We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their motto says it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Their motto says it all”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

"Extraordinary service is not only our standard - it's our way of life."

The staff there really seem to enjoy their work. All smiles and friendly. They even bring in pastries to the casino for their customers. The rooms were nicer than some of the ones at the chain hotels that we had been staying in. And a free breakfast, a real cooked breakfast, at the adjoining restaurant. The only problem is that I don't remember the names of some of the people who worked there, but they were all great. A very good deal for a very good price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wetheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!
I can tell you that I work with some of the most wonderful people on earth! We have a team that feels more like a family than a business sometimes and it's wonderful! I'm glad that came through in our service to you. We are definately not perfect but we will sure give it our all to help your vacation be a memorable one. Visit us anytime please!
Kind Regards,
Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    177
    62
    16
    7
See reviews for
136
242
24
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Deadwood Gulch Resort is a wonderful place to stay. It's not downtown, but the trolley ($1 per person each way) stops at the front door. We found our room to be very clean. When we checked in, we were concerned about a wedding happening that same day and partying in the parking lot, but all ended well. It's great to have the restaurant, gift shop, casino and liquor store all in one place. We were also given vouchers for breakfast when we checked in. A choice of pancakes or eggs and the breakfast was good. Very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm really happy you enjoyed the different areas of the resort. Since you were here we've also added a specialty coffee machine that has become my new addiction. I try to only indulge in the fudge and bakery once and awhile but it's tough because it's all so good.
Typing this is making me hungry. :)
Thank you again and have a wonderful summer. Hope you visit us again soon.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were part of a bus tour group that stayed for four nights. The hotel and casino are a little dated but the staff is very friendly and the room was clean and adequate. We were given a room beside the creek and that was a nice touch. We enjoyed eating breakfast at the restaurant next to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm guessing you didn't stay in one of our newly updated rooms. We aren't quite finished yet but are sure working on it. I'm sure we will have them all renovated by your next visit. Taking the time to leave us such a nice review really means a lot. Tripadvisor is a great resource and we celebrate all of the reviews at our staff meetings.
Kind Regards,
Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

First time staying there and the only drawback would be you aren't downtown but the trolley comes to the doorway. Rooms are comfortable, excellent water pressure. Nice view out the back to a little stream that goes by. Slots in Deadwood are tight so don't expect to make a fortune. The attached restaurant has good food but nothing fancy. Would recommend staying there to anyone.
The hotel does cater to the AARP crowd and not kid friendly so typical for a gambling town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor as i don;t think there is an elevator. I didn't see one in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
So nice of you to take the time to leave a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words. We really try to make your experience enjoyable here at "The Gulch." In the summer we have a kids fun park accross the street and you can take the kids gold panning at the Broken Boot Gold Mine. The Mickelson Trail in our parking lot is great for hiking, biking, or just walking to and from Main St. There really is something for everyone in Deadwood but you do have to be 21 to gamble or drink. The shoulder seasons are definately for the older crowd but Summer and Winter are wonderful for all ages. Thanks again, come back and see us soon.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I was assigned Room 244 in the section above the casino and the smoking area. The hallway was so smoky I had to complain & request a room in the other area of the hotel. To my delight, I was upgraded to the Gold Rush Suite! Beautiful! Kitchenette, living room with electric fireplace and deck overlooking the creek. Double sink in bathroom which had both a huge shower and a whirlpool tub. Lots of picture-framed instructions on how to use the various amenities in the suite.
Liked the popcorn and coffee/tea always available in the casino. So easy to just walk down the hall and fill up a bag of delicious popcorn.
Unfortunately was not able to enjoy the deck overlooking the "creek" because the rain didn't stop for the three days I was there. The creek turned into a rushing river. There was plenty to do inside though, with the gift shop and the restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Creek side rooms have best view. Hallway in rooms above casino very smoky. Gold Rush Suite is beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy3Kittys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
So glad we were able to turn a complaint into a wonderful stay!! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review for us. You'll have to visit again when the weather is better so you can enjoy the walking trail and creek.
Have a wonderful summer!
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, SK, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Just returned today from a four day bus tour to this resort. Overall, I have to give it a 'very good' rating. They bent over backwards to be friendly and prompt with all their services. Our bus was 2 hours late arriving due to an accident on the highway, and they got us into our rooms in under 15 minutes, then kept the restaurant open late for us so we could have a decent supper.

The rooms were standard hotel fare, but spotless, and appeared to have been updated fairly recently. The beds were newer and very comfortable, the bathroom had a great marble-style vanity, the tv was about a 40 inch flatscreen and the heating/cooling system was state of the art. Our room was on the main floor and had inside hall and outside access, which we liked very much.

The casino was a fairly good size, although not nearly as big as some. My friend and I had to search hard for machines we wanted to play, but we always found them, and the payout percentage seemed reasonable. We both came home with more money than we bet.

The restaurant was okay, not as large as we would have expected, but again, it was able to accommodate us every time we went. The food was adequate if not spectacular, but the service was stellar. We ate there 4 times, and every time we had a different wait person, and every time they were not only friendly but on the ball. Being Canadian, we tipped well, and they seemed to really appreciate it.

You entered the restaurant through the gift-shop-bakery-liquor outlet. The gift-shop carried your standard Deadwood fare - lots of bling jewellery and purses along with assorted other gift items like scarves, t-shirts and stuffed animals. Prices were on par with the shops in town, which is to say kind of pricey. But, the staff were always super friendly and helpful.

We took two trips into Deadwood and back on the trolley, which appeared at 25 to the hour, every hour, from 7:35 in the AM, to 11:35 in the PM. (The schedule increases to twice an hour in the summer.) For a buck, it was definitely a good deal. And, we only had one grumpy driver, who didn't want to hold the trolley until the actual departure time. He would have left 3 minutes early if I hadn't stood there and insisted he wait one minute for my friend to come. She was there within 30 seconds. Needless to say, he did NOT get a tip.

Our only complaint, if you want to call it that, was the fact that the restaurant was not physically attached to the hotel. You had to go outside in order to reach it, which was an inconvenience, since it was cold and rainy the whole time were were there. They were very close, but we couldn't quite figure out why they never saw fit to make an enclosed walkway between the two buildings.

All in all it was a very enjoyable stay, and I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you like the convenience of inside and outside access, ask for an odd numbered room on the main f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We did just upgrade our rooms and it seems like you noticed which is what we were hoping. We are very blessed to have such a wonderful hotel location beside the creek and tucked in a nice quiet area. The trolley is a great value and makes it easy to get around. Sorry about your grumpy driver, most of them are very friendly and helpful. I also wish our two buildings were connected but the roof lines make it impossible. We have added some covered area so there are only a few steps between the two doors. Overall I'm so glad your visit was a good one and I really appreciate all of the feedback. It's looking at things through your eyes that helps us to improve. Have a wonderful summer and thanks again!
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I am the chairman of our organizations annual weekend trip to Deadwood. We just completed our trip and WOW what a great job Michelle Patino did helping me. Here experience and communication skills show in how very smoothly and successfully this trip was completed. Our travelers had wonderful comments on how smoothly check in was accomplished. What could be better than step off the bus and have you room key handed to you. The entire staff was always smiling and asking what they could do to assist in the casino, hotel desk, players card area and the staff in restaurant treated us like family with wonderful service. The meals were always hot and tasty. If your group is planning a bus trip give Michelle a call I highly recommend the Gulch. We have already booked next years dates.
Rob

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Rob,
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We enjoy groups and as you experienced, Michelle has it down to an art. I can't say enough about our team, it is what makes our property such a wonderful place to visit and work. We look forward to seeing you again and I will pass on the wonderful comments to Michelle! She definately deserves them. Thank you for taking the time, it is much appreciated.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Property: Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
Address: 304 Cliff St, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732-1398
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Gulch Hotel
Deadwood Gulch Resort
Gulch Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing