We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little hotel and gaming area.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel and gaming area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We took a mini trip to SD and stayed 3 nights at this hotel while touring all the sites in the area. Fairly quite rooms with decent bedding. Yes the place is a little dated but not bad. The front desk staff was especially friendly and helpful. I had some good luck in the gaming area a couple evenings. Not fabulous but at least I won a little bit. Drinks are provided for players with their casino gaming card. Breakfast was fast and good. We would stay there again. Price was not too bad considering summer in Deadwood.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeaninelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    172
    62
    16
    7
See reviews for
128
228
24
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Rolled into town for the 2014 Sturgis Rally. My first visit to the Blackhills and Sturgis was made very pleasant with the serene accommodations.
Close enough to the Sturgis action, just 12 miles away, but far enough to enjoy the distinct Main Street activities and old town charm of Deadwood.
The Deadwood Gulch located in a small casino has a great, quiet sitting area and campfire area out back along a bustling little creek. At night I could open my window to hear to flow of the water over the rocks which assured a quiet night of rest after a fun day of riding the Blackhills.
In the morning you are served a complimentary first rate breakfast at the on-site Restaurant. Fabulous choice of 3 different breakfast dishes. I tried all three over the 4 day stay and non disappointed.
Be prepared for a slightly dated room and the Hallway carpet and decor could be updated, but look beyond that to see the secret gems within this excellent hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and always available to point you in the right direction.
Oh, almost forgot, the staff set up a bike wash location complete with a water point, hose, buckets, cleaning towels, and soap so all the bikes could flash their best chrome around the hills, and down in town, during the Rally!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackhills_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed your first rally and your stay with us. We know we are a little dated, so our prices generally are less than downtown, but we feel we have the perfect natural location and accommodations for a nice stay without all the hustle and bustle of downtown Deadwood or Sturgis. Hope to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent a night at Deadwood Gulch with our grandchildren in July, 2014. Our room was large, comfortable, and very clean. We also enjoyed a complimentary breakfast in the cafe the next morning which was very good. The casino in the lobby area was an added bonus. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This has been my hotel of choice for the third year in a row when in Deadwood. I enjoy my stay in this clean and well maintained hotel. The staff is pleasant and helpful. In a nice location close to town via a short trolley ride. A mid sized hotel which is self contained with a restaurant, gift shop, casino, bar, hot tub, outdoor patio with a creek side view. I always feel at home here. I just hope they will find me a room for the 2015 Sturgis rally, lol.

Room Tip: I enjoy a creek side room. They are quieter. I enjoy having the window open and hearing the trickle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

2 day stay on Sun and Mon. Beautiful area with alot of history. Not too far from downtown with a very good restaurant next door. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Nice hot showers with soft water also.

Room Tip: Some rooms exit to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My young grandsons and I spent two nights here and it was adequate for our needs. The rooms were clean and quiet, the beds comfortable. The room wasn't fancy but it had what we needed: a small refrigerator, hot shower, and the breakfast at the restaurant was perfect.
What I wasn't happy about was that we had to walk through part of the casino area to get to the front desk. The smoke and casino activities weren't what I had planned for my grandsons, but it wasn't a big issue. The room was quiet, so we had no complaints there. Wish they had a pool, tho!

Room Tip: rooms at back look at a nice little stream rather than the parking lot and road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank flbwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Sounds like you had a great getaway with the grand kids. We do have a hot tub that the kids might have enjoyed or an outing on the back porch along the creek if they weren't toddlers. Unfortunately you do have to pass through part of the casino to get to the front desk, however our casino and all of our rooms are non-smoking. Overall it sounds like you had a nice weekend to spend some quality time with the grand kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This year was the 2nd year in a row that we came out the week before the Sturgis Rally and we had an awesome time, I had requested the same room I had last year and was so surprised to see it had been remodeled with a King Size bed and refrigerator as well as removal of the patio door and closing up then opening. The room was serviced immaculately everyday and I couldn't have been more pleased.
I have already made tentative reservations for next year the week before the rally only difference is I have requested a different room., not because I didn't like room 127 just want a room on the parking lot side with an exit to the exterior.

I loved staying at Deadwood Gulch Resort and look forward to coming out again next year,

Bill Odom

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
So glad to here you enjoyed your visit for the Sturgis Rally. The weather actually didn't cooperate very well, so hope you got in a few good rides. Thanks so much for your review and we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Property: Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
Address: 304 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Gulch Hotel
Deadwood Gulch Resort
Gulch Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing