due to an accident on the highway, and they got us into our rooms in under 15 minutes, then kept the restaurant open late for us so we could have a decent supper.

The rooms were standard hotel fare, but spotless, and appeared to have been updated fairly recently. The beds were newer and very comfortable, the bathroom had a great marble-style vanity, the tv was about a 40 inch flatscreen and the heating/cooling system was state of the art. Our room was on the main floor and had inside hall and outside access, which we liked very much.

The casino was a fairly good size, although not nearly as big as some. My friend and I had to search hard for machines we wanted to play, but we always found them, and the payout percentage seemed reasonable. We both came home with more money than we bet.

The restaurant was okay, not as large as we would have expected, but again, it was able to accommodate us every time we went. The food was adequate if not spectacular, but the service was stellar. We ate there 4 times, and every time we had a different wait person, and every time they were not only friendly but on the ball. Being Canadian, we tipped well, and they seemed to really appreciate it.

You entered the restaurant through the gift-shop-bakery-liquor outlet. The gift-shop carried your standard Deadwood fare - lots of bling jewellery and purses along with assorted other gift items like scarves, t-shirts and stuffed animals. Prices were on par with the shops in town, which is to say kind of pricey. But, the staff were always super friendly and helpful.

We took two trips into Deadwood and back on the trolley, which appeared at 25 to the hour, every hour, from 7:35 in the AM, to 11:35 in the PM. (The schedule increases to twice an hour in the summer.) For a buck, it was definitely a good deal. And, we only had one grumpy driver, who didn't want to hold the trolley until the actual departure time. He would have left 3 minutes early if I hadn't stood there and insisted he wait one minute for my friend to come. She was there within 30 seconds. Needless to say, he did NOT get a tip.

Our only complaint, if you want to call it that, was the fact that the restaurant was not physically attached to the hotel. You had to go outside in order to reach it, which was an inconvenience, since it was cold and rainy the whole time were were there. They were very close, but we couldn't quite figure out why they never saw fit to make an enclosed walkway between the two buildings.

All in all it was a very enjoyable stay, and I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you like the convenience of inside and outside access, ask for an odd numbered room on the main f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We did just upgrade our rooms and it seems like you noticed which is what we were hoping. We are very blessed to have such a wonderful hotel location beside the creek and tucked in a nice quiet area. The trolley is a great value and makes it easy to get around. Sorry about your grumpy driver, most of them are very friendly and helpful. I also wish our two buildings were connected but the roof lines make it impossible. We have added some covered area so there are only a few steps between the two doors. Overall I'm so glad your visit was a good one and I really appreciate all of the feedback. It's looking at things through your eyes that helps us to improve. Have a wonderful summer and thanks again!
-Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I am the chairman of our organizations annual weekend trip to Deadwood. We just completed our trip and WOW what a great job Michelle Patino did helping me. Here experience and communication skills show in how very smoothly and successfully this trip was completed. Our travelers had wonderful comments on how smoothly check in was accomplished. What could be better than step off the bus and have you room key handed to you. The entire staff was always smiling and asking what they could do to assist in the casino, hotel desk, players card area and the staff in restaurant treated us like family with wonderful service. The meals were always hot and tasty. If your group is planning a bus trip give Michelle a call I highly recommend the Gulch. We have already booked next years dates.
Rob

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Rob,
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We enjoy groups and as you experienced, Michelle has it down to an art. I can't say enough about our team, it is what makes our property such a wonderful place to visit and work. We look forward to seeing you again and I will pass on the wonderful comments to Michelle! She definately deserves them. Thank you for taking the time, it is much appreciated.
-Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

we attended the polkafest and had soo much fun! How many places can you go to hear several fun polka bands with lots of fun people who love to dance?! Our children had soo much fun and we were so gratefull that they were allowed in....I used to love going to dances as a kid and wish there were more places that allowed children into dances now. This resort is staffed by so many fun friendly people who look for ways to make your stay perfect. There is always some type of fun event going on at the resort! This resort is very clean and we love their huge and private hot tub room. The exercise facility is very well maintained and modern and clean. We also love that the trolley picks up at this resort so you can go down to the nightlife and not have to worry about driving back safely. This resort is a nice place in a beautifull setting with the creek and mickelson trail access...but the biggest advantage of staying here is the amazing helpfull fun staff and how they truly make your trip a vacation! We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We really prefer the rooms that face the creek over the rooms that face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rapidmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Wonderful!! So glad to hear your trip was fun for the whole family. That Polka dancing is amazing!!! It's super fun to watch and you can't help but smile and giggle the whole time. What a fun energized group of people!! You all amaze me, I get tired just watching!
Thanks again for taking the time to write such a kind review. Take care and join us again in the fall for another Polka weekend!
-Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We recently had another incredible visit with our friends at the Deadwood Gulch Resort. The staff all treat us like family and take great pleasure in meeting our every possible need. The rooms are fantastic and kept spotlessly clean. The staff are always wearing smiles because they truly enjoy what they do and it shows everywhere in the casino. The restaurant is great; awesome food and service and the same can be said for the casino with the best games in town, spectacular bartenders and impossible to beat friendly and helpful service in every area there. We can't wait to come back home to the Gulch again!!!
Gerry & Cathy/Canada

Room Tip: We love the upper creekside rooms; very quiet and restful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerryandcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Why thank you for your kind words! We enjoy your smiling faces as well. I know I've mentioned this in earlier posts but we get the nicest guests which makes it easy to be nice in return. Smiles are very contagious, so are compliments, and well wishes. Our employees and guests are the best at passing out all three. Thank you for making Deadwood Gulch such a nice place to work.
-Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We found the hotel to be an older one with some new facelifts. We appreciated the walking trail that ran up and down the gulch-into Deadwood and towards Lead. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. They have a small bar and patios to enjoy the weather. They have a restaurant which was ok. We didn't care for the smell of smokers in the hallway...I don't think they were supposed to be smoking but they must have been in their rooms because you could definetly smell smoke. The time we were there was a quieter time for Deadwood although there was a bus tour staying there. I guess if we were gamblers the gaming would have been great..lots of machines!

Room Tip: we were in the wing off to the left of their lobby entrance right beside the creek and the trail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabycakesHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you for leaving this review for us. All I can say is that I'm glad you came when you did. We received two feet last week and are suposed to get another this week. Snow, snow, go away! We do need the moisture though. Thank you for letting us know about the smoke smell. We are painting that wing of the hotel so hopefully it will help.
Kind regards,
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.7 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.6 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 25 in Deadwood
268 reviews
1.0 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
736 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Gulch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Gulch Resort

Address: 304 Cliff St, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £39 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deadwood Gulch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort HAS IT ALL! The Gulch features a 24-Hour Casino, Award-Winning Hotel, Creekside Restaurant and Convention Center. With on-site parking in a beautiful Black Hills setting and access to the Mickelson Trail for year-round outdoor activities we are your one-stop-shop when planning a vacation. We’re all about you. You want a creek? Got it. Hot tub? Towels are at the front desk. We aim to please for all of your events and needs. As two-time winner of our state’s Great Service Award and winner of TripAdvisor's 2011 - 2017 Certificate of Excellence, we invite you to come enjoy Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort. Award-winning property, award-winning staff, beautiful creek side setting…let our family serve yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deadwood Gulch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Gulch Hotel
Gulch Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing